Interview, Review, & Giveaway: BREAKING ALL THE RULES by Cynthia Sax

Breaking-All-The-Rules-Cynthia-Sax

*Avon is hosting a Tour Wide Giveaway for a Digital Set of THE SEEN TRILOGY by Cynthia Sax (INT).

Book Details:

Breaking All The RulesTitle: Breaking All The Rules
Author: Cynthia Sax
Genre: erotic, romance
Release Date: April 1, 2014
Buy Links: Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  iTunes

Nathan Lawford, Blaine Technologies’ chief financial officer, is known as the Iceman. He conducts his personal and business affairs without emotion, never allowing himself to become involved with anyone. When Nate sees something or someone he wants, he negotiates, paying a simple, set monetary price.

Now he wants Camille, the company’s green-haired intern.

Camille Joplin Trent never expected to be paid to pleasure the man of her dreams. She can’t quite figure out why this is a bad thing. Nate is intelligent, handsome, sophisticated—everything she’s ever wanted in a lover and never thought she could have. Their contract is for a month, thirty lust-filled days of making every sexual fantasy they’ve ever had come true. At the end of this month, the rules state that their relationship will end.

Of course, Camille has never been good at following rules.

add-to-goodreads-button

Interview with Cynthia Sax:

 

Could you tell us more about your current book?

Breaking All The Rules is the unlikely and very sexy romance between a rigid, rule-setting CFO and a green-haired, rule-breaking intern. It’s set in the same world as The Seen Trilogy (He Watches Me, He Touches Me, He Claims Me) and Flashes Of Me yet can be read as a stand alone story.

Nate, the CFO, puts a price on everything, including passion. He wants Camille, the intern, and offers her cash in exchange for a month of her time. Camille thinks this is the best deal EVER. The man of her dreams is paying her to pleasure him. Sure, he has a long list of rules but rules are meant to be broken.

Readers have been waiting for Camille’s aka Goth girl’s story and they won’t be disappointed. The chemistry between Camille and Nate burns up the screen. They are one of my favorite couples.

 

What was your favorite thing about writing this book?

I love how unlikely Camille and Nate are as a couple yet how perfect they are together. He desperately wants to open up to someone and Camille is the ideal woman to push through his barriers.

 

Can you share with us your writing process?

I’m a pantser, which means I write by the seat of my pants, with no plot. The next scene in the story is as much of a surprise to me as it is to readers. It’s like dreaming. Dreams come from our imaginations yet we have no control over them.

 

If you could describe Camille in three words, what would they be?

Rebellious, Clever, and Brave.

 

How about Nate? How would you describe him in three words?

Controlled, Sexy, and Lonely.

 

If you could cast actors to play Camille and Nate, who would they be?

I’m horrible at casting my characters. My characters are unique to my brain (again, it is like dreaming – the characters come from my brain so I must have seen bits and pieces of them from somewhere but I don’t recall where). I don’t use movie stars as templates.
For Nate, the Ice Man, I’d likely choose a young Brad Pitt. He has the same sort of male beauty. Camille is one of a kind. She’s more challenging. Maybe Natalie Portman could play her but she’d sport green hair, tattoos and multiple piercings.

 

If this book were to have a soundtrack, which songs would you include?

For a wayback playback, how about Pat Benatar’s Hit Me With Your Best Shot? Nate and Camille go for a couple rounds, pushing each other. Nate, being the Iceman, might have Foreigner’s Cold As Ice as a theme song. Camille listens to extremely vulgar hip hop songs but she’s definitely a candidate for Billy Idol’s Rebel Yell.

 

If you’re not writing, what occupies your time?

When I’m not writing, I’m usually sleeping or eating or laughing like a fool at some of my dear wonderful hubby’s antics. I’m working on Sinful Rewards, a 12 novella serial for Avon (the first story releasing in July), so I don’t have much time for anything else. I haven’t been outside in over two weeks.

 

Can you share with us some of your favorite authors and their works?

Loretta Chase’s Lord Of Scoundrels is my go to book whenever I’m feeling lazy with the writing. That story is amazingly tight. I love Laurann Dohner’s New Species series (Fury is MINE, all mine). Christine d’Abo is a dear friend and a brilliant writer. She could make the phone book sound sexy.

 

What’s in store next for you? And do you have anything you want to share with your readers/fans?

Last week, I finished writing novella 5 of Sinful Rewards, a 12 novella serial for Avon. This story could only be written as a serial. The heroine receives 12 erotic missions from a mysterious texter and the lapses between the stories play an important part of the storytelling. The first story in this serial will release in July and I’m super stoked about it.

 

 

My Review:

 

The story in a nutshell…

Camille Joplin Trent has wanted Nathan Lawford for far too long. Elevator rides, at Blaine Technologies where she is an intern, are the only times she get to spend with the man of her dreams. But she’s not one to sit idle and continue to do nothing. When she musters enough courage and opportunity to have Nate, she discovered that her feelings or at least desire is not unrequited at all. But Nate is known not just as the CFO but the Iceman and when he decides he wants Camille he goes for it… but prepares a contract for their arrangement. He needs to have rules and strictures and boundaries for everything he does while Camille is as free in her beliefs as her hippie mother raised her to be. And yet the connection between them is undeniable and almost inevitable.

 

What worked for me?

It took a while before I warmed up to Camille. She’s smart, independent, and she knows what she wants. But somehow in the beginning I had a little difficulty in placing her character. But then I got to know more about her and I begin to understand her and by the time I read how she is as a person especially when she was with Nate, I liked her more and more. She’s fierce in her feelings for Nate, not just in her desire to please him but in her benediction to make him happy, to make his life more than what he thinks he might deserve. I love a woman who fights for her man.

Nate is a bit of an enigma. I can understand how he became how he is as a person especially when it comes to relationships. His parents really did a number on him although not in the ways one might expect. I actually really enjoyed reading about his relationship with his father and mother. I also liked how he slowly was able to get out of his shell or whatever it was that he was in before he met Camille.

It was great to watch them work their relationship out. It was unconventional especially with that contract hanging over them. But I was pretty satisfied with how things worked out in the end.

 

What didn’t work for me?

It might have been a little too fast for me in terms of Camille’s feelings for Nate developing from one level to the next. I’m really not too fond of insta-love but I can’t really say that that was what this was because I realized that when the novella opens, the readers already know that Camille has wanted Nate for a while now. When I had accepted this set-up, the rest of the story flowed well for me.

 

My over-all take on it?

A short and sweet romp of a read. Nate and Camille are both quirky characters who I think you might not have met yet and that’s the reason why they will at times surprise you. In all the good ways.

 

My rating:

3-5 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

About the Author:

Cynthia Sax lives in a world filled with magic and romance. Although her heroes may not always say, “I love you”, they will do anything for the women they adore. They live passionately. They play hard. They love the same women forever.

Cynthia has loved the same wonderful man forever. Her supportive hubby offers himself up to the joys and pains of research, while they travel the world together, meeting fascinating people and finding inspiration in exotic places such as Istanbul, Bali, and Chicago.Please visit her on the web at http://www.CynthiaSax.com.

Connect with Cynthia Sax:

Website  |  Blog  |  Facebook  |  Twitter

 

 

Giveaway!!!

*Avon is hosting a Tour Wide Giveaway for a Digital Set of THE SEEN TRILOGY by Cynthia Sax (INT).

If the Rafflecopter does not appear, you can go HERE instead.

You can follow the Tour HERE.

 

6 thoughts on “Interview, Review, & Giveaway: BREAKING ALL THE RULES by Cynthia Sax”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

