Review: THE OPPORTUNIST by Tarryn Fisher

the opportunistTitle: The Opportunist (Love Me with Lies #1)
Author: Tarryn Fisher
Release Date: November 14, 2011
Buy Links: AmazonB & N | iBooks

Olivia Kaspen has just discovered that her ex-boyfriend, Caleb Drake, has lost his memory. With an already lousy reputation for taking advantage of situations, Olivia must decide how far she is willing to go to get Caleb back. Wrestling to keep her true identity and their sordid past under wraps, Olivia’s greatest obstacle is Caleb’s wicked, new girlfriend; Leah Smith. It is a race to the finish as these two vipers engage in a vicious tug of war to possess a man who no longer remembers them. But, soon enough Olivia must face the consequences of her lies, and in the process discover that sometimes love falls short of redemption.

 add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

*faints*

*recovers*

Now, I will attempt to get through all of my feelings and thoughts about this book; the operative word being ‘attempt’.

 

What worked for me?

I keep asking myself how the bad, the ugly, and the seemingly irredeemable can turn out to be so great. It just seems impossible and yet Tarryn Fisher makes me feel like that. This book had such an interesting premise (Olivia seeing her ex-boyfriend in a music store only to discover he’s lost some of his memories, including memories of her and their time together) and I was so ready to tread into whatever waters the author has in store for me. Because Olivia, the female main character decides to take advantage of the situation and did not divulge their history together. And then you might ask, is she the main character or the villain in this story. And I will ask in return, why can’t the villain be the main character? But in the end, I came to the conclusion that we all have villains inside each one of us.

I loved the interspersed story telling of the present and the past. We’re not inundated with the flashbacks. There are just enough revelations from them that we get an idea of what happened without every little secret and event unraveling completely. And this totally added to the mystery of what had truly happened between Olivia and Caleb and to the build-up of the plot.

And I completely loved reading about these flawed characters. You wouldn’t read cliches here. You should not even expect rainbows and clear clouds or a sweet love story. Because this particular love story? It’s raw, it’s brutal, it’s riveting. It lies, it deceives, it takes advantage of you. It will make you question your beliefs and your morals and your understanding of how far you will go to get what you want, of the kinds of things you’re willing to give (or take) for love. It will take you on a roller coaster of emotions and then leave you breathless, owned, and maybe a little unhinged. And thinking you wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

What did not work for me?

I’m such an emotional wreck after reading this one. I’m supposed to want the rainbows and sunshine kind of love story but I definitely wouldn’t have this book any other way than what it already is. So even though some of the actions and decisions and the plot of this story just about broke my heart and my mind, they all worked out for this amazing finished product.

 

My over-all take on it?

If you want to try a different kind of love story, hell, a different story period, give this one a try. It might not make you happy but it will definitely make you feel. You might hate it or love it but I don’t think you’ll regret reading it. Take a chance on this one. (And do let me know what you think.) This is the kind of book that stays with you long after that last page.

 

My rating:

5 stars

 

 

About the Author:

tarryn fisherI am a real life villain, truly. I drink sick amounts of Starbucks. Most of the time my hair smells like coffee. I was born in South Africa, and lived there for most of my childhood. I moved to Seattle just for the rain. Rome is my favorite place in the world so far, Paris comes in at a close second. I read and write more than I sleep. When I was eleven, I wrote an entire novel about runaway orphans, using only purple ink. I am addicted to Florence and the Machine and will travel to see concerts. I love scary movies and giraffes. I spend way too much time on Facebook. Meet you there?…

Connect with Tarryn Fisher:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter |  Instagram  |  Goodreads

7 thoughts on “Review: THE OPPORTUNIST by Tarryn Fisher”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

