Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (17)

throwbackthursday

 

Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition is a meme hosted by Tin @ Love Saves the World and Mary @ Buried Under Romance where you get to feature historical romance novels published before October 3, 2008.

Visit Ki Pha @ Doing Some Reading and check out her pick for the week as well.

 

This week, I’m featuring Stephanie Laurens.

 

a secret love

A Secret Love, published in July 2000

From Goodreads:

All of Regency London knows that no Cynster male would ever walk away from a lady in distress…but their protection can come at a tantalizingly high price. And now, Stephanie Laurens has created her boldest Cynster yet–Gabriel–a man who has known the pleasure of many women, but who has given his heart to no one.

She was desperate for his help…When a mysterious lady, her face hidden by a black veil, begs Gabriel Cynster for his help, he cannot refuse her plea. For despite her disguise, Gabriel finds the woman alluring and he is powerless to deny her. But he exacts payment as only a Cynster would demand: with each piece of information he uncovers, she must pay him–in the form of a kiss.

He was powerless to resist…

Lady Alathea Morwellan knows Gabriel is intrigued, but despite the sparks that fly between them, they have never passed a civil moment together. Yet as the stakes get higher, so does Gabriel’s desire for payment. And with each overpowering kiss, each passionate embrace, Alathea knows that she will not be able to resist his ultimate seduction…but what will happen when she reveals the truth?

add-to-goodreads-button

 

 

My Thoughts:

I can’t believe up until now I still haven’t read Stephanie Laurens (I know! Shame on me!) Her Cynster series have received so much praise and this particular installment caught my eye. It looks like a clash of minds and hearts and I wonder how Stephanie Laurens writes this kind of story.

Have you read this Stephanie Laurens and any of her Cynster novels? Which book of hers do you recommend I read first? What are your thoughts about it? I’d love to hear from you guys.

 

Check out fellow TBT: HR edition participants for their picks for the week.

Renee @ Addicted to Romance

Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

Cerian @ Rookie Romance

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (17)”

  1. Girl you have been missing out!!!!! She was the first Historical romance author I read and dang she was the one to hook me up!!!
    The Cynster men can do that to you I’ll say. LOL

    But if you want to jump on the Cynster wagon, I recommend you start with book 1, Devil’s Bride and make your way up -or is it down?- the ladder!!! 😉

    A Secret Love is book #5 so you will get to it pretty quick. Trust me, it will fly by in flashing colors if you love it like I did!

    *Warning: the books after the first six are also Cynster stories but different in a way. The first 6 are correctly called The Bar Cynster, which are of the original 6 gentlemen cousins. The ones after are of the next younger siblings and close friends, they’re still great I say the original 14 books, but the current ones – New ones- are the ones that might be lacking. But if you do get to them just beware that there’s about a 3-4 years gap between them. Meaning she worked on other books not in the series but can be connected to the Cynsters during that break which will….. she kind of lost her touch is what I’m trying to say in the new Cynster additions. They’re good but not great like the original.

    Okay getting a little long and crazy here so I’ll leave it up to your fate!

    Happy Reading!

    Like

    1. thank you so much for the advice Ki! I have heard about Devil’s Bride. I really, really hope I can squeeze it in in my endless TBR list. 🙂 I did also hear about the latest installments in the series not being at par with the ‘classic’ Cynster so I’ll definitely be starting from the very beginning. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have read this author, but I haven’t read her books in forever. Her cynster series was a favorite of mine. Mouth watering heroes!! I do recommend Devil’s Bride, as it is the first in the series, and the first one I read that got me hooked on the author.

    Like

  3. This is my most favourite Cynster story of all time. ^_^

    The first five or six titles are great (the main members of the Bar Cynster) — the series gets a bit repetitive and formulaic when Laurens started featuring the cousins and extended family.

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

