Review & Excerpt: DEVIL’S GAME by Joanna Wylde

devil's_game_coverTitle: Devil’s Game
Series: Reaper’s MC #3
Author: Joanna Wylde
Release Date: June 3, 2014
Buy Links: Amazon  |  B & N

Liam “Hunter” Blake hates the Reapers MC. Born and raised a Devil’s Jack, he knows his duty. He’ll defend his club from their oldest enemies—the Reapers—using whatever weapons he can find. But why use force when the Reapers’ president has a daughter who’s alone and vulnerable? Hunter has wanted her from the minute he saw her, and now he has an excuse to take her. Em has lived her entire life in the shadow of the Reapers. Her overprotective father, Picnic, is the club’s president. The last time she had a boyfriend, Picnic shot him. Now the men in her life are far more interested in keeping her daddy happy than showing her a good time. Then she meets a handsome stranger—a man who isn’t afraid to treat her like a real woman. One who isn’t afraid of her father. His name is Liam, and he’s The One. Or so she thinks.

add-to-goodreads-button

Excerpt:

Read a long and awesome excerpt HERE.

beautiful sexy girl holding gun . smoke background

Heaven_hell

 

Reaper’s MC series:

 

Reaper’s Property: GR // Amazon // B &N

Reaper’s Legacy:  GR //Amazon // B &N

Devil’s Game: GR // Amazon | B & N

Reaper’s Stand: GR // Amazon // B & N 

 

 

My Review:

 

The story in a nutshell:

Liam “Hunter” Blake has been scouting Em Hayes for a while now. She’s the daughter of the Reapers MC president and getting closer with her definitely works for Liam especially since he’s part of the Devil’s Jacks MC. The rival MCs are walking a fine line with a standing truce at the moment but stakes get higher and higher when MC brothers get targeted. Somebody wants a war between the Reapers and the Devil’s Jacks and Liam and Em are caught right in the middle of it.

 

What worked for me?

I really, really enjoyed this latest installment of the Reapers MC series from author Joanna Wylde. I love how the story flowed so well. I love the balance of gritty, raw, real with the romantic, the action-packed plot, and the mystery. Part of my enjoyment of the story was just how authentic it feels, how natural the flow of character development, and how organic the interactions were between the characters.

Liam “Hunter” Blake is a heartbreaker and I say that with fondness because there’s nothing more awesome in a hero who’s loyal to, respectful of, and completely devoted to his woman. I love reading how he deals with being loyal to his MC and at the same time falling for a girl that belongs to the enemy side.

But I think my favorite in this novel is Em Hayes. She’s just awesome as a heroine and as a character in general. I love her sass, her backbone, her strong will, her loyalty. She’s a total badass. I love that she doesn’t take crap from anybody, not even from her father and knows when to stand up for herself. She’s smart and she thinks for herself.

These two are explosive together. And I really, really love that the set-up for their story is the one where they are from rival MCs. Gosh, that set-up was so great and so ripe with all the possibilities in terms of plot and conflict and I really appreciate how Joanna Wylde handled it. It would not be fair to compare them to Romeo and Juliet because let’s face it, Romeo and Juliet do not have anything on Liam and Em. Liam and Em are amazing, no offense to Shakespeare. They don’t just kill themselves when all hell breaks loose. They talk and they plan. Together.

 

What did not work for me?

I may have judged Em in the beginning for yeah, falling for a guy you’ve never even met personally but that fault can hardly be laid on her doorstep alone. But I love that she learns from her mistakes, doesn’t wallow in self-pity, and works to making sure it never happens again.

 

My over-all take on it?

I actually just read Book 1 and I haven’t gotten to reading Book 2 yet but this 3rd book just called out to me and I have to say that it’s my favorite yet from the series. I love that it was much tamer than the first book. I love that we really got to know who Liam and Em are as their individual person and as a unit, making things work side by side, together. A winner from Joanna Wylde. I can’t wait for the next installment. Picnic’s story’s up next.

 

My rating:

 4-5 stars

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

About the Author:

 

Joanna is a freelance writer living in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. She started writing fiction in 2002, then took a long hiatus to explore other writing opportunities. She returned to fiction in January 2013 with ‘Reaper’s Property’, the first book in the Reapers Motorcycle Club series, and has recently released ‘Reapers Legacy’, the second of the series.

Connect with Joanna Wylde:

Website |  Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Goodreads

 

 

11 thoughts on “Review & Excerpt: DEVIL’S GAME by Joanna Wylde”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

