Review: YOU OWN ME by Shiloh Walker

you own meTitle: You Own Me
Author: Shiloh Walker
Release Date: August 4, 2014
Buy Links: iBooks | Amazon | B & N | ARe | Kobo | Indie eBooks

It had always been her…

Ten years had passed since the doors slammed shut behind Decker Calhoun, taking away his freedom, but more importantly, locking him away from Elizabeth Waters, the only woman he’d ever loved—the woman he’d given up everything for.

The day he was sentenced, he’d looked at her and said, No regrets, Lizzie. But he lied, because he did have one. Although he’s been out of jail for three years now, he was a year too late. Lizzie never knew how he felt and just months before he was released, she found somebody else and it’s too late.

Or maybe not. It seems that Lizzie’s boyfriend wants an open relationship and two can play at that game. Now all Decker has to do is convince Lizzie that he’s the better man…and has been all along.

Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance.
 add-to-goodreads-button

Check out Shiloh’s website HERE to read an excerpt.

My Review:

I almost always fall in love with a story that has a hero who has been in love with the heroine for forever. Give me this trope and write their story well and I will profess undying love for you. So I was excited to read this book, my first from author Shiloh Walker, and it was a good read for me. I wasn’t in love with it but I liked it that I enjoyed reading through until the happy ending.

 

What worked for me?

The trope! This always gets to me because you have that history between the characters that you couldn’t wait to explore. It’s always been fascinating for me as a reader to watch that history unravel. And what I loved in particular about Decker and Lizzie history was that they were good friends. Granted, their shared past was one mired with grief and separation since Decker was sentenced to be jailed because of his actions in protection of Lizzie, but it was also one rooted in deep affection and young love, despite the feelings that were left unsaid between them.

Decker was such a sweet guy and honest and true in the way that he loves Lizzie. He accepted his fate as a convicted felon (meaning, he knows why he is going to jail and has accepted it) and he was honest enough to admit that he would do it all over again if it meant saving Lizzie from an evil act. And when he’s finally a free man, you know that his feelings for Lizzie have never wavered and have in fact grown stronger in the decade they’ve been apart.

It was exciting to watch Decker and Lizzie sort of circle around each other in the early moments and at the same time fighting their emotions for one another, especially Lizzie who has yet landed herself with a douche for a boyfriend. But for this kind of trope, I am always anticipating the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back, that pivotal moment where the two characters would at last fall into each other, no longer able to hold back their feelings and the way it happens for these two was so sweet and so sexy, it was definitely worth waiting for.

 

What did not work for me?

My only slight misgiving about this was that I would have wished for a stronger heroine. Lizzie has her good characteristics but sometimes it was hard to watch her continue to look down at herself or not give herself enough credit. I just wished she could have stand up for herself more.

 

 

My over-all take on it?

Overall, it was a short and satisfying story. I breezed through it and enjoyed watching Decker and Lizzie find their way back into each other again. Because sometimes, that red line of fate that links you to another will not get cut, even after years of separation, other relationships, or painful pasts.

 

My rating:

3 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

About the Author:

Shiloh Walker is an award-winning writer…yes, really!  She’s also a mom, a wife, a reader and she pretends to be an amateur photographer.  She published her first book in 2003. Her newest series, Secrets and Shadows, launched in April 2014.  Look for the newest book Deeper than Need, to be followed by Sweeter than Sin and Darker than Desire.

She writes romantic suspense, contemporary and paranormal romance, and urban fantasy under the name J.C. Daniels.

 

About Me…seriously

They always say to tell a little about yourself! I was born in Kentucky and have been reading avidly since I was six. Writing became more my focus in middle school-I had a very boring teacher and voices in my head.  There was also a book that didn’t end the way I wanted it to end-don’t ask me the book, because I don’t remember.  I just remember I started writing.  I never stopped.

About me now… hmm… I’ve been married since I was 19 to my high school sweetheart and we live in the mid-west. I started writing full time in 2004, which lets me write during the day and still devote more time to my family- three adorable children who are growing way too fast and my husband who doesn’t see enough of me.

I like to read.  There’s a shocker!

This list will vary, a lot, but personal faves include Nora Roberts, Stacia Kane, Ilona Andrews, Kresley Cole, Julie James, but my all time favorite is SL Viehl.  She writes sci fi and romance, but my favorite of hers is the sci fi series Star Doc.  If you haven’t read them, I think you’re missing out.

Something cool…

When I was in nursing school, a friend of mine came up to me one day and told me she’d had a dream that she was in a bookstore one day and saw a book with my name on it.  This was before I told anybody that I loved to write.  I think that was when I decided I was very serious about writing.

 

Connect with Shiloh Walker:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter |  Blog  |  Pinterest

3 thoughts on “Review: YOU OWN ME by Shiloh Walker”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

