Interview, Review, & Giveaway: JUST ONE NIGHT by Lauren Layne

Just-One-Night-Lauren-Layne2

*Loveswept is hosting a TOUR WIDE Rafflecopter Commenter Giveaway for a Lauren Layne Prize Pack including Review Copies of Stiletto Series, Loveswept Mug & Tote, or $15.00 E-Retailer Gift Card.

CoverTitle: Just One Night
Series: Sex, Love and Stiletto Series #3
Author: Lauren Layne
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: March 11, 2014
Buy Links: Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  iTunes

New York’s hottest “sexpert” has been living a lie—and it’s up to one man to keep her honest . . . all night long.
Riley McKenna knows sex – good sex, bad sex, kinky sex…Her articles in Stiletto magazine are consistently the publication’s most scandalous—and the most read. But Riley has a secret…all that sexy talk? Not an ounce of it comes from personal experience. Her own bedroom escapades are more limited than even her best friends know. When her editor requests that all columnists write something more personal for Stiletto’s anniversary issue, Riley turns to the one man she’s always been able to count on and calls in the favor of a lifetime.

Sam Compton would do anything for Riley McKenna. Anything except be her experimental sex toy. He refuses her request. At least until she tells him that it’ll either be him or she’ll go to someone else. And that, Sam can’t accept. Reluctantly he agrees to her terms—one night of completely meaningless sex in the name of research. Riley thinks she’s prepared for what awaits her in Sam’s bed. After ten years of writing about sex, actually doing it shouldn’t be that different, right? So wrong. What starts as “one time only” becomes “just one more time.” And then one more. And before they know it, Riley and Sam learn first-hand that when it comes to love, there’s no such thing as just one night.

add-to-goodreads-button

Interview with Lauren Layne:

 

Could you tell us more about your current book? What were your inspirations for Riley’s book?

First, thanks for much for having me! Just One Night is the third book in my Stiletto series, and in a lot of ways it was the easiest to write because I’ve been planting the seeds about Riley and her complicated with her brother’s best friend since the first book. My inspiration was really as simple as wanting the gorgeous, uber-sexy Riley to have this this secret love for the one guy she thinks she can never have.

 

What was your favorite thing about writing this book?

Definitely the banter between Riley and Sam. Although, in all honesty, banter is my favorite part of writing ALL of my books! I love discovering the unique way that each hero/heroine throw sparks off each other.

 

Can you share with us your writing process?

I’m a planner, although some books stick to the plan more than others! I’m a big fan of starting with the classic hero’s journey and developing all my key plot points that way. I’ll try not to geek out on you too much, but the short version is that figure out all of the crucial moments like the call to adventure, crossing the threshold and all that, and then do a corresponding outline for the character journey.

 

If you could describe Riley in three words, what would they be?

Complex, confident and snarky.

 

How about Sam? How would you describe him in three words?

Wary, protective, and loyal.

 

If this book could have a soundtrack, what are some of the songs you would include?

Fall For You (Secondhand Serenade)

Tell Him (I love the Glee version!)

Before it Breaks (Brandi Carlisle)

Set Fire to the Rain (Adele)

 

If this book were to be made into a movie, who are your dream actors to play Riley and Sam?

My original vision of Riley was a combination of Angelina Jolie, Megan Fox and Kate Beckinsale, so any of those lovely ladies. For Sam, I always pictured Paul Walker which is obviously a little bittersweet now 😦

 

Do you have any fun facts or behind-the-scenes anecdotes that you can share with us about JUST ONE NIGHT?

Well I can tell you that nobody was as surprised as me when Sam’s mother became some a crucial secondary character. I knew that he had a rough family life, but Helena was such a vile piece-of-work that she sort of forced her way onto the page.

As for fun-facts, I can tell you that every bar/restaurant mentioned in the book is based on an actual place in Manhattan. For example, the bar Riley/Sam go to after the baseball game is “On the Rocks” which was a whisky bar a few blocks away from my old home.

 

Who is your favorite character in your Sex, Love, & Stiletto series and why?

Oh man, just one?! I guess I’d have to say Mitchell Forbes. He’s my ultimate book-boyfriend.

 

If you’re not writing, what occupies your time?

I try to go for a run on most days. And wine on most evenings 🙂 Like most writers, so I spend a lot of quality time with my Kindle!

 

Who are your favorite authors and their works?

Kristan Higgins books never fail to make me laugh out loud, and Julie James’ books are pretty much flawless. I also love Lisa Kleypashistoricals and everything Judith McNaught’s ever written.

 

What’s next in store for you? (Please tell us it’s Emma’s turn for a HEA…)

Ha, I can’t say just yet about Emma 🙂 But I certainly hope she’ll get her story! Next up for me is my new “Best Mistake” contemporary series launching on July 29th with Only With You, and I have another new adult coming out in September (Broken).

 

Do you have anything you want to share with your readers/fans?

Yes! I’m gearing up to release my first ever newsletter that will have exclusive content, trivia and announcements, so if you’re not now signed out, check out the sign-up form on the homepage of my website! (www.laurenlayne.com)
And thanks so much for having me!

