Review & Giveaway: MAKING HEADLINES by Erin Brown

Making Headlines BT Banner

*Enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway and get a chance to win a MAKING HEADLINES Prize Pack or one of 5 signed copies of TAKING FLIGHT and MAKING HEADLINES by Erin Brown.

 

Making Headlines_7Title: Making Headlines
Author: Erin Brown
Publishing Date: October 7, 2014
Source: eARC from publisher via InkSlinger PR
Buy Links: AmazonB & N | iTunes | Smashwords

When a one-night stand turns into an online photo scandal, Sophie Tucker and Luke McGraw become campus celebrities overnight for all the wrong reasons.

Sophie Tucker can’t wait to start her freshman year of college—she has a full scholarship to her dream school and her sights set on landing a coveted staff writer position on the college newspaper. But when a scandalous photo from a one night stand she barely remembers is posted on The Score List, a new tabloid-style gossip site the campus is buzzing about, Sophie realizes her freshman year isn’t going to be what she imagined. As more photos are posted, Sophie decides to use her journalistic prowess to take down the anonymous person behind the site.

Luke McGraw is that guy—the vice president of his fraternity, the online editor of the school newspaper, and the one every girl wants to date. When a photo of Sophie, the girl he hooked up with the night before classes started and can’t get out of his head, shows up on The Score List, he knows that he has to find out who is behind the site—both to avenge Sophie, and to save the reputation of his fraternity.

When Sophie and Luke realize they’re both investigating, they decide to team up. But focusing on the investigation instead of each other proves difficult, especially when neither of them are sure the other can be trusted.

In a story full of the scandal, mystery, intrigue, friendship, and cheeky, sexy romance, Making Headlines channels Veronica Mars and Greek, in the companion novel to Taking Flight.

add-to-goodreads-button

 

 

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I was intrigued by the set-up of the story where the characters have to struggle with unwanted attention such as getting the headline of a somewhat not so reputable topic like what happens to Sophie and Luke. And I was looking forward to them working together in order to find the culprits involved in displaying their photos all over the internet.

 

What worked for me?

This book really surprised me several times throughout the story, in a very good way. I thought I had pegged the trajectory of the plot but I love the twists and turns that the author did that made the book really refreshing for me. And I was on board every step of the way.

I also really, really liked Sophie and Luke. They felt very real to me. I particularly love that they both made mistakes but the author didn’t allow for the pacing of the story to stall and dwell on those. Instead, she gives us characters that are willing to take action and react, which moves along the story very well.

I love that great balance between the romance and the mystery/investigation that the author was able to pull off. I did sometimes get frustrated, only because I wanted to know already who’s been behind all these.

But I particularly love how the romance blossomed and developed between Sophie and Luke. It wasn’t love at first sight. Mostly, it was lust at first sight actually. And there was no I-love-you’s exchange immediately. There was that genuine quality to their relationship that you can totally see how things can go from platonic (okay, not-so-platonic since they actually had a one-night stand in the beginning of the book) to acquaintances and colleagues, to actual friends and then to something more. And you have all those experiences in between, of doubts, insecurity, attraction, understanding, companionship, and all that.

 

What did not work for me?

I had a little difficulty getting into the story in the beginning but this might be more from my personal state of mind rather than the writing itself because when I got on board the story, I just completely zoomed through until that last page.

 

My over-all take on it?

A great serving of intrigue, mystery, and romance from new-to-me author Erin Brown. She completely floored me with her refreshing take on romance development and I definitely give her kudos for that. I’ll be looking forward for more from this author, definitely.

 

My rating:

 4 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

Erin Brown Author PhotoErin Brown is a writer, Whedonite, Whovian, yogi, HGTV addict, and connoisseur of The CW’s TV line-up. She was born and raised in Arkansas, lived in New York City for five years, and recently moved to Singapore, where she lives on the beach, which is completely wasted on her because she is a ginger and the sun is not her friend. She is the author of Taking Flight and Making Headlines: A Taking Flight Novel. You can follow her on Twitter @erinbrownwrites.

Connect with Erin Brown:

TwitterFacebookGoodreads | Pinterest | Wattpad | Website

 

 Giveaway:

MAKING HEADLINES Prize Pack & 5 signed copies of TAKING FLIGHT and MAKING HEADLINES

 A Rafflecopter Giveaway

5 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway: MAKING HEADLINES by Erin Brown”

  1. Oh this sounds fun! I probably would’ve passed this one up thinking it would be aimed at a younger crowd but I like the sound of this one. Thanks for sharing! I’m adding this to my TBR.

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

