Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: MY CUP OF TEA by Kat Lieu

redo3(2) copy


Kat is giving away four ebook copies of Maid for Me and one print copy at each stop! This giveaway is open to USA residents only. Make sure to follow the tour and enter at every stop by leaving a comment with a valid email address. Winners will be randomly selected by the author after the tour is over!

Book Info:

Title: My Cup of Tea
Author: Kat Lieu
Genre: New Adult Romantic Comedy
Release Date: January 18, 2014

Book Blurb:

It’s another suck-tastic summer for book nerd and baker, Sara Lee-Affen. She’s broke, she’s single, and she’ll probably die a virgin. At her beautiful cousin’s wedding, Sara meets a sexy and delicious stud muffin, Ian Forrests. He’s totally her cup of tea, that is until he laughs at her misery when a bee burrows into her ear. Yes, a dang bee. She’s dying (well not really) as he’s dying from laughter.

What a jerk. A smoking hot, Adonis of a jerk with strikingly green eyes, dark hair, and drool-worthy pecs and eight-pack abs. As luck and fate would have it, Sara keeps bumping into Ian all summer long and ends up working for him as a pastry chef at his failing bakery. Despite her better judgment, Sara falls for the sexy, badass rich boy. She discovers the truth about Ian: he’s a tortured soul who’s still pining for his deceased girlfriend, Sarah. One look at Sarah’s picture and poor Sara knows that she could never compete. She could never be Ian’s cup of tea.

Or could she?

add-to-goodreads-button

Buy Links:

Amazon

Interview with Kat Lieu:

 

Q: What was your inspiration for My Cup of Tea?

This version of My Cup of Tea is a different from a previously published title also called My Cup of Tea. The first chapter of that story won me third place in Seventeen Magazine’s 2006 Annual Fiction Contest. I wrote this current version of My Cup of Tea during my three-month maternity leave (November 2013 to January 2014)  while my baby slept. What inspired me was watching Cake Boss with my baby. I wanted to write a romantic comedy involving a pastry chef, Sara, and her boss, a young, arrogant, tall, and handsome rich boy, Ian. In a sense, Ian is a younger, taller, handsomer, and less bombastic version of Buddy Valastro. (I have a huge crush on Buddy. My husband hates him, lol.)

 

Q: Do you any favorite memorable experience while writing this novel?

I’m not sure you could describe eating to much chocolate while dancing to music and writing notes all over scraps of paper, necessarily a process, but that’s how my books start. Usually, a few characters will take up space in my head and then slowly tell me about themselves and what’s going on and voila a story is born.

 

Q: What was your favorite part writing this novel?

I baked some of the recipes that Sara baked in the book. That was pretty memorable. (Oven fire!) Sara is definitely a better baker than me.

 

Q: If you could describe Sara in only three words, what would they be?

Driven, sweet, and dorky

 

Q: How about Ian? How would you describe him in three words?

Tortured, romantic, and arrogant

 

Q: If your book would be made in the movie, do you have a dream cast for your characters? Who do think should play them?

Sara is a half-Asian American girl. A few years back, an author friend of mine told me that it would be hard to have my books made into movies because there are too few Asian actors and actresses in Hollywood. It’s still true this day. I can’t name any young Asian American actors or actresses. My dream cast would be Maggie Q’s younger sister (I don’t know if she has one) to play Sara and Daniel Henney’s younger brother (he doesn’t have one, I think) to play Ian. (Google them if you don’t know who they are.)

 

Q: Can you share with us your writing process?

Writing fiction comes naturally to me. Someone once praised how sparkling and witty my prose is. I guess it’s a gift. All I need is some inspiration, my laptop, trimmed nails and I would type away. I wrote my novel, Maid for Me, in two weeks in 2009 when I was between jobs. I rarely plot or plan any stories. My Cup of Tea features Sara and Ian’s point of views in first-person present tense. I was surprised how it wasn’t that tough to get into Sara’s mind and then jump into Ian’s.

