Review: Tempting Danger by Eileen Wilks

81617

From Goodreads:

Lily Yu is a San Diego police detective investigating a series of grisly murders that appear to be the work of a werewolf. To hunt down the killer, she must infiltrate the clans. Only one man can help her–a were named Rule Turner, a prince of the lupi, whose charismatic presence disturbs Lily. Rule has his own reasons for helping the investigation–reasons he doesn’t want to share with Lily. Logic and honor demand she keep her distance, but the attraction between them is immediate and devastating-and beyond human reason. Now, in a race to fend off evil, Lily finds herself in uncharted territory, tested as never before, and at her back a man who she’s not sure she can trust.

 

Wow, wow, wow.

You know that really great feeling when you know you’ve stumbled upon a book that’s a really, really good one; that you’ve enjoyed reading as much as you appreciate the author’s writing style? And then it happens to be the first book to a whole series? Well, I just had that feeling with Eileen Wilks’ Tempting Danger. The series current has a total of ten books so far. If I knew how, I’d breakdance in a heartbeat.

Since I’ve read Nalini Singh (and worship at her altar since then), I have been on the lookout for a really good paranormal series and now I think what I found in Wilks’ book is very, very promising. I’m hopeful that with such a strong first book, the rest of the series will be just as great.

I actually had to stop myself from starting the second book at once because I just really wanted to soak in all the details and information from the first book. It is what sets the rest of the series as well as introduces us to the world that our characters live in so there were a lot of explanations going on. And I appreciate that even though this was the case, they did not sidetrack or distract me from the actual plot of events, which were, by the way, pretty amazing.

The writing was really strong. The mystery and suspense build up was done flawlessly. The world-building was credibly done. I don’t yet have the full picture of the world Eileen Wilks has created, what does or does not exist in the World of the Lupi. And I’m okay with that. I don’t need to know everything all at once. And the magic of her writing is amidst this lack of knowledge, I want to know what her world looks like. I think the revelation of the pieces that do make up her world would be entertaining and fun to read and slowly discover.

I love the pacing. The author knows exactly how and where to end a conversation, a scene or a chapter. She knows how to build up tension and her prose is really a joy to read.

Her characters are amazingly written. Lily, I love her already. She’s strong. She’s smart. And she’s no pushover. Rule, you can’t help but love. He’s a good guy through and through. I won’t say anymore because there’s no better way of knowing how cool these characters are than by reading them. Other characters have their own shining moments as well. You’re just given a bit at a time to know them but once you do, you can’t help but want to know more about them because you just know they have stories to tell as well.

One book down. Nine more to go. Bring it on. 🙂

Thanks to Angie @ Angieville and Chachic @ Chachic’s Book Nook for introducing this book and the series to me.

 

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Tempting Danger by Eileen Wilks”

  1. Yay, I’m so glad you were curious enough to give the series a try and you ended up loving the first book! I have a feeling you’ll have so much fun reading the rest of the series.

    Like

  2. See the Chachic effect spread – I love more converts to this not-as-well-known series (although it must be popular enough, otherwise the publisher wouldn’t have published ten books already, heh). I hope you’ll enjoy the other books as well.

    Like

    1. Hi Estara, thanks for dropping by. I am now one of those that had felt the Chachic effect. 🙂 I’m really crossing my fingers for the rest of the series. I’ve read that Book 2 might be a difficult read but I’m willing to push through. 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

