Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: ACTING UP by Kristin Wallace

Acting-Up-Kristin-Wallace

*Kristin is hosting a TOUR WIDE Rafflecopter Commenter Giveaway for a $20.00 Amazon or B&N Gift Card or Ebook Copy of MARRY ME, Book One of the Covington Falls Chronicles Series.

Acting UpTitle: Acting Up
Series: A Covington Falls Chronicles Romance
Author: Kristin Wallace
Buy Links: Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble

Addison Covington is the reigning Ice Queen of television. Until her producer husband falls in love with her on-screen daughter and a well-placed punch on national television casts her as the wicked ex-wife. Fired and disgraced, she escapes to Covington Falls, the idyllic Southern town where she found comfort in a time of turmoil as a teenager.

Life is constantly on the brink of chaos for widower Ethan Thomas. Being a single father is one challenge. As a high school principle he also has to deal with hundreds of students and their interfering parents. Now, he’s short one drama teacher and if he doesn’t find a replacement to direct the spring musical he’s going to have a riot on his hands. His childhood neighbor, Addison Covington, could be an answer to prayer. Or one more complication he can’t afford.

Before Addison can say “Casting Call” she’s drafted to direct the high school musical. Soon she’d dealing with some off-key caterwauling, a bitter stepson showing up on her doorstep, and the boy-next-door turned sexiest high school principal she’s ever met. One thing Addison and Ethan agree on is that there’s no room in their lives for romance. He’s got too much at stake, and she needs to reclaim her former glory in Hollywood. In the end, these two lost souls will choreograph a happy ending with the help of Grace, Love and a Curtain Call.

Interview with Kristin Wallace:

 

What’s your inspiration for ACTING UP?

The idea really came out of my love for drama and theatre. My first show was a church musical and I was in third or fourth grade. I got to sing a solo and I was hooked. I was in plays in junior and senior high and I even majored in Theatre at Florida State University. So it shouldn’t be surprising that I would write a book that has a high school musical as the backdrop.

 

What was your favorite thing about writing this book?

This is the second book in the Covington Falls Chronicles series so I got to revisit the fictional town I created in the first book (MARRY ME). I was also able to bring back characters from the Marry Me in minor roles. The other thing was creating the fictional musical featured in the book. My totally made up show is based on My Fair Lady only in a high school setting. It was fun creating that in my head. I even got to make up some song lyrics, which is harder than it might seem.

 

If you could describe Addison in three words, what would they be?

Brave, snarky and gorgeous…

I absolutely love Addison. She’s snarky and has some diva-ish qualities, but she’s fantastic. She has a tendency to use her acting skills to manipulate people, which sounds bad on the surface, but it’s so fun watching her do it. And most of the time the people she is manipulating deserve it, LOL. Addison is all Hollywood glamour. She’s gorgeous but it’s not always a good thing. Sometimes people assume she is stuck up or cold. Women are often suspicious of her. Many times she has to work hard to convince people she’s not the “mean girl” character she played on TV.

 

How about Ethan? How would you describe him in three words?

Protective, hot, protective…

If more men looked like Ethan, most girls would have acted up in school just to get sent to the principal’s office. Aside from his looks Ethan is a protector. He’s protective of his sons, his widowed mother, the kids at his school. Addison teases him, often calling him Sir Galahad and accusing him of playing knight errant. His protective streak has also led to a lot of guilt. His first wife died and he failed to save her. He’s tormented by that and also by his attraction to another woman.

 

If ACTING UP were to be made into a movie, who would be your dream cast for Addison and Ethan?

Sometimes it’s hard for me picture a celebrity as my characters since they’re so specific in my mind. I could see Heather Locklear as Addison. Blond, gorgeous, sexy, and she’s already played the ultimate TV Ice Queen on Melrose Place.  Or maybe Nicolette Sheridan in her Desperate Housewives glory. For Ethan Thomas I think Matthew McConaughey would be great. He’s got the perfect Southern drawl and sweet sex appeal.

 

Can you share with us your writing process?

When I first get an idea for a story I like to jump in and write a couple chapters before I try to do any real plotting. It helps me get to know the characters. I figure out their voice and personality. Then I will go back and do a pretty detailed outline, with key turning points for exterior plot, romance, internal growth etc. Even then I still tend to move things around if I have to.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors and what are your favorite works from them?

I love any author who can write comedy well. Susan Elizabeth Phillips is my hero. I also love Kristan Higgins. She has an innate ability to make you laugh and cry in the same page. There is an almost slapstick quality to her writing and it’s brilliant…and so hard to achieve. I’m also a sucker for Regency historicals. Julia Quinn is one of my favorites.

 

If you’re not writing, what occupies your time?

