Review: CRASH INTO YOU by Katie McGarry

 

crash into you

Book Info:

Title: Katie McGarry (Pushing the Limits #3)
Author: Katie McGarry
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Release Date: November 26, 2013
Format: Hardbound copy

Book Blurb:

From acclaimed author Katie McGarry comes an explosive new tale of a good girl with a reckless streak, a street-smart guy with nothing to lose, and a romance forged in the fast lane

The girl with straight As, designer clothes and the perfect life-that’s who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers…and she’s just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can’t get him out of her mind.

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they’ll go to save each other.

add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

The story in a nutshell…

A girl and a boy whose different worlds crash and collide with each other… Rachel suffers from anxiety and panic attacks in her world of money, prestige, and responsibilities. The only moments she feels free are those spent fast driving her Mustang GT. Isaiah is a foster kid counting down the months when he’ll be free from the system and free to live the life as he pleases. One fateful night during a car street race drags these two together in order to pay a debt, work out life plans, and fall in love?

 

 What worked for me?

I adored Dare You To and although I wasn’t a fan of Isaiah then, I wanted to get to know him more and I definitely wanted to read his story. But in CRASH INTO YOU, Isaiah has become this bright light of a character-hero for me. Nobody can deny that he has issues, or rather, he has had to deal with a lot of issues since he was a kid. But I love how Katie uncovers this person, this character to her readers. He isn’t at all perfect, in fact some of his flaws would endear you to his character, but his good points are really swoon-worthy. He’s fierce, loyal, smart, brave. And he knows what he wants out of his life. Life has dealt him a lot of bad hands. A lot. Kind of like a can’t-a-guy-catch-a-break bad hands. But he fights his way through everything, not physically but emotionally. And it was uplifting to watch his strength.

Rachel’s backstory was really heartbreaking for me to read. I had experience of early stages of panic attacks, no way near Rachel’s but I absolutely understand how sometimes you just can’t get over those feelings even when you want them to stop. I really appreciated that Katie made this her conflict, as well as the issues that revolve around her family. It was a refreshing read in this regard.

The world of street car racing. I only know stuff about this from the movies I’ve seen but it’s great to have a sort of insider point-of-view when I was reading the book. I still have no idea of like 80% of whatever technical things were being explained but they made the setting clearer and more realistic.

Isaiah’s friend Abby. This girl has got to get her own story sooner rather than later. That’s all I’m saying. Shout out to Ms. Katie McGarry. J Can you please write her story after you write the stories of the Young brothers?

 

 What didn’t work for me?

There’s no doubt that I love Rachel’s and Isaiah’s love story. But I would have love for their relationship to have developed more before they actually fell in love and exchange those 3 little words. It wasn’t abrupt per se but it was a bit faster than I would have wanted it to be. Having said that, by the end of the book, I am still convinced that these two are good for each other. Really good for each other.

 

 My over-all take on it?

A swoony romance with everything on the side: a little of the fast cars, a little of the action and suspense, a little of family dramas. But at the core of it all is the journey of two strong people who want to fight for the person they want to become and for the love they have found with each other. This is another winner from author Katie McGarry!

 

My rating: 

4 stars

 

 

About the Author:

Katie McGarryKATIE MCGARRY was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, and reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan.

Connect with Katie McGarry:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Pinterest  |  Tumbler  |  Amazon

 

 

15 thoughts on “Review: CRASH INTO YOU by Katie McGarry”

  1. I really need to get back in to this series/companions. I read the first one with Echo and Noah and I adored it. I might have to pick up the rest by the looks of this review!

    GReat post and thanks for sharing! xxx

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    Like

    1. I actually haven’t read the first book yet! hehe 🙂 But I did love Dare You To.. I hope you get to pick up the rest of the series soon. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you loved Crash Into You. I loved it! Well, I’ve loved all of Katie McGarry’s books so far. I loved Isaiah! I mean, I liked him in the other books, but I feel for him hard in this.

    And I also really identified with Rachel’s panic attacks. Nothing as severe, but I could relate big time.

    Also, I soooooo agree about a story about Abby!!!!! I can’t bear to think of her trapped in that life.

    Like

    1. Yup, this was definitely Isaiah’s book. He realy revealed himself to the readers.

      I tweeted Katie McGarry right after finishing the book and asked her if she plans to write Abby’s story and she said she would love to tell Abby’s story some time. So I’m guessing it’s not in the works yet but it might be a possibility ^__^ I initially thought she would be paired up with one of the Young brothers LOL 🙂

      Like

  3. I prefer it when romance build slowly, so I am always a bit annoyed when a relationship develops too fast, but some authors can really make that work as well. I really like Katie McGarry her writing style and I hope to read Crash Into You soon!

    Like

    1. I do prefer a slow-burn romance but you’re absolutely right about Katie McGarry just making it all work despite the a-little-fast development. Crash Into You was still a great read! 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

