Review & Giveaway: KILL DEVIL HILLS by Sarah Darlington

blog tour 5-10

*Sarah is hosting a Rafflecopter Giveaway for a Prize Pack (Signed Paperback copy of KILL DEVIL HILLS and Sea Escape Bracelet) (US only) or an eBook copy of KILL DEVIL HILLS (Int).

KillDevilHills_FrontCoverTitle: Kill Devil Hills
Author: Sarah Darlington
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Release Date: August 5, 2014
Buy Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo

He’s twenty-four. She’s eighteen.

His life is exactly the way he’s always wanted it to be…stable.

She’s quite possibly the very definition of unstable.

Noah saved her. Georgina never wanted to be saved.


Growing up, Noah Clark was passed from one relative to the next until he finally ended up living with his abusive, alcoholic uncle in Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina. Thanks in part to the unwavering love and support of his best friend, Ellie Turner, Noah survived those years, escaped his uncle, and grew into the man he is today. Now he runs his own business and lives a pretty normal, no-nonsense life—one where he maintains a high level of control.


Georgina is Ellie’s younger sister. Four months ago, Noah saved Georgie’s life, but he thought that was where his involvement with his friend’s sister would end. Now Georgie has returned home from the recovery facility her parents sent her away to and Noah, still haunted by the night that connects them, can’t stop himself from continuously trying to protect this girl he barely knows. But is he willing to give up all of the control he’s worked so hard to build in his life and risk everything for her? Even more importantly, would she do the same for him?

add-to-goodreads-button

release day sale

KDH teaser 21

 

My Review:

 

What worked for me?

I was pleasantly surprised that despite the rather morbid and emotionally heavy introduction, the rest of the story was pretty well-paced and free from the overly heavy drama and angst that are ever present in most NA novels today.

Yes, Georgie went through a traumatic phase in her life but I appreciated the fact that the author did not focus on that one moment alone but rather only made it a catalyst that brought about changes in Georgie’s outlook in life. I just loved reading as she realizes her mistakes, as she gets to know herself better, and as she falls in love.

Noah, on the other hand, was such a dream! He did have the expected problematic childhood and upbringing but he didn’t let that get in the way of his being the best person he could possibly be. He’s loyal, decent, and an all-around good guy despite the ‘bad boy’ looks and appeal that other people see when they look at him. I particularly adore his OCD tendencies. And I just love how much he believes in Georgie.

I also really enjoyed the progression of their relationship. I’m always a sucker for sister and brother’s, or in this case, sister’s friend love stories because there is already some kind of history there. As Noah said, it was inevitable and I, as a reader, believed in that too. 🙂

 

What did not work for me?

There were parts when I questioned Georgie’s reactions or the way she thought things through and found myself wanting to tell her to snap out of it. But later in the story, I slowly realized that the author wrote that about her to show the parts of her that are still very much affected by what had happened in the past. So, I was able to get over these parts and really enjoy the rest of the book.

 

My favorite lines…

Even after a few months of dating, he still had my heart screaming every time I saw him. It screamed now–but that was a good freaking thing. It let me know I was alive. He let me know I was alive. Every. Single. Day.


Dammit, this girl was more drama than I ever bargained for. It didn’t matter, though. Because maybe, just maybe, she was going to be worth everything to me.

 

My over-all take on it?

All in all, this was a solid follow-up novel from Sarah Darlington. Noah and Georgie were really great together and I just really appreciate that there was no overflowing of angst in the story. I can’t wait for what Sarah has in store next for us.

 

My rating:

 4-5 stars

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

About the Author:

sarah darlingtonSarah Darlington lives in Virginia with her husband and crazy-active 2-year-old son. She’s a former flight attendant, day-dreamer, traveler, and wannabe photographer. Her debut novel HE BELONGS WITH ME, a standalone, was released March 2014. KILL DEVIL HILLS will be the first book of a three book series. Each novel in this new series will feature a different couple’s story.

Connect with Sarah Darlington:

Goodreads I Twitter I Facebook Sarah’s Website I Instagram
Also by Sarah: HE BELONGS WITH ME {Amazon I Amazon UK}

 

 

Giveaway!!!

Sarah is hosting a Rafflecopter Giveaway for a Prize Pack (Signed Paperback copy of KILL DEVIL HILLS and Sea Escape Bracelet) (US only) or an eBook copy of KILL DEVIL HILLS (Int).

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

5 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway: KILL DEVIL HILLS by Sarah Darlington”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

