Review: SHIELD OF WINTER by Nalini Singh

Shield-of-Winter-by-Nalini-Singh275x410Title: Shield of Winter (Psy-Changeling Series Book #13)
Author: Nalini Singh
Release Date: June 3, 2014
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N | TBD

Assassin. Soldier. Arrow. That is who Vasic is, who he will always be. His soul drenched in blood, his conscience heavy with the weight of all he’s done, he exists in the shadows, far from the hope his people can almost touch—if only they do not first drown in the murderous insanity of a lethal contagion. To stop the wave of death, Vasic must complete the simplest and most difficult mission of his life.

For if the Psy race is to survive, the empaths must wake…

Having rebuilt her life after medical “treatment” that violated her mind and sought to stifle her abilities, Ivy should have run from the black-clad Arrow with eyes of winter frost. But Ivy Jane has never done what she should. Now, she’ll fight for her people, and for this Arrow who stands as her living shield, yet believes he is beyond redemption. But as the world turns to screaming crimson, even Ivy’s fierce will may not be enough to save Vasic from the cold darkness…

add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

What worked for me?

Like Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter is as much the story of Vasic and Ivy Jane as it is the unraveling of the overarching plot of the series. At 13 books, you’d think that a series would lose some of its steam but I believe Nalini Singh is not capable of losing steam with her stories. The plot, while seemingly on the brink of that final confrontation, as this is the second to the last book in this particular story arc, manages to sustain enough development that will not disappoint fans and readers.

Vasic is a character that we’ve seen glimpses of since the earliest books and it was such a satisfying thing, especially as a fan, to finally get to read his story. All the questions swirling in my head as to who he truly is as a person, if he can recognize and accept his own humanity and the penance that he craves so much, and what kind of woman would fit him as a love interest. Nalini delivers on all fronts.

Ivy Jane is an empath, a strong one at that, and I love just how these two seemingly balanced each other out. They both have their dark hours in their pasts, Vasic from being a controlled assassin and identity eraser in a way, and Ivy from almost having her own personality swiped off because of conditioning when it was found that her Silence was fractured.

The romance is just as raw and powerful as in all the other books by Nalini. And it was definitely great to see the other characters from the books again.

 

What did not work for me?

I can’t quite figure out what was missing in this book that I could give it a full rating. It might be on my part because I’ve put off reading the whole book in one sitting and had to continue with the latter part several days in between. Or maybe it was the unbelievably high expectations that I’ve set for this latest installment. In any case, you can not mind this anymore because Nalini Singh’s writing is still on the top of the literary food chain.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was still a gripping addition to the Psy-Changeling series. It wasn’t as fast-paced as the other books in the series, but the plot and character development still have that trademark treatment from Nalini Singh. I can’t wait to see how Nalini Singh will end this series and up next will be Aden’s book. I wonder who he will be partnered with. I have my theories on this too. 🙂

 

My rating:

 4-5 stars

 

 

About the Author:

nalini singhI’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

On Me

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated frequently).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

Connect with Nalini Singh:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter |  Blog

 

 

Other books by Nalini Singh:

 

8 thoughts on “Review: SHIELD OF WINTER by Nalini Singh”

  1. I’ve been kind of hit or miss with these. Either I just LOVE them or it has that missing something and I have yet to be able to figure out what it is. I’m on book 7 right now and it’s got something just not quite there. So frustrating but still a good read ya know? lol

    Like

    1. If I would be asked to pick my least favorite out of this series, it would have to be Blaze of Memory… LOL 🙂 I know what you mean and that book still was a good read but don’t give up! hahaha.. I kind of blazed through books 7-9 just to get to Hawke’s book. 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

