Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (21) – SECRET DESIRES OF A GENTLEMAN by Laura Lee Guhrke

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition is a meme hosted by Tin @ Love Saves the World and Mary @ Buried Under Romance where you get to feature historical romance novels published before October 3, 2008.

Visit Ki Pha @ Doing Some Reading and check out her pick for the week as well.

 

This week, I’m featuring Laura Lee Guhrke.

 secret desires of a gentleman

Secret Desires of a Gentleman, published in September 2008

From Goodreads:

Once Upon a Time…

Maria Martingale was going to elope. But Phillip Hawthorne, Marquess of Kayne, put a stop to those plans when he learned his younger brother intended to marry a cook’s daughter. Now, twelve years later, Maria discovers that the man who holds her fate in his hands is none other than the haughty gentleman who sent her packing—and he’s as handsome and arrogant as ever.

Happily Ever After?

Always the proper gentleman, Phillip will do anything to protect his family from scandal, and when Maria dares to move in right next door, he knows scandal will surely follow. She is as tempting as he remembered . . . and the more he sees her, the harder it is for Phillip to keep his own secret desire for her a secret.

add-to-goodreads-button

My Thoughts:

I haven’t read this book yet but I’m really curious as to how the author would reconcile such a vast difference in the social stations of our main characters with their HEA.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts about it? I’d love to hear from you guys.

 

Check out fellow TBT: HR edition participants for their picks for the week.

Renee @ Addicted to Romance

Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

Cerian @ Rookie Romance

Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

12 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (21) – SECRET DESIRES OF A GENTLEMAN by Laura Lee Guhrke”

  1. You’re the second I saw featuring her already today! I’ve read one of hers and had heroine issues with it but am gonna try her again since I’ve heard such good things. I love when they can make a *huh how’s she gonna make *that* work* kinda relationship actually work 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi, Camille! I read the entire Girl Bachelor series and, if I remember correctly, Maria is a very good baker and there’s a lot of pastry involved. ^_^

    I personally love books that have cooking/food in them — so this one was a book that I liked very much.

    Like

    1. Lisa Kleypas really did such a wonderful job in making Sebastian not just redeemable but lovable in Devil in Winter. His book is my favorite from her Wallflower series. And I totally get what you mean that if the author can make this kind of set-up work then it would be an awesome read. 🙂

      Like

  3. I freaking love this book! It was my favorite of the Girl Bachelors series. I was prepared to hate it with the description of the hero and the couple’s social differences, but LLG does a great job handling both. Phillip is very reminiscent of Mr. Darcy and there is even a scene that is an obvious homage to P&P. I hope you give this one a try soon!

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

