Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (18)

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition is a meme hosted by Tin @ Love Saves the World and Mary @ Buried Under Romance where you get to feature historical romance novels published before October 3, 2008.

Visit Ki Pha @ Doing Some Reading and check out her pick for the week as well.

 

This week, I’m featuring Laura Kinsale.

 

flowers from the storm

Flowers From The Storm, published in 2003

From Goodreads:

The Duke of Jervaulx was brilliant – and dangerous. Considered dissolute, reckless, and extravagant, he was transparently referred to as the “D of J” in scandal sheets. But sometimes the most womanizing rakehell can be irresistible, and even his most causal attentions fascinated the sheltered Maddy Timms.

Then one fateful day she receives the shocking news – the duke is lost to the world. And Maddy knows it is her destiny to help him and her only chance to find the true man behind the wicked facade.

But she never dreamed her gentle, healing touch would alter his life and her own so completely – and bind them together in need, desire…and love.

add-to-goodreads-button

My Thoughts:

This has garnered a lot of great ratings on Goodreads including 4-5 star-ratings from Mary Ann Rivers, Bec McMaster, Elizabeth Hoyt, and Kate Meader, who are some of my favorite authors. I haven’t read it and the book summary does not offer much about the kind of characters it has or where the story will go but it still sounds interesting so I’ll be giving this one a try sometime in the future.

Have you read this book or any book by Laura Kinsale? Which book of hers do you recommend I read first? What are your thoughts about it? I’d love to hear from you guys.

 

Check out fellow TBT: HR edition participants for their picks for the week.

Renee @ Addicted to Romance

Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

Cerian @ Rookie Romance

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (18)”

  1. I’m actually about halfway through this at the moment! It’s become my bath time book (which sounds weird lol), so I’m reading it between others but it’s really good! I’m hopefully finishing it this weekend 🙂
    Great choice!

    Like

  2. This book is absolutely breath-taking! Maddy and Christian are a fabulous couple who really stand out in the world of historical romance. This is a book that shows how amazing the historical genre is with its great characters and thought-provoking social commentary. If you get a chance to try, I hope you will because I don’t think you’ll regret it.

    Like

  3. My book buddy and I went on a Kinsale reading spree about 2 years ago — that was after I read Lessons in French, which is an amazing, amazing HR.

    Kinsale writes angst so well…

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

