Review and Quote-tastic Monday (27): CHASING TEMPTATION by Joya Ryan

 

chasing temptationTitle: Chasing Temptation (Chasing Love #2)
Author: Joya Ryan
Publishing Date: October 20, 2014 (from Brazen: Entangled Publishing)
Source: eARC via Netgalley
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

Good things come in naughty packages…

What does it take to turn a good girl bad? Sick of her interfering brother nosing into her love life―and by proxy, her sex life—Penny Diamond has decided she needs a break from her “girl next door” reputation. And she knows exactly who can help her… Tall, lean, and impossibly intense Sebastian Strafford is rumored to have a sexual appetite with a decidedly wicked flavor.

Unfortunately, he’s also her brother’s best friend.

Sebastian doesn’t do relationships. Getting involved with Penny―and giving into that carnal thirst he’s tried to ignore all these years―is just about the worst idea ever. But he’ll be damned if she turns to anyone else for her “education.” So Sebastian makes her a deal: just two weeks to indulge in every sensual sin imaginable. Now he just has to keep himself from falling for the good girl. Especially when she’s so deliciously bad…

add-to-goodreads-button

 

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that one of my favorite romance tropes is the sister/best friend set-up. And plus, I’ve been really enjoying Entangled Publishing’s Brazen imprint.

 

What worked for me?

One of the really great things about this story, aside from one of my favorite tropes, is that Penny and Bass felt very real to me. I got to know their hopes, their dreams, their fears and because of that I really feel connected to them. They do get those moments where I’m questioning their decisions but who doesn’t make mistakes right? What I appreciate further is that their decisions don’t feel selfish at all. Yes, they do hurt each other at one point, but they made those decisions because they thought they were for the best and not further hurt each other. This is especially true for Bass, who’s cynical view on commitments was a result of something that happened with his parents in the past. But it was really satisfying to see how Bass overcomes this internal struggle. On the other hand, I really admired Penny. Her cheating ex-boyfriend was a douche and really did a number on her but I love that she decides to face life with nothing to lose and everything to gain and she finally goes for the thing or the person that she really wants. I got to give the girl some props for putting herself out there and not being afraid to fight for what she loves. And the chemistry between these two, you guys. The pages were burning up.

 

What did not work for me?

My only tiny misgiving was that there were parts in the story that felt more of the telling rather than the showing type of writing. And that did take a bit of my enjoyment out of reading this. But fortunately, this was just a little in the beginning and there were only a few of it.

 

My over-all take on it?

I discovered another writer that I would love to read more from in the future especially in the Entangled Brazen imprint. Yay! This was such a sexy and yet really romantic love story featuring one of my personal favorite tropes.

 

My rating:

4 stars 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

Quote-tastic button

QUOTE-TASTIC is hosted by Anna @ Herding Cats & Burning Soup.

Join us every Monday and share a favorite quote that’s grabbed ya for one reason or another.

Everyone’s welcome to join in. Authors, bloggers, readers. The more the merrier!

Just grab the button and toss up your post 🙂 

Don’t have a blog? No worries, just leave your favorites in the comment section.

“It was okay,” she shrugged, placing one hand on the tbale and the other on her hip. “And I wasn’t out that late. Bass here gave me a ride home.”

Ryder shot a look at him. “I thought everyone was going to stay the night in the city.”

“Yeah, I thought the same thing,” she said, smiling at Sebastian. “Staying the night would have been fun.”

That time he didn’t miss the sugary sweet challenge in her voice. Looked like she was pissed he had left her. He wasn’t any happier about it either, but he’d had to gather himself.

Now, staring down the gorgeous woman with the afternoon sun bleeding through the windows and haloing her like a damn angel, he had a hard time not kicking his own ass for passing up an entire night with her.

Soon.

Fuck calling it off. He had to surround himself by all that sweet skin. Bury himself so deep into that sexy body neither of them could breathe. And what better way to prepare her for what was to come than to meet her challenge right now?

“Staying the night wasn’t a good idea,” he said, looking her straight in the eye. “And what do you mean last night was okay? You looked to be enjoying yourself to me.”

She licked her lips, and damn if he didn’t love this. This silent waging of wills. A secret competition.

Ryder was sitting right there. This whole conversation was a bad idea, but he couldn’t help it. Penny had laid it out there, challenged him, and he’d accepted.

She’d said she could be discrete? Well, he wove words and passively argued for a living. Game on.

“Maybe I was faking my enjoyment,” she said, and Bass laughed. Honest to God laughed, which she clearly didn’t appreciate. She straightened and nailed him with glare.

“What’s so funny?” Ryder asked.

“Your sister is,” he said. His face actually hurt from how wide he was smiling. “She couldn’t fake a thing if she tried.” He tilted his chin at her. “Look at those big honest eyes of hers.” Not to mention, he felt her come apart.

Faked it, my ass.

 

 

Why is this quote fantastic?

This was early on in the story and it was just so fun to watch them trade those words with each other. And great tension, right?

 

So, what’s YOUR favorite quote this week?

Don’t forget to hop around and check out everyone’s picks for the week! Never know, you just might find your next favorite read!

 

 

 

About the Author:

I am a mother and a wife. I love to read, write, bake, cook, barbecue, baste, flambe’…basically anything regarding food you can assume my involvement. I also have terrible dance moves and unleash them upon the general public often. If you want to know more about me or the books I write, check out my site!

Connect with Joya Ryan:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Amazon Author Page

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Review and Quote-tastic Monday (27): CHASING TEMPTATION by Joya Ryan”

  1. Oh I love the Brazen line. It’s been too long since I read one. Those best friends sibling ones really are fun 🙂

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

