Quote-tastic Monday (14): 45 Pounds by K.A. Barson

Quote-tastic button

 

QUOTE-TASTIC is hosted by Anna @ Herding Cats & Burning Soup.

Join us every Monday and share a favorite quote that’s grabbed ya for one reason or another.

Everyone’s welcome to join in. Authors, bloggers, readers. The more the merrier!

Just grab the button and toss up your post 🙂 

Don’t have a blog? No worries, just leave your favorites in the comment section.

 

45 POUNDS

by K.A. Barson

45 poundsI ladle the cheese and plan to carefully drizzle it over the pretzel in perfectly uniform swirls. That is not what happens. No swirls. Not even streaks. And far from uniform. The whole thing drops in a puddle in the middle of the pretzel. It fills the holes and oozes underneath onto the waxed paper and down my wrist. When I turn around, the guy’s eyes get wide, and his dimples are nowhere in sight. I know what he’s thinking. He’s wondering what’s wrong with me. Any idiot can pour cheese on a pretzel, and here I am utterly pretzel challenged.

“I’m sorry.” I watched the cheese drip onto the counter I just wiped down. “This is my first day, and this is actually the first pretzel I’ve ever made. I’ll make you another one.”

“Oh, no.” He takes it from me. “It would be a shame to throw away your first effort. I’m honored to eat it.”

I’m in love. Love with a capital L. This is the nicest guy I’ve ever met, not just the cutest.

“Really?” I cover my mouth, which has already decided to freeze into a smile without my consent. “You’re not just saying that? Because I can make you another one. Or I can get Raynee. She actually knows what she’s doing.”

“No way.” He looks at me and smiles. “I want to be your first.”

Is he still talking about the pretzels? My smile is gone. Dreamy guy turns creepy.

He must’ve realized what he said because all of a sudden he blushes. “Oh!” he says. “Um, that sounded bad. Uh, I mean, uh, I meant your first pretzel.” Cheese drips onto his arm.

Dreamy is back. He’s adorable even when he’s embarrassed.

 

 

 

Why is this quote fantastic?

This was a very entertaining meet-cute. I love that Ann knows when a guy is a creep or not. And how adorable is the guy?

 

Book Summary:

Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life:

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 1/2 months.

Welcome to the world of infomercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother.

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!

add-to-goodreads-button
So, what’s YOUR favorite quote this week?

 

Don’t forget to hop around and check out everyone’s picks for the week!

Never know, you just might find your next favorite read!

 

4 thoughts on “Quote-tastic Monday (14): 45 Pounds by K.A. Barson”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

