Review: THE WAGER by Lily Maxton

the wagerTitle: The Wager
Author: Lily Maxton
Publisher: Entangled: Scandalous
Release Date: August 11, 2014
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N

London, 1818
Anne Middleton never plays by the rules. She is willful when she should be obedient and unabashed when she should be decorous. Worse still, she can never resist a good wager… or a very naughty book. And Confessions of a Courtesan is about as sensational and risque as a book can be. Michael Grey – Earl of Thornhill – had once courted Anne’s sweet and modest sister. But whilst Anne is certainly no lady of decorum, her bold impulsiveness slips through his armor, and propriety is forgotten. Now he too is immersed in the book of forbidden delights, where each page is an invitation to sin and a guide to pleasures unknown… Roused by heady desire, Michael tempts Anne in a way she cannot resist – a wager. Thus begins a game of chance, where coins have been replaced by a currency that is far more illicit. And the stakes of seduction are dangerous indeed…

add-to-goodreads-button 

My Review:

 

What worked for me?

First off, how amazingly sweet is this book’s cover or what? I mean I love historical romance book covers but this one is different, no skin, no lack of clothes, and while that is still awesome, I just love the dynamics and the obvious affection that this covers shows. It’s like a sweet and intimate moment that was captured by accident and I love it.

This is a novella but it really packs a punch. The story was full and emotionally satisfying. The characters were really well-defined and well-developed. And in the span of around 80 pages, the author was still able to get me well and truly invested in how the story between Anne and Michael would turn out. The conflict doesn’t feel trite or hurried. And the writing was amazing and exactly what I’m looking for especially in historical romance novels.

 

My Favorites:

Anna’s and Michael’s conversations both in person and through their correspondence

The correspondence was a really great tool both for helping the reader get to know the characters more and for that development in the relationship between the two.

I love Anna and how strong-willed she is. She doesn’t let the rules and constricts of society or of propriety dictate the kind of person she wants to be. She stands true to her feelings. Granted, she can be a little obsessed about wagers especially winning but who doesn’t want to come out as a winner, right? I guess it’s her way of dealing with the sometimes stifling expectations of society and a reminder to herself of living life to the fullest. I also love that she doesn’t compromise on her feelings.

Michael is such a great character to read about as well. I love watching him fall for Anna, first through the changes in how he wrote to her and later when they would talk with just the two of them.

I seriously enjoy reading these two wager with each other. You know that either way they’re going to have their happy ending but having a wager somewhere before the HEA was just seriously enjoyable.

 

What did not work for me? 

Because the story was so good and the writing really well-done that I couldn’t help but think about how the story would be if it were a full-length novel. I wanted more of this story because it was hard to part with these lovable characters and their endearing story.

 

My over-all take on it?

I’m now looking out for more from Lily Maxton. This was such a great introduction to her writing and I can’t wait to read more from her. I’m definitely satisfied that I followed my instincts and requested an ARC from NetGalley of this. This was such a satisfying read for me.

 

My rating:

5 stars

 

About the Author:

I’m now looking out for more from Lily Maxton. This was such a great introduction to her writing and I can’t wait to read more from her. I’m definitely satisfied that I followed my instincts and requested an ARC from NetGalley of this. This was such a satisfying read for me.

Connect with Lily Maxton:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter |  Goodreads

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Review: THE WAGER by Lily Maxton”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

