Top Ten Tuesday (28): Top Ten Blogging Confessions

d32cf-toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the gals at The Broke and the Bookish. For this week, here’s my… 

Top Ten Blogging Confessions…

 

I went through a blog-tour craze in the early months of my blog.
I wanted content, content, and more content for my blog so I signed up to all these book tour companies. I still have most of my days booked with blog tours but I am learning to temper this down. I wanted to add more discussion posts so I’m currently brainstorming on topics that I want to talk about on the blog.

 

NetGalley and Edelweiss approval/disapproval make or break me, for like 24 hours.
I get slightly depressed and sad whenever I don’t get approved for an eARC, especially the books that I’m dying to read now and won’t get published for another 2 to 3 months. The opposite can be said for whenever I get approved. Let’s just say I do a happy dance every time. But almost always in my head. 🙂

 

I feel bad (like I-betrayed-them bad) when I don’t get to reply to all the comments on my blog.
I read them all but if I’m really pressed for time, I’d rather go to their blogs to comment back instead of replying to their comments on mine.

 

I used to always write my post a day or two before my schedule.
Now, I am learning to write my posts in advance so I just have to click on that Publish button when it’s my schedule already. I’m still not sure how I can schedule my posts to go live on the right day and time.

 

I totally fan-girl and squeal (at least in my mind) whenever a favorite author of mine likes my review or post or just replies back to my tweets.
Or when they offer me eARCs of their soon-to-be-released and I’m like, yes, please, give them to me, thank you. The feeling is nothing short of awesome.

 

 

I used to do my reviews without structure, where I basically just say whatever I want to say about the book.
And my reviews back then are long. Now, I still say whatever I want to say about the book but I divide my reviews into four parts: the story in a nutshell, what worked for me, what didn’t work for me, and my over-all take on it. It’s easier for me to write my reviews this way.

 

I try to keep my reviews relatively short.
I try to limit it to 5 – 6 paragraphs in total because I sometimes feel like if I go on and on about it, readers would just get bored or discouraged by the long texts.

 

I experience blog-envy more often than I would want to be. LOL.
I can’t help thing, wow, why didn’t I think of that? or how do they come up with all these discussion topics? or where do they find time to make these kinds of posts? or how can they string these words, that I also know by the way, together and make it make more sense than I can? LOL.. green, I say to you, just green with envy sometimes.

 

I sometimes feel guilty about rating a book low or lower than what I initially thought the book would be.
But I know it has to be done and I always want to stay honest with myself and with fellow readers and bloggers even when a book is written by a favorite author.

 

I’d like my blog to stay purely as a book blog.
But I do want to blog about other things I love like music, movies, TV shows, etc. So I put up another blog titled ‘Crack-tastic Confessions‘ where I talk about everything else other than books. Come visit me there if you’re not too busy. And forgive me for my shameless plugging!

 

 

There you go. My Top Ten Tuesday for this week. What are yours? Leave your link in the comment section and I will definitely check them out.

 

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (28): Top Ten Blogging Confessions”

    1. I know right? LOL 🙂 Even when I tell myself that we’re all different, a thought immediately comes to mind saying, ‘still… why can’t I be like them?’ hehe 🙂

      Like

    1. I’m feeling the strains now on writing the ‘in a nutshell’ part of the review and I’m actually thinking of removing that in my format. Now, I’m thinking of what else I can include LOL 🙂

      Like

  1. I know how you feel about ARCs! Waiting to be accepted is painful and when you get declined it very depressing. I often find that I am declined purely due to the fact that I live in Australia.

    Also, I can help you with your scheduling worries. If you wish to schedule a post for a time and date, simply go into the post with ‘edit’, then at the top on the right hand side were it says ‘publish’ you will find something that says ‘publish immediately’ next to a picture of calendar. You will find another edit option there and you need to click on that. It will then open a little box where you can selected the date and time for your post. Once you have chosen when you want it to be published, click update, then schedule and you are done 🙂

    Happy blogging!

    Like

    1. I’m also out of the US and Canada so there’s that when I get rejected for ARC requests. And thank you for helping me with scheduling the posts. I’m on a different time zone and I think I’ve set my blog clock in time with my local time. Does this mean that I also have to adjust the time and date I select so it will coincide with US/Canada time zones? This concern of mine is only mainly because I also participate in blog tours and you know how they have a specific time they prefer your posts to be up. 🙂

      Like

  2. I never had a format in my reviews. I dump all my thoughts in one post and shamelessly publish it. Sometimes I feel like I am a terrible reviewer once I read a very comprehensible and well-woven thoughts/review. Oh yes, when authors notice you (even just favorite-ing my tweets to them) , I am just all asdfghjkjhgfdsdfg! 😀

    Great list!

    Like

    1. Total fangirl moments when that happens, right? The first few times, I was like, I can’t believe we’re on the same social network let alone the same planet! LOL 🙂

      Like

  3. I feel you on being guilty for giving a book a bad rating. I hate writing negative reviews, but I want to be honest and I don’t like sugarcoating. I’m also on the same page when it comes to blog envy.
    My TTT!

