Review: IGNITE ME by Tahereh Mafi

ignite me

Book Info:

Title: Ignite Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #3
Genre: YA, Dystopian
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: February 4, 2014
Source: Bought Paperback copy

Book Blurb:

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew – about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam – was wrong.

 

add-to-goodreads-button

 

My Review:

This is the last book in the riveting and entirely consuming Shatter Me series by the very talented Tahereh Mafi. The book starts with Juliet recovering from that fatal gunshot wound in the ending of Unravel Me, in Warner’s house. She later on finds out that Omega Point has been obliterated from the earth and a big crater is what remains of that place. No survivors it seemed. But it doesn’t stop Juliet from plotting her next action. And her death experience has made her realize that she have had enough of being a spectator in her own life and vows to do whatever is within her power, whatever that might be, to act, to do, to take whatever was necessary to bring down the Supreme Commander and the entire Reestablishment government. Discoveries await Juliet as she learns more and more about a lot of things. About her friends, about the man she thought she knew and another man she thought she didn’t, and about herself.

I am still in awe of the wonderful lyrical and poetic prose of Tahereh Mafi. Her pacing is still to die for, with each chapter flowing from one to the next, seamlessly. I am with Juliet every step of the way and the story would not let you be otherwise. It grips you and holds you close until that very last word on that very last page. And then afterwards, you will still be holding on.

And I will leave the plot to that because actually reading the book is the greater experience that reading about it in a review.

SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT!

I may mention key scenes so read at your own risk if you haven’t read the book yet.

Just a disclaimer, I don’t think I will ever find the right words to express how I feel about this series, particularly this book. What I can say is that it has blown me away. With its pacing, and its plot, and its characters, and the very, very beautiful writing of Tahereh Mafi. Every word, every page resonate with me as a reader because of how it makes the whole book come together to form this amazing package of literary supremacy.

It has been one of the items in my reading wishlist to have an author write a character like Warner. And Tahereh just went above and beyond whatever expectations I might have set in the beginning. Warner’s characterization and development have been truly a wish come true for me as a reader. A character who started as one of the most severe and mad of villains being transformed into the book’s hero. Done artfully by the author, this transformation, or to be more precise, the reader’s re-acquaintance with the true character and personality of Warner was one of my favorite things about this series. If you would ask me what “Team” I’m rooting for, you know exactly by now.

For Adam, a lot of people are saying that his character had degenerated the most in this book but I disagree. Granted I may be a little biased towards Warner but for me, Adam’s actions although reprehensible at times, were still understandable. He did not change overnight as some would say and he was not painted in all evil for the sake of plot point. If I would put myself in his shoes and underwent all the experiences he had then I would understand that he has no control over what he feels. He’s been hurt, most especially emotionally, by the one woman he has sworn his heart and life to. Of course, it would hurt. Like hell. So no, I don’t think Adam’s character has degenerated. He just felt the hurt and the perceived betrayal strongly.

Juliet’s development in this last book was really done beautifully. (Okay, I can’t keep gushing about this book). I love her transformation from an almost timid girl who can’t even accept herself to this woman who takes charge and responsibility for her power and abilities. Her character is the one that underwent the biggest growth and I really appreciated the person she has chosen to become. Yes, she still feels fear. Yes, she still feels pain. But ever since she has learned to accept and love herself, this paradigm shift has taken a very positive spin in how she sees herself and other people.

As for the big confrontation and the fight scene for the war against the Reestablishment, I would admit that three-quarters into the book I had begun to wonder how Tahereh would present her conflict resolution in this regard. There seemed to be so much that still need to happen and not that many pages left so I was a little worried. But then I read the ending and it totally works for me. I am totally on board the author stopping the story where she did. Never mind that there is still much to be done for true change to take place in the world after the fall of the Supreme Commander because the truth of the story of the series is really focused on one character and that is Juliet. Her transformation is the heart of this series and in that regard, the author has fulfilled every point she had. And as a reader, I am very satisfied with that. It was Juliet’s battle to find herself, to accept the gift or curse that is her ability, to learn how to interact with other people, have friends, and love another being.

This series has truly touched my heart and I was sad to see it end. But it will stay with me for a long time. They’re now on my keepers’ shelf and confirmed candidates for re-reads in the years to come. Even though it’s still February, this series, especially this book, is already on my BEST of 2014 list.

My Rating: A new favorite!

5 stars +

 

About the Author:

tahereh mafiTahereh Mafi is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the SHATTER ME series. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Santa Monica, California, where she drinks too much caffeine and finds the weather to be just a little too perfect for her taste.

When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts.

SHATTER ME is her first novel.

Foreign rights have sold in 25+ territories
to-date and film rights have been optioned by 20th Century Fox.

Her work is represented by
Jodi Reamer of Writers House, LLC.

Connect with Tahereh Mafi:

Website  |  Instagram  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  | Tumbler

Other books in the series:

shatter me    unravel me

Other Novellas in the series:

destroy me    fracture me

9 thoughts on “Review: IGNITE ME by Tahereh Mafi”

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this series because I kept seeing the cover (eye) every time I pass by the bookstore. Never really bothered to read the blurb and just stared at the eye. Thanks for the review! Will pick up a copy now, I guess 😀

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

