Quote-tastic Monday (11): REBOOT by Amy Tintera

Quote-tastic button

 

QUOTE-TASTIC is hosted by Anna @ Herding Cats & Burning Soup.

Join us every Monday and share a favorite quote that’s grabbed ya for one reason or another.

Everyone’s welcome to join in. Authors, bloggers, readers. The more the merrier!

Just grab the button and toss up your post 🙂 

Don’t have a blog? No worries, just leave your favorites in the comment section.

 

REBOOT

by Amy Tintera

 

RebootThe first thing I remembered after waking up as a reboot was a shrill yell bouncing off the walls and ringing in my ears. I had thought, What idiot is making that noise?

It was me.

I screamed as they branded my wrist with my bar code. I screamed as they locked me in a cell. I screamed until I arrived at HARC, and they told me screaming meant death. Acting like I was still a human child meant death. Disobeying orders meant  death.

And then I was silent.

 

 

 

Why is this quote fantastic?

It’s the opening passage of the book and doesn’t it just pull you in? I like this first book although it wasn’t as action-packed or emotionally engaging as I expected. I’m almost done and I can’t wait to read its sequel, REBEL.

 

Book Summary:

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).

Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.

add-to-goodreads-button

So, what’s YOUR favorite quote this week?

 

Don’t forget to hop around and check out everyone’s picks for the week!

Never know, you just might find your next favorite read!

 

4 thoughts on “Quote-tastic Monday (11): REBOOT by Amy Tintera”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

