Review: 45 POUNDS by K.A. Barson

45 poundsTitle: 45 Pounds (More or Less)
Author: K.A. Barson
Release Date: July 11, 2013
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | Kobo | TBD

Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life:

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 1/2 months.

Welcome to the world of infomercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother.

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!
add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

What worked for me?

This was a really engaging read for me. Ann was such a very accessible character who was not hard to connect with. I guess we all have different experiences when it comes to our weight and while I can’t say I know exactly what Ann was going through, I do know that I have experienced having issues with my weight as well. So to a certain extent, I can relate with her: when she starts a diet or exercise routine that she can’t sustain or when she gets heavier after stopping the exercises. And I also had a great time being in Ann’s head. Her concerns are legitimate and you can’t help but feel for her.

It was also interesting watching the mother-daughter dynamics, seeing it unfold and then build-up to that inevitable breakdown and then finally get resolved. This was a very good story arc within the book.

It somehow finishes with a kind of open-ended one which I think works great with the rest of the story. Because Ann is young and she still has so much life ahead of her. But where she ends up at by the end of the book was satisfying for me as a reader, as someone who has been with her, in a sense, in this particular part of her life. And the message that it conveys about trying to be the best version of yourself while at the same time being comfortable with your own skin definitely won stars from me.

 

What did not work for me?

I can’t think of anything that didn’t work for me. This book wasn’t about the heavy angst although the conflict within the story, the struggles of Ann were by no means light, the story itself wasn’t depressing. And even though I wasn’t wholly in love with it, it was still a very good read.

 

My over-all take on it?

It had that a sense of character, this book. That is, it knew what it wanted to tell and it did it rather well. It knew what it was about and it delivered. A sweet, charming, and enjoyable read from debut author K.A. Barson.

 

My rating:

 4 stars

 

 

 

About the Author:

KA BarsonK.A. (Kelly) Barson earned an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She and her husband live in Jackson, Michigan, surrounded by kids, grandkids, unruly dogs, and too many pairs of shoes. Her first novel, 45 Pounts (More of Less), was released by Viking Juvenile (Penguin) on July 11, 2013. (And she likes parentheses, too!)

Connect with K.A. Barson:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

6 thoughts on “Review: 45 POUNDS by K.A. Barson”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