    Like

    1. Sometimes I have a hard time conversing normally with them on twitter or facebook because nothing I think of seems to be good enough to say to them LOL 🙂

      Like

  4. Great list and I feel the same about some of them – I get blog-envy too sometimes, some people are just so creative and great at design and content, at times I struggle to work, read and blog at the same time! I also get it when an author responds to me – Diane Chamberlain, one of my favourite authors ever, responded to a comment of mine on Goodreads, with an actual thoughtful response and I think I screamed. Authors are my rock stars. I try to write short and snappy reviews too that get the main points of my feelings across without being spoliery – I want to give a snapshot not an entire discussion, as I think that spoils the read too if the next person knows too much about it. And I do use a rating system, but I think rating systems can be so tricky. It’s more of a reference than a solid summation of the review.

    My TTT

    Like

    1. Sometimes I struggle with working, reading, and blogging too but I can’t deny that reading and blogging really make me happy! 🙂 Lately, I also think that the rating system can be so tricky because you have many who have different opinions on what all those star ratings mean. Sometimes, I have a hard time with my rating too, like if it’s not exactly 4 or 4 1/2 stars but somewhere in between and I can’t decide whether to go down or round off. 🙂

      Like

    1. Yes! I need some kind of structure or I will go insane trying to write all these reviews. That’s completely how I feel. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by mine too 🙂

      Like

  5. I love getting NetGalley approvals! Even when I really have no business getting anymore books. I’m glad I’m not the only one who fangirls when an author responds in some way. It’s so exciting! I will have to go check out your other blog. I know how to schedule my posts but I don’t trust it so I end up publishing it on the given day. Crazy I know!

    Like

    1. LOL, I feel that way too, not trusting the scheduling of my posts to the automatic publisher on wordpress hahaha 🙂 I am trying to change this habit now 🙂 I hope you get to visit my other blog. 🙂

      Like

    1. I completely get what you mean about feeling the pressure. I still participate, sometimes very heavily LOL 🙂 but I really try to limit it to one per day and it’s a book I’m really excited to share to other readers and bloggers 🙂

      Like

  6. Oh, I totally get the blog envy! It’s hard not to really, especially with the super creative ones. There are just so many amazing blogs/bloggers out there! As for scheduling… nope. I fail. I fail really badly. I swear every weekend that I’ll schedule for the week, but nope!

    And as for commenting.. I usually have to comment at night, and I seriously stress all day that the people who’ve visited my blog will thing I am some no-good non-commenter and avoid me forever. (That may be a little insane, no?)

    Like

    1. If that’s a little insane, I guess we’re both going a little bit insane. LOL 🙂 Because I feel that way too, like I get anxious when I’m not able to reply to their comments. 🙂

      Like

  7. I share in your review guilt. I recently gave two stars to a memoir written by a 92 year old about the child she lost. I felt like a complete jerk (even though I still feel that every word of my review was accurate and warranted). I do envy you for writing posts in advance. I sometimes do great at this, but then peter out and end up right back at posting day to day.

    Like

  8. I only do the who schedule in advance when I am out of town, other than that I am writing my post the night before. I am a huge procrastinator. I too feel a little down when I don’t get accepted on NetGalley, but it’s not so bad because I know that if I hadn’t discovered it before I would not have gotten it anyway so it was really just a long-shot and I should be proud that I had done it in the first place

    Like

    1. When I don’t get approved on NetGalley, I console myself by thinking positive and telling myself that I will have the chance to get my hands on that book in the future. I just have to wait a little bit longer. 🙂

      Like

  9. I sometimes feel discouraged as well when people have all these new and exciting discussions posts and while part of me is kicking myself in the ass for not thinking about it… there are times when I’ve thought of potential topics but didn’t know how to word it–and then someone else dabbles with something similar! Sad times indeed!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

  10. Awesome list. I do the whole NetGalley thing, as well. Also, I go NetGalley crazy sometimes, where I see all these awesome books and I start requesting all of them, and then I’m slammed with books that I have to read and review.

    Like

  11. I can help you with the scheduling thing if you want! I schedule all of my posts in advance (or at least, I TRY to, when my reading drive is engaged appropriately), so I never actually have to publish anything manually.

    And I hear you about wanting your blog to be book-related only! That’s why I set up a Tumblr account, so I could use that for all of my other fannish needs. Although I do usually do a personal-type post once a month, just to give a sort of RL/non-book update on what I’ve been up to. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the offer. I would really appreciate it! And yes, I did put up two different blogs so that I can dedicate this one just for books and then the other one is for other stuff that I also love to talk about. 🙂

      Like

  12. I share a lot of these confessions! When bloggers come up with cool post ideas or new features, I’m always like, “Now why didn’t I think of that?!” It can be stressful to try to make your blog “stand out”, so I definitely get blog envy too. I’m TERRIBLE at responding to comments on my blog. But everything else is already so time consuming, so while I LOVE comments, I respond to ones that actually need a response, otherwise I just feel like I’m commenting back for the sake of it, ya know? And I just don’t have the time for that. :/ Also, I have yet to be approved on EW and it’s ~killing me. Grrrrrr.

    Like

    1. I think I can count the number of times I’ve been approved on EW in one hand, excluding tour review copies. You can check out posts from other bloggers where they share with you tips on how you can get approved. There might be something there that can help you get approved soon.

      Like

  13. I love this list, I can relate with quite a few of them. My reviews I like to keep between 3-5 paragraphs too. I like to get straight to the point on my reviews and say what I think about it, and it keeps me from rambling too much.

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

