THE FAIRY TALE SURVEY (Part 2)

I had such a great time answering The Fairy Tale Survey (Part 1) prepared by Mel @ The Daily Prophecy. So, here are my answers for Part 2.

PART 2. MIX-MATCH.

Aladdin – The poor boy who found a genie.
What is the latest book treasure/gem you found?
Definitely Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series. My love for the series just kept on building and building with every book, culminating in the amazing (and beyond) third book, IGNITE ME, which is my favorite of the series and one of the best books I’ve read. Period.

Alice in Wonderland – The girl who fell through a rabbit’s hole. 
Which book made you really feel like you landed in another world?
In the interest of not repeating myself (since I am so tempted to write the Shatter Me trilogy books again!), I would have to say Nalini Singh’s ARCHANGEL’S KISS. Nalini does world-building like nobody else’s business. She has created not one but two amazing but completely different worlds. One is the Guild Hunter series, in which ARCHANGEL’S KISS takes place, and the other one is her Psy-Changeling series. 


East of the sun and west of the moon – where a girl embarks on a journey to save her love.
Who is one of your favorite kick-ass heroines?
The latest kick-ass girl I’ve encountered is Rosalind from Bec McMaster’s MY LADY QUICKSILVER. Talk about double personas. And how kick-ass it is that she’s Mercury, an infamous and legendary rebel intent on bringing down the Echelon and bringing justice for humans. Even the head of the Nighthawks, the ‘police/military group’ of the Echelon has a hard time pinning her down.


The Frog Prince – where an enchanted prince becomes human again.
What is a book you thought you would hate, but end up loving?
Hate is such a strong word and I tend to not read a book if I thought I would hate it. So for this question, I’ll just go for a book that I though I wouldn’t enjoy but end up loving instead. And this book would be Sarah Darlington’s HE BELONGS WITH ME. The start of the story was so engaging and you instantly get that feeling that you’re on the brink of something great but then a plot point begins to unravel (i.e., I thought the author was going for the (redundant and sometimes overly-used) love triangle trope and it will be sister vs. sister) and this was where I thought I wouldn’t enjoy the rest of the book. But then the plot unravels still, kept me on hook and tethers, and went somewhere I was more comfortable with and actually really enjoyed.


Hansel and Gretel – left alone in the woods and captured by a witch.
Which duo (sister/sister, brother/sister) is your favorite and why?
I’ll have to cheat a little because it says duo in the question but I’m going with an answer that features a big group of siblings, a.k.a., the Bridgertons from the Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn. The Bridgertons are eight siblings whose names start with the first eight letters of the alphabet: Anthony, Benedict, Colin, Daphne, Eloise, Francesca, Gregory, and Hyacinth. And they all get amazingly wonderful stories!

 

Little Red Riding Hood – almost eaten by a wolf dressed as her grandmother.
What book disappointed you after falling in love with the cover and blurb?
Laini Taylor’s DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE. Technically, I haven’t finished it yet but I had to stop somewhere around Chapter 4 or 5 because I wasn’t feeling it at all. I had such high hopes for the book and the rest of the series so I’m taking time off so that my mind can re-group and I’m hoping to continue reading it soon.  

 

Rumpelstilskin – nobody knows his name.
Which book do you love that doesn’t get enough attention?
Megan Whalen Turner’s The Queen’s Thief series, especially THE QUEEN OF ATTOLIA! Everybody should have  a chance to read this series. I know some may be discouraged by the first book but I promise that it will all be worth it in the end.

Tell me what you guys think. Or if you’re interested in doing the survey, leave a link to your post so I can come visit you too. And don’t forget to check out Mel’s survey.

 

 

5 thoughts on “THE FAIRY TALE SURVEY (Part 2)”

  1. I still can’t believe I haven’t read a single book from the Shatter me series.. It’s one of the things I hope to change soon! Daughter of smoke and bone started out really slow and ‘meh’, but it definitely is better when the story proceeds 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh! You have to read Tahereh Mafi soon! 🙂 I’m totally in love with her series. And I’m willing to give Daughter of Smoke and Bone another try, maybe in the second half of the year 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

