Thirsty Thursday (7): Accidentally Sexy

Thirsty

Thirsty Thursday is a weekly feature, hosted by Nikki & Keira @ Lazy Book Lovers, where we discuss all things swoon-worthy: from quotes, book covers, book boyfriends, and even that worth-the-wait book kiss.

So, I had a tough time choosing which to feature for this week’s topic, which is Accidentally sexy – non-smutty sexy scene. But I picked from one of my favorite reads this year, The Suffragette Scandal by Courtney Milan. So, here we go…

 

the suffragate scandalBook: The Suffragette Scandal by Courtney Milan

Swoon Quality: I love Free’s and Edward’s verbal exchange! Because they’re both really smart, intelligent, and witty. And what’s not sexy about that, right?

It was a little uncomfortable to let her slide down him. Uncomfortable for him in the best way possible: He was aware of every last shift of fabric. She had a lovely scent to her, something sweet and wild, like lavender on an empty hillside. He almost didn’t want to let her go when her toes touched the ground.

He did anyway, taking a few steps back.

When he galnced at her, she was smiling. “Are you angry at me?” she asked sweetly.

“Of course not. I told you not to trust me, and you didn’t.”

Every time he thought he knew what to expect from her, she upset his expectations. He felt buffeted about, unsure of his footing.

Also, she liked boxing.

God, this was bad. Very, very bad.

“Well,” she said with a shrug, “we have to talk.”

Bad went instantly to worse. Talking was never a good thing. He glanced at her warily. “We do?”

“Yes.” She gave him a sudden grin. “But don’t give me that look. You’re the one who suggested it, after all. We’re supposed to talk about how attractive I find your muscles.”

His mouth went dry. No use pretending anymore. He wanted her–everything about her–from that saucy smile to the inner workings of her clever mind. He wanted her badly.

He took one step toward her.

“Alas,” she said, “we’ll have to postpone that discussion. After all, I have a newspaper that must be out with the 4 a.m. mail.”

He couldn’t believe it. She’d… toyed with him. Incomprehensibly, ridiculously, damnably. He was supposed to be the scoundrel here. He was supposed to be putting her on edge.

“No wonder you weren’t prepared to give me italics on either maddening or brilliant this afternoon,” he told her. “You were hoarding them all for yourself. Well played, Miss Marshall. Very well played.”

 

Why: I just finished this book and I love Free and Edward as I’ve mentioned above. This scene is one of my many favorites from the book and I find this accidentally sexy because who doesn’t want an intelligent verbal exchange or discussion between the hero and heroine with a hint of sexual tension, right? They always trade these amazing dialogue between them and it was just really fun to read about.

 

That’s it for me for this week’s edition. What scenes do you find accidentally sexy?

Don’t forget to check out Nikki’s and Keira’s picks this week here. My good friends Lorn @ Pakwanstripes and Duch @ Komorebi Days are also doing this feature.

 

6 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday (7): Accidentally Sexy”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

