Review: FORGED BY DESIRE by Bec McMaster

forged by desireTitle: Forged by Desire (London Steampunk #4)
Author: Bec McMaster
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | B-A-M | Chapters | IndieBound | Powell’s | The Book Depository | SourcebooksNook | iBooks

Captain Garrett Reed of the Nighthawk guard has a deadly mission: capture a steel-jawed monster preying on women. He hates to put his partner, Perry, in jeopardy, but she’s the best bait he has. Little does he realize, he’s about to be caught in his own trap.

Perry has been half in love with Garrett for years, but this is not exactly the best time to start a relationship—especially when their investigation leads them directly into the clutches of the madman she thought she’d escaped…

 add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

I’m a sucker for friends-to-lovers stories so this book is right up my alley. Plus, I’ve always enjoyed reading Bec McMaster’s Steampunk London series and when I’ve met Garret and Perry in the previous book, I had hoped that they would get their own book and viola, here it is!

We finally learn about the backstories of Garrett and Perry and I was actually surprised with Perry, in a good way. I never expected that that was her background before she became a Nighthawk.

 

What worked for me?

I loved the tension between Garrett and Perry and not just sexual tension although that was delicious to watch. But more of a tension of being in a precipice of some sort, where you know that everything has changed and you can not go back to the past and that one more move or action would irrevocable affect everything in your life. That’s the kind of tension I’m talking about. Garrett and Perry, having been partners for a long time now, were really good friends. But ever since a case they’ve all been working at had Perry dressing up as a lady of society and then Garrett almost dying, the orbit that brings these two together shifts and they’re both very aware of it, and of each other since then.

I appreciated the conflicts of and for the characters that were presented in the story. We have the external conflict wherein a serial killer who are targeting potential thralls and debutantes is on the loose. And then we have the internal conflicts of Garrett and Perry. For Garrett, it’s his struggle to adapt to his altered life when he finds his CV levels on the higher scale and the idea of The Fade looms over him. For Perry, it’s dealing with the monster from her past that seems to resurfacing to haunt her down. For both of them, it’s dealing with the feelings for each other that have been boiling right under the surface.

 

What did not work for me?

I just had a minor issue with how the characters dealt with some of their problems. Garrett and Perry seemed to have suffered a little of the ‘Noble Idiot’ syndrome wherein they are both ready to sacrifice themselves with every (good) intention of sparing hurt or pain to the other person. I was just a little peeved that they seemed to have taken it upon themselves to decide the fate of the other person without consulting him or her first. I know it comes from a good place and that they are really doing it because of the depth of emotions that they are feeling but to just unilaterally decide will not do any good to anyone.

 

Some of my favorites quotes (from my eARC)

Fingers flexing against the supple muscle along her spine, he let out the breath he’d been holding. Touching her felt like holding on to an anchor. In the darkness that was slowly becoming his world, Perry was a reliable, solid light that slowly drew him back to safer shores.


 

“You say you won’t sacrifice everything. That makes me wonder where you’d draw the line, and I know you, Perry. I know the one thing you’d never sacrifice. Me. That’s it, isn’t it? That’s what he threatened you with.”

 

My over-all take on it?

This was another delightful addition to the series though it did lack that full awesomeness factor that I found in My Lady Quicksilver. You just want to give Garrett and Perry and hug and tell them to never let each other go, ever. Other characters make an appearance as the overarching story of the series builds up more tension. I can’t wait to see what happens next. And yes, it’s Leo’s story up next. Finally! (fangirl alert! fangirl alert! LOL!)

 

My rating:

 4 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

About the Author:

bec mcmasterMy name is Bec McMaster and I live in a small country town in Victoria, Australia, with my boyfriend and a beautiful dog named Kobe. I grew up either with my nose in a book or writing, and never understood why other people didn’t get to watch ‘all the movies in their heads’. Following a lifelong love affair with fantasy, I discovered romance at the age of sixteen and haven’t looked back.

When I’m not writing I like to read, go hiking with my boyfriend, pore over travel brochures, and go to the gym. I’m addicted to travel and love to set my books in foreign places. It’s the next best thing to travelling there. One day I vow to see the entire world, whether it’s by plane, paper or imagination.

These days I can be found sitting at my computer with a hot mug of tea, creating the dark and dangerous world of the London Steampunk series, where vampires and werewolves stalk the eerie London rookeries and even the darkest hero can find love. I’m a member of RWA (USA and Australia) and am represented by Jessica Faust of BookEnds; LLC.

I’m so grateful to get this chance to pursue my dream, so thank you to everyone who reads my books. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed writing them!

Love,
Bec

 

Connect with Bec McMaster:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter |  Blog  |  Goodreads

11 thoughts on “Review: FORGED BY DESIRE by Bec McMaster”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

