Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (15)

throwbackthursday

 

Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition is a meme hosted by Tin @ Love Saves the World and Mary @ Buried Under Romance where you get to feature historical romance novels published before October 3, 2008.

Visit Ki Pha @ Doing Some Reading and check out her pick for the week as well.

This week, I’m featuring Mary Jo Putney.

 

the rake

The Rake, published in April 1998

From Goodreads:

The story was first published as a Signet Super Regency under the title THE RAKE AND THE REFORMER. With minor revisions, it was published as a Signet historical romance in 1998.

The Rake

It was predicted that Reginald Davenport, disinherited and disgraced, would come to a violent end. But fate has given him one final chance to redeem himself, by taking his place as the rightful master of Strickland, his lost ancestral estate. Davenport knows his way around women—yet nothing prepares him for his shocking encounter with Lady Alys Weston.

The Reformer

Masquerading as a man, in order to obtain a position as estate manager of Strickland, Alys fled a world filled with mistrust and betrayal. She’s finished with men—yet how could she have predicted that Strickland’s restored owner would awaken a passion more powerful than anything she had ever known? A passion that will doom or save them both…if only they can overcome their pasts and dare to believe in the wondrous power of love.

add-to-goodreads-button

 

 

My Thoughts:

I haven’t read any by Mary Jo Putney yet but if I have to start with one, I’ll want to start with this one. Disguises as a plot device is always a welcome thing when I’m reading historical romances. The layers that can be built on them as well as the possible shenanigans that might ensue are definitely okay in my book. I hope that this book delivers on that and more.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts about it? I’d love to hear from you guys.

 

Check out fellow TBT: HR edition participants for their picks for the week.

Renee @ Addicted to Romance

Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

Cerian @ Rookie Romance

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (15)”

  1. I haven’t read this book yet but it does sound good! I’ve only read one book by Mary Jo Putney and it was good enough that I wouldn’t mind reading some of her other books.

    Like

  2. I read one of Mary Jo Putney’s older books (Thunder and Roses) and then jumped into her Lost Lords series, which I loved.

    I think The Rake is one of her more popular (and highly rated) romances, but I haven’t read it yet. ^_^

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

