Review: PRIMA DONNA by Laura Drewry

Prima DonnaTitle: Prima Donna
Author: Laura Drewry
Publishing Date: September 23, 2014 (from Loveswept)
Source: eARC via Netgalley
Buy Links: AmazonB & N | iTunes

In USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry’s witty, sizzling, and tender romance for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, a woman who can’t slow down discovers that the perfect guy is in hot pursuit.

Even when her hair salon goes under and she’s on the brink of breaking, Regan Burke keeps her “I’m just fine” attitude. She’s had a tough life, coping with a difficult family and keeping her act together . . . barely. Right now, she just needs a job, any job, so she can pay her mother’s medical bills. It’s the exact wrong time for Carter Scott to come into her life—and to be so damn sexy, so distracting, and so determined to get close.

Carter isn’t looking for anything serious—his heart belongs to the kids who depend on his pediatric practice—but something about Regan makes him reconsider. Maybe it’s the scars she hides so well, the secrets she can’t share. Carter knows all about that kind of pain, and he wants to help. But offering Regan a job in his office only makes things worse, even if their chemistry is off the charts. Lucky for them both, Carter isn’t about to let go of love without a fight.

add-to-goodreads-button

 

 

My Review:

I was a huge fan of Plain Jayne and I was ecstatic to learn that Laura Drewry was writing another book with side characters from Plain Jayne now taking center stage. I did enjoy Prima Donna but I didn’t love it as much as I initially thought I would.

 

What worked for me?

Regan and Carter are two people who would have perfectly pulled off the no-strings-attached, friends-with-benefits type of relationship or arrangement, if you will. Regan has enough on her plate to worry about—she just lost the property where she leases her salon and she needs a steady job asap if she expects to pay the bills as well as continue to fund her mother’s special nursing home. She has no time for love and romance. Carter does not do long-term. Yes, he practices medicine as a pediatrician and has recently moved to Regan’s hometown to join the clinic owned by two of his closest friends who are also doctors. But he refuses to hold on to anything or I guess it’s a matter of not letting things (or people) hold on to him for long terms. He might be adverse to commitment but he has his reasons (and no, it’s really not what you think). But attraction can still change you and feelings, those definitely can move you. And these two, they definitely have both.

There were particular character scenes that I really liked and that really moved me and which also I think gave the most in-depth look into the characters. The chemistry was there although it wasn’t as strong as I would have liked.

 

What did not work for me?

I guess I had too much expectation from this one and the story did not quite fulfill them all for me. I wasn’t as invested in Regan and Carter as I had been with Nick and Jayne. It might have been because I was also expecting a kind of slow-burn romance development like in the first book. This is not to say that it was insta-love, which it wasn’t. It might have been because the first chapter already included the two of them interacting when I was expecting some chapters of introduction about each of them separately.

I also thought that the characterization would have been done tighter and more solidly. I love Carter but I only really liked Regan, which was just too bad because I think that she would have been a very lovable character if she was developed a bit more.

 

My over-all take on it?

All in all, it was still a good read but I was just disappointed that it didn’t wow me as the first book, especially when I know that Laura Drewry could do much better than this. Maybe if I had not read Plain Jayne first, I would really have enjoyed reading this one more. I would still recommend it to romance readers because I think Regan and Carter’s love story was still worth reading.

 

My rating:

 3-5 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

Connect with Laura Drewry:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

 

 Other Laura Drewry books on Girl meets Books:

Plain Jayne

 

6 thoughts on “Review: PRIMA DONNA by Laura Drewry”

  1. I hate when a book I read from an author is amazing and gets my hopes up for another of their books but it just doesn’t end up meeting my expectations. I’m sorry it wasn’t what you hoped it would be but it still sounds like you liked it well enough.

    Like

    1. I was definitely expecting more from this book but this will definitely not be my last of Laura Drewry. I still think she’s a great writer so I’m going to be on the look out for her next release. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by, Kim 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

