Interview, Review, & Giveaway: BETWEEN THE DEVIL AND IAN EVERSEA by Julie Anne Long

Cover

*Avon is hosting a TOUR WIDE Rafflecopter Commenter Giveaway for A Print Copy of IT HAPPENED ONE MIDNIGHT, Book Eight in the Pennyroyal Green Series.

Book Info:

Title: Between the Devil and Ian Eversea
Author: Julie Anne Long
Series: Pennyroyal Green #9
Genre: Historical, Romance
Release Date: March 25, 2014

Book Blurb:

She might look like an angel…

The moment orphaned American heiress Titania “Tansy” Danforth arrives on English shores she cuts a swath through Sussex, enslaving hearts and stealing beaux. She knows she’s destined for a spectacular titled marriage—but the only man who fascinates her couldn’t be more infamous…or less interested.

…but it takes a devil to know one…

A hardened veteran of war, inveterate rogue Ian Eversea keeps women enthralled, his heart guarded and his options open: why should he succumb to the shackles of marriage when devastating good looks and Eversea charm make seduction so easy?

…and Heaven has never been hotter.

When Ian is forced to call her on her game, he never dreams the unmasked Tansy—vulnerable, brave, achingly sensual—will tempt him beyond endurance. And fight as he will, this notorious bachelor who stood down enemies on a battlefield might finally surrender his heart…and be brought to his knees by love.

add-to-goodreads-button

Buy Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  iTunes

Interview with Julie Anne Long:

Can you tell us more about your current book? What were your inspirations for Ian’s book?

It was time to tell Ian’s story—readers have been curious about him since his ignominious exit out of a window at midnight in WHAT I DID FOR A DUKE. Ian’s an unrepentant rogue and thoroughly enjoys his life, but he has depths and secrets his family knows nothing about. And Titania “Tansy” Danforth just sort of appeared fully formed in my mind—I knew she was Ian’s heroine, but I didn’t know why yet, since she seemed his polar opposite. Read on…

What is your favorite thing about writing this book?

Both Ian and Tansy were a delight to write—they seem so different at first—Tansy is American, too young, too innocent, too all of the things Ian finds dull, and Ian is a sophisticated jade, a war veteran accustomed to getting who and what he wants, who has no intention of even being leg-shackled, because they’re both, in a way, rogues, confident of their charms. And I loved showing how they reveal to each other the selves they show no one else, or that no one else sees. They are so much more similar than either of them realizes.

Can you share with us your writing process?

Hmm…well, I’m a “pantser”, not a “plotter,” meaning I don’t outline —not until the story is well underway and has taken on a momentum and recognizable structure. The structure doesn’t often reveal itself to me unitl the writing is underway. I write the story out of order—I seldom begin a story from the beginning. I’ll write the scenes that feel the most vivid to me first, and then I’ll patchwork them together with the others. Sometimes a scene will occur to me and I won’t know how or why it fits into the book, but I’ll write it, because I invariable discover that it does. I always listen to music. I probably write best very late at night, but I’ve learned over the years to write nearly anywhere or anytime I need to.

If you could describe Ian Eversea in three words, what would they be?

Intimidating. Charismatic. Irresistible.

How about Tansy? How would you describe her in three words?

Spirited. Vulnerable. Irresistible. 🙂 (you can see why they might be a match…)

Do you have a particular piece of music in mind that would best describe this book? Or if this book could have a soundtrack, what are some of the songs you would include?

I don’t really have a soundtrack per se, but there I do often listen to a particular piece of music (say, Arvo Part) or a set of songs to set a mood as I write, and I have pretty eclectic tastes. I might listen to Radiohead, Debussy, Brian Eno, Neko Case, Boards of Canada, Deer Hunter, and Elbow for a given book… 🙂 Whatever sets a mood. I often have to feel around for just the right mix. This is probably Ian’s theme song:

I’ve Got to Have You:

An old Carly Simon song written by Kris Kristofferson. It’s so sexy. I love that refrain…it’s all about longing and surrender. “It’s all over…I’ve got to have you.”

If you’re not writing, what occupies your time?

Reading!! I know this surprises all of you. 🙂 Hanging out with friends and laughing and talking and analyzing life and solving the world’s problems, hiking, discovering interesting restaurants, goint to lectures, museums, art shows, catching up on neglected emails. 🙂

Who are your favorite authors and their works?

You know how sometimes when you walk into a bookstore and your mind goes blank from the sheer glory of ALL THOSE BOOKS and you forget which book you came in for? That’s how this question makes me feel. Waaaaay too many to name! I’m going to answer this off the top of my head. I’ll read anything written by Alexander McCall Smith. He’s my go-to comfort read. One of my all-time favorite books is Possession, by A.S. Byatt. I just went on a Liane Moriarty glom—she’s a marvelous writer—wit, depth, intelligence, emotion, and unafraid of moral gray areas. Marian Keyes is a longtime favorite. Just read a few books by Alfred Hayes that AMAZED me. Vera Caspary. Raymond Chandler. Loretta Chase. Julia Quinn.

