Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (28): MAN OF MY DREAMS by Johanna Lindsey

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition is a meme hosted by Tin @ Love Saves the World and Mary @ Buried Under Romance where you get to feature historical romance novels published before October 3, 2008.

Visit Ki Pha @ Doing Some Reading and check out her pick for the week as well.

 

This week, I’m featuring Johanna Lindsey.

   man of my dreams

Man of My Dreams, published in April 2001

From Goodreads:

Wildly unpredictable, the most desirable beauty in the land, Megan Penworthy has set her amorous sights on Ambrose St. James, a man she has never met but has every intention of marrying. And no other suitor will satisfy her especially not the common, if uncommonly handsome, horse breeder, Devlin Jefferys.

Posing as lowborn Jefferys to escape a potentially fatal confrontation, Sir Ambrose is enthralled by the brazen, duke-hunting redhead. Without revealing his true identity, he vows to seduce and tame her, thereby foiling Megan’s plans to marry the man of her dreams. But the notorious rogue never imagined the enchanting schemer would turn out to be the only woman he would ever dream of marrying.

add-to-goodreads-button

My Thoughts:

I enjoy reading stories with hidden/secret identities. It’s a very effective plot device when done well. You know that the secret will be revealed one way or another but if the author writes it well, what comes before and after that turning point are what will hook you to the story.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts about it? I’d love to hear from you guys.

 

Check out fellow TBT: HR edition participants for their picks for the week.

Renee @ Addicted to Romance

Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

Cerian @ Rookie Romance

Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

6 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Historical Romance Edition (28): MAN OF MY DREAMS by Johanna Lindsey”

  1. I loved this book. The relationship between Megan and Ambrose was fantastic and sizzling. I’ve re-read this book a few times and it’s still entertaining each time!

    Like

  2. I also like the secret identity plot in romance, too, but something about this summary doesn’t get me excited. One of my favorite hidden identity stories is How to Marry a Marquis. That story just makes me so happy, and I’ve read it a zillion times!

    Like

  3. Hi, Camille!

    I’ve read this Lindsey book and thought Megan was a bit bratty … but I loved Devlin.

    I think Lindsey pulled off the “secret identity” theme well in this story. ^_^

    Like

  4. Oooo~ Sounds amazing! I too love hidden identities for they can really turn the story upside down once the truth comes out. I’ve heard good things about this book too so yay!

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

