Review: THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas

throne of glassTitle: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: August 7, 2012
Buy Links: Amazon | B&N | TBD

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

add-to-goodreads-button 

My Review:

 

What worked for me?

I love how bad-ass Celaena Sardothien is. At such a young age, she’s already become infamous as Adarlan’s Assassin. She has lead a tough life since she was young and she grew under the wings of the King of the Assassins who trained her as a protege. But I find her bad-assery admirable not because she can kill people but because she can fight her own battles. She knows how to protect and defend herself and she, no matter how the King of Adarlan thinks he can, cannot be tamed or leashed.

As the competition heated up, I was looking forward to the matches between the champions and my favorites were always the ones where she outwits them. I also enjoy the quiet moments she has with Dorian and Chaol.

There are a lot of mysteries surrounding the whole overarching plot of the series and Sarah J Maas ably hooks readers to the promise of more when the revelations do come.

 

What did not work for me? 

Okay, let me begin by saying that a lot of people have been raving about this book and the whole series and I completely had an open mind when I started reading this book and was so ready to fall in love with it. Unfortunately… I didn’t. At all. It was a pretty well-written story with just enough mysteries to be solved within the first book and yet a lot more others ripe for expansion in the following books.

But I didn’t connect with the characters at all. Sure, Celaena was a very intriguing character but I didn’t become as invested in her as a character or in her story as much as I would have like to have become. Or any of the other characters for that matter. I can say my most favorite character is Prince Dorian minus the love triangle. I feel like he has a lot of inner conflict that would be great material for plot development.

 

My over-all take on it?

Gosh, I was so sad that I didn’t love this series. I was so poised to love this one but then it all fell flat to me. I did buy the second book, Crown of Midnight, but I’m not sure when I will be able to take that one off the shelf to read. In any case, many people loved this one as well as the rest of the series so if you’re looking for a bad-ass heroine to read, you might still want to give this a try.

 

My rating: (3.75 stars)

 

3-5 stars

 

About the Author:

Sarah j maasI’m Sarah J. Maas, the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Heir of Fire, Book 3, will be out in September 2014). The Assassin’s Blade, a bind-up of all five TOG novellas is out now! Starting in Spring 2015 – my New Adult Fantasy series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, will be published by Bloomsbury as well! Hooray! I was born/raised in Manhattan, but traded freezing winters and sweltering summers for No Winter Ever Weather when I followed my then-boyfriend (now husband!) out to California in 2008. After six years in SoCal, I’ve finally returned to the East Coast, and am currently residing in the Philadelphia area. I graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College with a degree in Creative Writing, and a minor in Religious Studies. I’m represented by Tamar Rydzinski of the Laura Dail Literary Agency.

Connect with Sarah J. Maas:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter | Blog | Tumbler | Pinterest

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Review: THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas”

    1. I did hear that the prequel novellas are really good. But then again, I didn’t really love the first book so I’m still debating on whether to read more from this series. But this is just me and I absolutely agree that you should still read on with this series because it might turn out to be something that you’ll love and enjoy 🙂

      Like

  1. I am so sorry that you did not like this one! Especially since you wanted to like it so much ans you also have the sequel.

    However, not connecting with characters cannot be helped or forced. I have read the 2nd and 3rd books in this series and I can say that you lean so much more about the Celeana and her family! 🙂

    Here is to a better read nextime and great, honest review! 😀

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    Like

    1. I even bought the hardcover version for the sequel because I really thought I would Throne of Glass. T__T oh well, I might read it but not anytime soon. Thanks for dropping by Alex! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m sorry you didn’t like the book as much! I’m a huge fan of the series, but I can see why you had problems with it. Crown of Midnight is a great improvement over the first book. In CoM and Heir of Fire you learn more about the characters and connect with them a bit more. And the love triangle is solved. The prequel novellas are really good, and there are lots of connections to the books!

    Like

    1. I really wanted to like this series but it kind of fell flat to me. And gosh, the love triangle was something I can completely live without. LOL 🙂 Although I am rooting for Dorian if I were made to choose. I did hear that the novellas are really, really good.

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