Do you imagine yourself writing in another genre?

Absolutely. I have dozens of ideas, and I’d love to have the time to wallow in the pleasure of turning all of them into stories. Count on it, one day!

I know everybody asks this question and I can’t help but ask it too. When will we get to read Lyon’s and Olivia’s story? ^__^

It’s coming! There’s a big development for Olivia Eversea in BETWEEN THE DEVIL AND IAN EVERSEA, so make sure you don’t miss it! And Lyon’s book will be the book after next.

What’s next in store for Ms. Julie Anne Long?

I’m working on a book for Lavay, who was a character in I KISSED AN EARL. He was a prince of the house of Bourbon, and many readers have asked for his story. And it’s turning into an intense, delicious love story! I’m also hoping to finish a couple of novellas I have underway: one is a prequel for Isaiah Redmond and Isolde Eversea, and the other is about Daisy Digby, who we first met in I KISSED AN EARL and who works for Lyon Redmond. (We’ll get inside Lyon’s head in that story).

Do you have anything you want to share with your readers/fans?

Just that I love and appreciate all of you so much, and I hope you continue to thoroughly enjoy my books. Thanks for inviting me to blog with you!!

My Review:

The story in a nutshell…

Ian Eversea finally gets his own story. I first met him in WHAT I DID FOR A DUKE when the Duke of Falconridge caught him in bed with the Duke’s young and very willing bride-to-be. He was then ‘ushered’ through the window, naked and nothing but a shoe to keep him company as he walked his way home. Now, we meet him again, as a naval Captain no less, and consolidating his funds and planning a tour of the world. But then he meets orphaned American heiress Titania Danforth, who is, as you may guess, under the care of no other than the Duke of Falconridge until the Duke finds a suitable man for her to marry. And then everything changes. Not just for him but for Tansy as well.

What worked for me?

Every love story that Julie Anne Long writes works for me. Although WHAT I DID FOR A DUKE still remains as my favorite from her works, this latest gem from her is still worth your time and money. I particularly love how Ian and Tansy, despite whatever misgivings they might have, have grown closer with each other. Not just physically but in the sense that they got to share more of and about themselves with each other than with any other person. And I think that’s a very solid foundation for a relationship to last.

In the beginning, I was afraid that I wouldn’t like Tansy. She appeared to be vain, a little haughty, and too proud. But then the story progresses and that’s where the magic of author Julie Anne Long becomes really apparent. Because she made Tansy seemed like this in the beginning but then when certain facts come to light, you get the full effect of the truth and you begin to see behind the façade, under the skin that she presents to the public, and you get to know the real Tansy, who’s a bit lonely since she lost her parents and yet who’s brave in forging ahead, taking the reins of her life in her hands despite her losses.

I also love the trajectory of Ian’s character development. By the end of the book, I guarantee you will no longer see him as a seemingly immature man who had nothing better to do than consider an affair with an almost-married woman. I really appreciate the growth of his character and how I got to know more about him as a person throughout the book.

Plus, it was definitely nice to see Alex, the Duke of Falconridge, and Genevieve, now Duchess, again!

What didn’t work for me?

I have no major complaints about this recent installment in the Pennyroyal Green series. Although I do remember reading a couple of parts where the transitions felt a little jagged, as if I was surprised about a sudden change either in tone or pacing. But no worries, as it did nothing to deter me from enjoying this book.

My over-all take on it?

A great addition to her Pennyroyal Green series. I found the story engaging, the characters enjoyable to read, and the romance uplifting in its message of love, acceptance, and that special magic of finding your ‘home’.

My Rating:

3-5 stars

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of this book in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

About the Author:

JulieAnneLongThe author of five popular novels from Warner and eight from Avon, Julie Anne Long lives in California with a fat orange cat (little known fact: they issue you a cat the moment you become a romance novelist).

Connect with Julie Anne Long:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

Giveaway!!!

Avon is hosting a TOUR WIDE Rafflecopter Commenter Giveaway for A Print Copy of IT HAPPENED ONE MIDNIGHT, Book Eight in the Pennyroyal Green Series. Giveaway runs until April 12.

If the Rafflecopter does not appear, you can go HERE instead.

You can follow the Tour HERE.

Tour Organizer:

Between-The-Devil-And-Ian-Eversea-Julie-Anne-Long2

8 thoughts on “Interview, Review, & Giveaway: BETWEEN THE DEVIL AND IAN EVERSEA by Julie Anne Long”

  1. I’ve loved all of the Pennyroyal series and have them all…except this one. I must say I really, really love the cover on this one. The look on the heroine’s face is a sort of “catch me if you can” look. I like it. Thanks for the tour post! jdh2690@gmail.com

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

