Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: NEVER BEEN READY by J.L. Berg

NBR Amazon GR SW

 

J.L. will be giving away a 1 Kindle Fire HD (US only),  3 Print copies (US only), & 5 eBook copies (INT) of Never Been Ready to a randomly drawn winner during the tour. *Check Rafflecopter below.

 

Book Info:

Title: Never Been Ready

Author: J.L. Berg

Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance

Release Date: February 4, 2014

 

 

Book Blurb:

Leah Morgan was done with men.  After barely surviving a horrendous childhood, and a boyfriend who bailed when things got rough, Leah had given up on love.  Then she met him, Hollywood’s new golden boy who suddenly had eyes only for her.  She tried to convince herself that one night couldn’t hurt, but after six months, the memories of his mesmerizing gaze and searing touch still invaded her every thought.

Declan James had just one rule when it came to women.  Keep it simple, and never linger.  That all changed the moment he met Leah.  Even across a crowded bar, he could tell she was different. Sweet, with just the right amount of sass, she made him break his golden rule and now he couldn’t walk away.

When casual becomes anything but, and emotions run deep, will Leah and Declan fight their fears, or let old insecurities destroy their one chance to discover true happiness?  When Declan’s past comes roaring back in a way neither of them could have expected, will they stand united or be torn apart by the challenges that lie ahead?

It was only supposed to be one night, but only forever will do.

add-to-goodreads-button

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Kobo

 

 

Interview with J.L. Berg:

Q: Do you have a routine that you use to get into the right frame of mind to write?

Jennifer: I write full time, so I generally get the kids off to school and then get myself ready which gives me time to think.  I’m a panster which means, besides a rough outline, I write my entire plot as I go.  Making sure I have enough time to plan out each scene is key.  Listening to music usually helps center me and when I do sit down to write, I try to complete an entire scene or chapter in one sitting.  I’ll then get up and brainstorm where I want to take the story from there and do the same thing all over again.  I never know where the story will go from one chapter to the next, but I always have an ending in mind.

 

 

Q: What was the most fun part to write in Never Been Ready?

Jennifer: I loved writing the mighty demise of the great Declan James.  For fans of When You’re Ready, Declan is a Logan’s playboy friend – the one who taught him everything.  He’s wild and untamed, and watching him fall for Leah was pretty spectacular.

 

 

Q: What books have most influenced your life?

Jennifer: There are so many, but the Twilight series really brought me back into reading after a long hiatus.  I’d stopped reading in college when my school work took over, and shortly after, I became a mom.  Reading didn’t have a place in my busy life.  But as soon as I picked up Twilight, I was hooked again, and I couldn’t stop.  I picked up every paranormal romance book I could get my hands on.  After I went through most of our county library, I started reading contemporary romance, and eventually new adult.  Every book I’ve every read has been an inspiration to me because anyone who is brave enough to bare their soul through writing and then share it with the masses should be given a medal.  It’s tough work.

 

 

Q: What do you like to do when you are not writing?

Jennifer: Sleep!  No, I’m kidding.  Kind of.  I’m a mom of two beautiful daughters.  When we are doing math homework or spelling, I love cuddling with them on the couch and watching movies or playing board games.  I’m a huge yoga nut, and usually go to class three times a week.  I love to read, although I never have enough time.  I’ve been married for twelve years, and whenever we can, my husband and I try to sneak off for a date or two!

 

 

Q: Any future writing news you would like to share?

Jennifer: 2014 is a busy year for me!  Along with the February release of Never Been Ready, a novella entitled Ready to Wed will be released this month.  It will be included in a charity anthology called “Pink Shades of Words”.  Also, this year, I will be releasing three other books.  I will be finishing the Ready series with two more novels, and writing a standalone towards the end of the year.

 

 

Excerpt:

“So, when exactly do I get my striptease?” I asked.

“Well, that’s up to you, Hotshot.”

“Hotshot?”

“Yep. Cocky attitude, arrogant disposition, and sexy as fuck–it’s a good nickname.”

“All right, so what are your terms, Leah?”

I fought back the urge to touch her. Stuffing my hands into my pockets, I paced the room in a vain attempt at keeping myself from just saying, Fuck it, and pinning her against the wall before she could lay down any terms or requirements. Because whatever she was about to say, I was going to agree. She didn’t know it, but she had my balls in her perfect little hands, and I was at her fucking mercy. I both hated and wanted her at the same time. She made me feel out of control and weak with need. I couldn’t stop the pursuit, and I couldn’t walk away.

“I will not be an easy fuck whenever you get too lazy to find a new bimbo for the evening. I will not allow you in my bed, wondering where you’ve been and what kind of sloppy seconds I’m getting,” she declared.

Then, she said the one thing I never wanted to hear.

“I want to be exclusive with you–for however long we decide to do this. I don’t care about labels or dates. You don’t have to take me out to dinner, bring me flowers, or buy me anniversary presents. The only thing I ask is that, for the time we are together, you are mine.”

“Yes,” I answered immediately, surprising us both.

“Yes? That’s it? No counteroffer? No freak-out or temper tantrum, Declan?”

“No, Leah, no temper tantrum. Just one request.”

I joined her on the sofa. My thigh brushed hers, and I heard her breath falter.

“And what’s that, Hotshot?”

“Make it two,” I amended. “First, the same rules apply to you. While we’re together, for however long, you’re mine, Leah,” I purred against her ear.

Her eyes widened, and her breath became ragged, giving me a quick sense of satisfaction because I’d broken through her calm and collected exterior.

“And second?” she asked timidly.

“Don’t fucking call me Hotshot.”

She visibly relaxed and snorted out a laugh before saying, “So not happening, Hotshot.”

 

 

About the Author:

J.L. Berg is a California native living in the South. She’s married to her high school sweetheart and they have two beautiful girls that drive them batty on a daily basis. When she’s not writing, you can find her with her nose stuck in a romance book, in a yoga studio or devouring anything chocolate. J.L. Berg is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency, LLC.

Connect with J.L. Berg:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

 

 

Giveaway!!!

This giveaway will run from February 4th-27th. Check out the two (2) Rafflecopters below.

(1) Kindle Fire HD – US Only (if this changes I will make the switch on the Raffelcopter codes)

(3) Print copies of Never Been Ready – US Only

(5) eBook copies of Never Been Ready – International

If Rafflecopter does not appear, you can GO HERE instead.

If Rafflecopter does not appear, you can GO HERE instead.

 

 

Tour Organizer:

AToMRTours_mdm

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: NEVER BEEN READY by J.L. Berg”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s