 

Q: Who are your favorite authors?

Jane Austen, hands down, for creating a timeless romance novel, Pride and Prejudice, and Mr. Darcy. Every billionaire rich boy in romance novels is in a sense a reincarnation of Mr. Darcy. Elizabeth Bennet is my heroine. She’s strong, witty, and beautiful. Who doesn’t want to be her? It’s ironic how Jane Austen did not end up with her own real-life Darcy. She died at a young age and never married.

 

Q: Do you have anything you’d like to share with your readers?

I basically wrote this novel as a zombie. Instead of napping with my baby, I chose to write. My dream is to one day be able to write full time and stay home with my sweetheart baby, Phil. During the entire month of October (every October until the end of time), 50% of all sales from this book will go to the Susan G. Komen Foundation for the Cure. Sara’s mom died from breast cancer, so I also wanted to increase breast cancer awareness with this novel. As a doctor of physical therapy and certified lymphedema therapist, I’ve treat hundreds of women with breast cancer and have seen how debilitating this disease is. I hope that within our lifetimes, we’ll find a cure for breast cancer. 

Happy reading and writing, everyone! Thank you for the interview, Girl Meets Books!

 

 

Excerpt:

A minute ago, when I noticed someone approaching me, I couldn’t help but ogle at perfectly-formed man pecs and a tapered waist sporting well-defined washboard abs. Droplets of water glisten on his tan skin. Said tan skin belongs to a guy, a hot guy walking toward me. Water from the pool drips off his dark hair. His lean and muscular legs are made for running. His blue swim trunks, wet and plastered to his skin, leaves little to my imagination. I gulped. I felt his eyes on me, all hot and smoldering. Having a feeling that a handsome face goes along with his hot bod, my eyes traveled upward to confirm my theory.

Sharp features. Chiseled jawline. Straight nose with two nostrils that are perfectly shaped and sized. Cellophane forest-green eyes filled with intelligence. Hot…

But too bad it’s him, that jerk from Millie’s wedding.

 

About the Author:

KatKat’s most current publication is My Cup of Tea: Summer of Love. Read My Cup of Tea here: http://amzn.to/1fKJ4YW

Kat read her first book (a picture book) while potty training at the age of one and half. Reading became an addiction and a must during subsequent potty sessions. Writing as a passion soon followed when Kat was in the fifth grade. She drew a picture storybook, hand-stitched the pages together, and presented it to a class of second graders. The children loved hearing Kat’s story and that cemented Kat’s love for writing.

Kat wrote My Cup of Tea, Summer of Love during maternity leave. While caring for her newborn, Kat sacrificed nap time and much needed rest in order to write. When her baby slept, she quickly typed away, ignoring carpal tunnel. Now Kat works full-time by day. By night, she’s a dedicated mommy and a writer. She hopes to be able to spend more time with her son, Philly Cheese Steak, and write for a living in the near future.

Dreams do come true, when you believe in them and work hard. Many of Kat’s dreams have come true and she wishes the same for all her fans and readers.

Kat is also a Doctor of Physical Therapy and a Certified Lymphedema Therapist. She also runs a tween/teen empire, Nummyz Productions. Nummyz Productions creates original Flash games for girls and provides them with a safe community, love advice, free stories, and support. Nummyz Productions publishes books and e-books. Kat’s company has also created websites for celebrities of The Young and the Restless (Kate Linder) and Flash games for multi-million dollar company LittleMissMatched.

 

Connect with Kat Lieu:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter Goodreads  |  Amazon

Maid for Me, Too Book Trailer

 

Giveaway!!!

Kat is giving away four ebook copies of Maid for Me and one print copy at each stop! This giveaway is open to USA residents only. Make sure to follow the tour and enter at every stop by leaving a comment with a valid email address. Winners will be randomly selected by the author after the tour is over!

Follow the Tour HERE.

 

Tour Organizer:

my cup of tea banner

3 thoughts on “Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: MY CUP OF TEA by Kat Lieu”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

