Top Ten Tuesday (13): Books that will make you cry

d32cf-toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the gals at The Broke and the Bookish. For this week, here’s my Top Ten Books that will make you cry. I’ve actually done this list for another book blog meme and below is a rundown of my picks plus a few new additions.

 

 1. ME BEFORE YOU

by Jojo Moyes

15507958If this book does not make you an emotional wreck after reading it, I don’t know what else can. It’s heart-wrenching and sad but so beautifully done that even though at some point while reading I thought to myself that I should stop, the writing pulls you in more, to finish the story, to understand how the story will end. 

 

 

 

2. THE NOTEBOOK

by Nicholas Sparks

15931Tear-inducing, I tell you. The love letters. The battle against dementia. The small victories against this disease. The enduring power of love.

 

 

 

 

3. IF I STAY

by Gayle Forman

6990472The weight of the choice that the character has to make in this book is so heavy and so monumental. Reading it just breaks my heart into pieces. I know I wish for her to choose one but I know I will also understand her if she chooses the other.

 

 

 

 

4. THE STORY GUY

by Mary Ann Rivers

the story guyThis novella definitely packed a punch. The wonderful and unique premise are enough to have made me check it out and I was so glad I did because this is a gem among gems. Phenomenal, heart-breaking at times, but the good feels and the love feels, abound.

 

 

 

 

5. FOR ONE MORE DAY

by Mitch Albom

for one more dayThere is really nothing like a mother’s love. This journey just takes you home in that roundabout gut-wrenching way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. HAVE A LITTLE FAITH

by Mitch Albom

have a little faithWhat would you do if someone asks you to write their eulogy? Even if they’re still alive. This journey of friendship and faith will definitely bring tears to your eyes.

 

 

 

 

 

7. TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE

by Mitch Albom

tuesdays with MorrieI’m just going to list all of Mitch Albom’s books that I’ve read because they never failed to make me cry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. ONE NIGHT OF SIN

by Gaelen Foley

297887The back story of the two main characters just broke my heart and yet made me appreciate the strength of their will and the goodness of their hearts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. FAKING IT

by Cora Carmack

faking itI love the wistfulness at times and the powerful emotions that this book gave me. I love the characters and the bit of revelation in the second half of the book had me picking up a tissue box. It was touching and a bit haunting.

 

 

 

 

10. Harry Potter series

by J.K. Rowling

harry potter and the deathly hallowsThis one is true especially for the latter books in the series. A lot, and you know what I’m saying when I say a lot had happened. At times, my heart has not yet absorbed what was happening before another equally heart-wrenching moment happens. And of course, one of the most heart-wrenching moment was having to say goodbye to the series.

 

 

 

 

There you go. My Top Ten Tuesday for this week. What are yours? Leave your link in the comment section and I will definitely check them out.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (13): Books that will make you cry”

  1. I’ve been seeing Harry Potter books on so many lists today, and I can’t believe I forgot to include them on mine! So many tears… I still have to read Me Before You and If I Stay — I’ve had those on my shelf for a while now, and I hear such good things! Great list. 🙂

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