I work as a copywriter in an ad agency. It’s fun to do creative stuff at work. I also sing in my church choir. Been singing all my life.

 

If this book were to have a soundtrack, what songs would you include?

Wow…not sure. Those of you who read it, you let me know what songs you hear…

 

What’s next in store for you?

Book 3 in the Covington Falls Chronicles is out July 1st. IMAGING THAT is about a famous children’s book author (think JK Rowling) who can’t come up with a new idea for a book and so she goes searching for inspiration…and lands in Covington Falls.  I’m also working on a fourth book, which is set at Christmas time.

 

Do you have anything you want to share with your readers/fans?

Just to say thank you to everyone who has bought the first book, MARRY ME. It took over 15 years for my first book to be published and it’s so gratifying to know people outside of moi can now read it.

 

 

Excerpt:

 

“Oh, look here,” Ethan said, reaching for the pink, leather-bound book with the distinctive gold lock.“No way,” she said, snatching the diary away and holding it to her chest like it contained state secrets. “This is private, girl stuff.”

He waggled his brow. “Am I in it?”

“Get real,” she said, in her best haughty manner.

Ethan kept staring until a soft rush of guilty color spread up her cheeks. His chest puffed out. “You did write about me,” he teased. “Was it good?”

“You lived next door. Of course I recorded things I saw,” she said, refusing to meet his eyes.

He grinned. “Must have been good then.”

“Moving on now,” she said, tossing the diary back in the box.

While it might have been fun to keep tormenting her, Ethan relented and pulled out another leather-bound book. This one much bigger and heavier.

“It’s my yearbook,” Addison said in surprise. “I’ve never seen this. I’d already ordered it, but my mom arrived before it did.”

Ethan flipped the book open to the freshman class and started leafing through the pages until he found the Js.

“Oh, no don’t—” Her hand shot out to cover the page.

Too late. He’d already found the entry. Ethan stared down at picture of the girl he’d once known. Alice Faye Jones sported long brown hair and straight arrow bangs hanging over her forehead. She’d been vulnerable and sweet. Lost. So different from the woman she’d become. He wondered if Alice still existed at all underneath the golden hair and practiced smile.

“You were pretty cute,” Ethan said.

A sound close to disgust erupted from her lips as she rolled her eyes. “I was homely. Plain Jane. Boring. Invisible.”

“You weren’t invisible.”

“But I was plain and boring.” She flipped the page to where a young, god-like Ethan resided. “A golden boy like him would never notice her.”

“Is that why you went all glamour girl?” he asked, indicating her post-Alice transformation.

“Blondes have more fun, didn’t you know? Beautiful blondes get noticed by casting directors, so I bought the look.”

“Bought it?”

“My grandmother’s jewelry paid for my transformation from Plain Jane to this, she said, sweeping a hand from head to toe. “The hair, the smile, the nose… and other things.”

There was no way Ethan could resist taking in all of that. “Thank you, Grandma,” he breathed.

The charged comment registered in his brain at the same time her eyes widened. Ethan felt rather than heard her quick indrawn breath. Tension filled the attic. Temptation drew his gaze to her lips, and the urge to taste became overwhelming. He leaned toward her and her head tilted.

They jumped as the yearbook hit the floor. Ethan jerked back with a start, blinking as he returned to earth. He didn’t know whether to be grateful for the interruption… or fling the book out the window. On the one hand, he wanted a taste. On the other, in his newly awakened papa bear state, one taste would never be enough.

 

 

About the Author:

Kristin WallaceGrowing up Kristin devoured books like bags of Dove Dark Chocolate.  Everything from Nancy Drew & Encyclopedia Brown to C.S. Lewis and the  Sweet Valley High series. Later she discovered romance novels. It’s no surprise then that Kristin would one day try her hand at writing them. She writes inspirational romance and women’s fiction filled with love, laughter and a leap of faith. In May 2013, Kristin sold her first novel, MARRY ME, to Astraea Press. Publication date to come!

When she’s not writing her next novel, Kristin works as an advertising copywriter. She also enjoys singing in her church choir and playing flute in a community orchestra.

Connect with Kristin Wallace:

Website  |  Facebook

 

 

Giveaway!!!

*Kristin is hosting a TOUR WIDE Rafflecopter Commenter Giveaway for a $20.00 Amazon or B&N Gift Card or Ebook Copy of MARRY ME, Book One of the Covington Falls Chronicles Series.

If the Rafflecopter does not appear, you can go HERE instead.

You can follow the Tour HERE.

 

4 thoughts on “Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: ACTING UP by Kristin Wallace”

  1. My favorite thing about Small town series is how invested in each others lives all the characters get. It makes for pure entertainment 🙂

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