 

 

My Review:

 

The story in a nutshell…

Riley McKenna is one of the celebrated writers of the Stiletto magazine, especially because her column deals with a topic that is most-sought after by readers no matter the gender. And it was such a genius idea for Lauren Layne to make Riley such a successful writer of such a column when in fact she’s been carrying a secret that can ruin her career, i.e., that she’s not so much an expert as she appears to be. When the anniversary issue of their magazine forces Riley to look a little deeper into herself and requires her to make an article that is more personalized than the usual, she decided that she will experience what’s she’s been writing about. The only problem, there seems to be only one person she has in mind to approach and she doubts he will be as accommodating as say, the guys she’s used to dating.

Sam Compton grew up with two families. The first, being raised by a single mother who never did care much about her son as she did herself and the second, growing up as a sort of adopted son of his best friend’s parents, with whom he has shared much of his growing up days and maintains a close relationship until now. Never mind the fact that he has been attracted to his best friend’s younger sister since the first time he saw her or the fact that from that first day, his best friend was able to extract a vow from him never to touch her. And true to his word, he never did. And so when Riley comes up to him with the craziest idea he has ever heard but would actually be his wildest dream come true if he ever admitted it to himself, he did the only thing he thought was right and turned her down.

I’m going to leave the plot up to that because these two people’s journey is so much more fun if you read it.

 

What worked for me?

I love their conversation. I love their back stories, which would be a spoiler if I give out any hints of it here. I love those quiet little moments between the two of them because you get that feeling of so much history behind them, so much emotions have already been building up inside of them, that you know that an action is not simply that single action but one that has been fortified by solid, concrete events in the past. The same goes for the words they exchange.

I really like Riley as our female protagonist. She’s feisty and confident, funny and sweet. She’s the type of woman that go gets what she wants although one might question why it has not been this way with the only man she seemed to want more than anything. But I understand that her reluctance, even her insecurity is born more out of fear of being hurt and rejected than of anything else. And that feeling, I totally get and understand. But it was still gratifying to watch when she finally decides to throw the gauntlet and do something to get them to move forward beyond whatever it was that was just sitting there between the two of them. And boy, did Sam not see what was hitting him.

Sam is just swoon-worthy. He fights and he fights whatever he’s feeling for Riley and he suffers because of it, it was very transparent. But you know also know that he really, really cares for her as a person, as a friend, and has reasons behind his action, or in this instance, inaction. But you know something’s got to give, between Riley’s full force attack and Sam’s thread-thin self-restraint. Add to this, he has other issues as well: his less than stellar mother whose bitterness in life she extends to her only son, and his start-up brewery business, the one for which he left his promising career in finance and haven’t really opened for real business yet. He has much to prove not only to others, not only to Riley, but to himself and let’s just say it takes a lot to be the man he wants to be.

These two together is just off the charts. Their quick banter, their sizzling chemistry, their obvious (but for them less than obvious) compatibility, and their having so much fun just spending time together will really take the readers for a great ride. There was a bit of lag (just a little bit) towards the end but it was completely understandable from the point of view of the story development. Of course, as a reader, I would want them to just be done with their issues and get together but at the same time, I get what Lauren Layne was trying to point out here; that these issues don’t just magically disappear just because you wish them to. They need to be worked out and feelings have to be sorted out. So in the end, it was still great.

 

What didn’t work for me?

This book is almost perfection to me. There are just a few tiny hiccups in the story where I found myself thinking that things have become a bit repetitive. It wasn’t as tight as I would have wanted it to be, a description I will still attribute to LOVE THE ONE YOU’RE WITH, probably due to that whole ‘should-I, will-I” back and forth dilemma especially on Sam’s side, but it was still tight nonetheless. This is like for only two to three times and it didn’t stop me from enjoying this book or from giving this my book rating.

 

My over-all take on it?

This is the third book in her Stiletto series and can I just say I really, really love reading it. You know that happy feeling you get when you’re reading a really good book that has all the elements that you look for in a book? That’s how I felt about reading this latest installment of the series.

The best friend’s younger sister-older brother’s best friend set-up is one of my favorite tropes in romance and Lauren Layne really did a great job developing this storyline. The whole forbidden quality to their feelings, the emotional and sexual tension that was off the charts, the expanse of their history together, all mixed with that funny yet sexy charming writing from the author makes this an A-reading for me.

Don’t miss out on this series.

 

My rating:

 5 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

AuthorLauren Layne graduated from Santa Clara University with a B.S. in political science that she has yet to put to good use. After dabbling in an e-commerce career in Seattle and Southern California, Layne moved to New York City, where she now writes full-time. She lives with her husband and their plus-size pomeranian in a tiny Manhattan studio.

Connect with Lauren Layne:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter

 

 

Giveaway!!!

*Loveswept is hosting a TOUR WIDE Rafflecopter Commenter Giveaway for a Lauren Layne Prize Pack including Review Copies of Stiletto Series, Loveswept Mug & Tote, or $15.00 E-Retailer Gift Card.

If the Rafflecopter does not appear, you can go HERE instead.

You can follow the Tour HERE.

 

12 thoughts on “Interview, Review, & Giveaway: JUST ONE NIGHT by Lauren Layne”

  1. I love the best friend’s sibling troupe and this book and series sounds like a lot of fun. Fantastic interview, I love reading about the process and who the author images the characters look like.

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

