Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (11)

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition is a meme hosted by Tin @ Love Saves the World and Mary @ Buried Under Romance where you get to feature historical romance novels published before October 3, 2008.

Visit Ki Pha @ Doing Some Reading and check out her pick for the week as well.

 

This week, I’m featuring Patricia Gaffney.

525622 18110233

To Have and To Hold, first published in 1995

From Goodreads:

Suave, cynical, and too handsome for his own good, Sebastian Verlaine never expects to become a magistrate judging the petty crimes of his tenants and neighbors. Nor can the new Viscount D’Aubrey foresee that, when a fallen woman appears before him, he’ll find himself beguiled against all reason to alter her terrible fate….

Rachel Wade has served time in prison for her husband’s violent death, but she soon discovers that freedom has its own price. For no one will offer her a second chance but a jaded viscount who needs a housekeeper. Scorned by the townspeople of Wyckerley as D’Aubrey’s mistress, tempted beyond her will by the devilish lord, Rachel risks all she had to claim a life of her own…and a love that will last for all time.

Visit Patricia Gaffney’s Website to learn more about her books.

My Thoughts:

This is the first time I’m featuring a book that I haven’t read yet but has intrigued me for quite some time now because of the mixed reviews and feedback that I’m reading about it. There are some serious issues about morals and conscience and the question of whether the author has made the hero too irredeemable. But I did read a beautiful review about it by AnimeJune @ Gossamer Obsessions and even though there are issues that initially turned me off, I’m willing to give this one a try and see for myself how I would feel about it.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts about it? I’d love to hear from you guys.

 

Check out fellow TBT: HR edition participants for their picks for the week.

Renee @ Addicted to Romance

Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

Cerian @ Rookie Romance

6 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (11)”

  1. LOL Is this week a week for books on my TBR list? Welcome to the crew of ‘Have not yet read book but is on my list’!!!

    I must say I haven’t read this book and the author is new to me so, when you do get a chance to read it, share your thoughts~
    And I went and read AnimeJune’s review of it and it was amazing! The first half of it. But as she went on and told the reasons why for her A+ review, I thought it was great. Rape….I’m not fond of it in romances but if the whole book, story and characters can beat that scene out for the rest of the book, then sure I’ll take that challenge to read it.

    Like

    1. Yup that issue is the one that really turns me off in this book. But I want to find out how the author breaks through that huge wall. Once I get to reading it, I’ll definitely share my thoughts. 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

