Review: LEGAL AFFAIRS Vol. 1: OBJECTION by Sawyer Bennett

legal affairs objection

Book Info:

Title: Legal Affairs: Objection
Author: Sawyer Bennett
Series: Legal Affairs #1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Big Dog Books, LLC
Release Date: December 26, 2013
Source: Amazon Kindle (FREE)

Book Blurb:

One year ago, I graduated from law school and embarked on a career as a purveyor of high priced legal shenanigans.
Six months ago, my boyfriend dumped me when I thought he might be proposing.
Two weeks ago, I got drunk and joined a secret sex club.
Two days ago, I had a torrid one-night stand with a stranger.
Today? Well, today I’m contemplating having an affair with my boss.

Matt Connover is all kinds of forbidden temptation wrapped up in a deliciously wicked package, and he’s made it clear… he’s only interested in sex.

My name is McKayla Dawson but everyone calls me Mac. I work at the powerhouse firm of Connover & Crown, LLP, where the law has never felt so hot.

But between you and me, I’m afraid my heart won’t survive these Legal Affairs.

Legal Affairs is a serial romance with a whole lot of hot and a little bit of funny. It has six volumes that will be released every two weeks, the first one, entitled Objection, on January 10, 2014.
Legal Affairs – Objection – releasing January 10, 2014
Legal Affairs – Stipulation – releasing January 24, 2014
Legal Affairs – Violation – releasing February 7, 2014
Legal Affairs – Mitigation – releasing February 21, 2014
Legal Affairs – Reparation – releasing March 7, 2014
Legal Affairs – Affirmation – releasing March 21, 2014

 

add-to-goodreads-button

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble

Legal Affairs: Objection is currently FREE. So go ahead, click on these links and enjoy the story.

 

 

My Review:

This is a fun and engaging read, not to mention hot and sexy. McKayla Dawson, in a drunken stupor, inadvertently agrees with her best friend’s ploy to sign her up for a Just One Night Only, a secret sex club for the rich. Her first ‘date’ is with Number 134 and to say that her night was a success would be the understatement of the year. In the aftermath of that great experience, McKayla or Mac as people call her gets absorbed as attorney for another law firm and starts working for her new office. The only problem is, her new boss turns out to be none other than Number 134.

The basic premise for the secret club was that they never have to share details about their personal life. The extent of their ‘acquaintance’ was purely to fulfill their sexual appetites. But now, Mac finds her personal and professional colliding when she enters that board room to find the man who gave her the best night of her life introduced to her as her new boss.

I really enjoyed reading this series. Objection was a great set-up for the series and Stipulation just made me want to read the rest of what’s in store. I really like the characters. A little cliché, you can say, but the characterizations and the conversations are still refreshing. I particularly like Mac. She’s emotionally strong and while they were a bit of ‘being-treated-like-a-rug’ scenarios, I like that she faces them head on, acknowledges them, instead of it being the plot point driving her character. Matt, on the other hand, still manages to be mysterious and yet within reach at the same time. I get why he would keep himself distanced from people or why he needed to always clarify the boundaries of whatever it was that was happening between him and Mac. I have a few guesses as to his back story but I’m at a point where I’m totally okay waiting for the author to tell me more about him and his past and what he’s thinking or feeling. And can I just say the chemistry between the two characters is off the charts.

My verdict: I’d keep reading this until we get to the ending. I am finding that I’m not too fond of waiting for the next volume to get published, but only because I want to read more of this story. I would imagine that this type of release strategy works better for the story than if it were packaged in one continuous full-length novel. Nevertheless, I would still gladly try a full-length novel by this author.

My Rating:

4 stars

 

 

About the Author:

Sawyer bennettSawyer Bennett is the pen name for a snarky southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. She is married to a mobster (well, a market researcher) and they have three big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn’t have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.

Representation: All questions regarding subsidiary rights for any of my books, inquiries regarding foreign translation and film rights should be directed to Pamela Harty of The Knight Agency.

Visit Sawyer Bennett’s Author Page at Amazon.

Connect with Sawyer Bennett:

Website  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  |   Pinterest

 

Other books in the series:

Legal Affairs is a serial romance with a whole lot of hot and a little bit of funny. It has six volumes that will be released every two weeks, the first one, entitled Objection, on January 10, 2014.
Legal Affairs – Objection – releasing January 10, 2014
Legal Affairs – Stipulation – releasing January 24, 2014
Legal Affairs – Violation – releasing February 7, 2014
Legal Affairs – Mitigation – releasing February 21, 2014
Legal Affairs – Reparation – releasing March 7, 2014
Legal Affairs – Affirmation – releasing March 21, 2014

legal affairs stipulation    legal affairs violation

legal affairs mitigation    legal affairs reparation

3 thoughts on “Review: LEGAL AFFAIRS Vol. 1: OBJECTION by Sawyer Bennett”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

