Review: ARCHANGEL’S KISS by Nalini Singh

archangel's kiss

Book Info:

Title: Archangel’s Kiss
Author: Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #2
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Berkley Sensation
Release Date: February 2, 2010
Source: Paperback Copy

Book Blurb:

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh returns to her world of angelic rulers, vampiric servants, and the woman thrust into their darkly seductive world…

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux wakes from a year-long coma to find herself changed—an angel with wings the colors of midnight and dawn—but her fragile body needs time to heal before she can take flight. Her lover, the stunningly dangerous archangel, Raphael, is used to being in control—especially when it comes to the woman he considers his own. But Elena has never done well with authority.

They’ve barely begun to understand each other when Raphael receives an invitation to a ball from the archangel, Lijuan. To refuse would be a sign of fatal weakness, so Raphael must ready Elena for the flight to Beijing—and to the nightmare that awaits them there. Ancient and without conscience, Lijuan holds a power that lies with the dead. And she has organized the most perfect and most vicious of welcomes for Elena.

add-to-goodreads-button

Buy Links:

Amazon, B&N, BookDepo, B-A-M
Chapters, IndBnd
Penguin, Powells
Diesel, Ibook, Kindle
Nook, Penguin, Sony

 

My Review:

In this second installment to her Guild Hunter series, Nalini Singh proves again, without any seeming effort from her part (because she’s just awesome that way), that she’s a force to be reckoned with when it comes to paranormal romance. Archangel’s Kiss, like her other works, is still beautifully written, with compelling characters, and a plot filled with great doses of mystery, suspense, action, and romance.

Elena Deveraux has woken after a year-long sleep a transformed being, specifically an Angel-Made, the first in living history. And she must learn to adapt to this new kind of existence, first and foremost how to live with wings but most important of all, how to live with Raphael, the Archangel of New York and her lover.

This latest book has several running plot threads in it. Aside from Elena learning how to strengthen herself now that she’s an immortal, albeit still a weak one compared to the others, there is also the cases of attacks to those who look to Raphael for protection and the acts seemingly done to threaten Elena’s existence. Then there’s the invitation to a ball from no other than the most ancient of ancient beings, Lijuan, another archangel, whose rumors of de-evolution and deadly army are causing riptides all around.

But I think my favorite out of all the plot is the development still of the relationship between the Guild Hunter and her Archangel. Some things have already been established by the end of the first book but I really love how Nalini just keeps giving and giving her readers more to think about, more to absorb, more to obsess about these two beings. There is a lot at stake about what’s been done, especially by how Raphael has made Elena into an angel, and of course the consequences of such an action. But because Raphael and Elena are such compelling and complex characters, I was just as eager to read more about how they will adapt to their new realities. The chemistry is pretty much still there, ever present. But the events of Book 1 have given more depth and stronger gravity to their relationship and their interactions. Given that such a story thread is being done by no less than Nalini Singh, I know it’s in good hands.

My Rating:

4-5 stars

 

 

About the Author:

Nalini Singh Author Photo - SmallI’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated frequently).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

Connect with Nalini Singh:

Website  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  

Other books in the series:

angel's blood  archangel's consort

archangel's blade  archangel's storm

archangel's legion

5 thoughts on “Review: ARCHANGEL’S KISS by Nalini Singh”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

