Review & Giveaway: BABY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE – An Anthology

BICO RE Tour Banner

*Rafflecopter Giveaway for five (5) copies of Baby, It’s Cold Outside.

 

BabyCoverTitle: Baby, It’s Cold Outside
Author: Jennifer Probst, Emma Chase, Kristen Proby, Melody Anne & Kate Meader
Publishing Date: October 28, 2014 (from Pocket Books)
Buy Links: Simon & Schuster | AmazonB & N | iTunes | BAM | IndieBound

Outside it may be frosty, so turn the heat way up with these stories of desire!

Can a determined woman executive and a playboy billionaire survive being stranded together in a snowstorm? Jennifer Probst depicts an encounter almost too hot to handle…

Drew and Kate play an encore to Tangled in this sexy take on a “Christmas Carol” by Emma Chase. When a Christmas Eve argument condemns Drew to a troubled night, three dream women teach him that no gift could be more tantalizing than Kate…

With Kristen Proby, ski slopes are quite delightful. Grace Douglas is sure she’ll never learn to ski, but instructor Jacob Baxter could teach her lessons of a different kind…

Can a southern California transplant survive Montana’s deep snows? Melody Anne, author of the bestselling Andersons series, melts the icy drifts completely away with the heat between sexy Hawk Winchester and brand-new teacher Natalie Duncan…

What could be hotter than a firefighter? Kate Meader shows how hot it can get as Beck Rivera and heiress-turned-tattoo-artist Darcy Cochrane discover that nothing ignites holiday flames like rekindling a lost love…

add-to-goodreads-button

 

 

My Review:

 Why did I want to read this book?

I actually haven’t read any of the authors except for Kate Meader, who’s a favorite of mine. But I was definitely intrigued with the short blurbs for each of the stories. Plus, they’re holiday stories. I love getting those quick servings of greatness.

 

What worked for me?

I love second-chance romances so I really enjoyed SEARCHING FOR YOU by Jennifer Probst and REKINDLE THE FLAME by Kate Meader. I think as part of an anthology and given the length constraint for the story, second chance romances are really very effective because you’ve got the built-in history and it’s a matter of unraveling that history to the readers, which I think was really nailed by both authors. The pacing and development of these two stories were really natural and the ending felt very organic with the whole narrative and not just there because the stories needed their happy endings.

In short, I believed that Riley and Dylan from ‘Searching for You’ ‘finished’ falling in love with each other, something they obviously started doing back in college. I also believed that Beck and Darcy from ‘Rekindle the Flame’ never did had a closure and that it was far from over, in fact, it was the opposite of over. The time apart fell away and yet carried the things that they both needed to come to terms with in order for them to be together. And what a joy it was to see those two couples transitioning into their HEAs.

In IT’S A WONDERFUL TANGLED CHRISTMAS CAROL, we get a slice of life sort of story wrapped in a The-Christmas-Carol-esque delivery about married couple Drew and Kate. I admit I haven’t read ‘Tangled’ or ‘Twisted’ by Emma Chase yet but I instantly took a liking to these two. Their marriage seemed really solid and their love for each other is very much apparent. But I loved how this holiday story gave us a glimpse of the struggles that married couple still face no matter how much they’re in love with each other. And I really, really appreciate what the author has done with this one.

SAVING GRACE by Kristen Proby and SAFE IN HIS ARMS by Melody Anne give readers the magic that connection and understanding, found with another person no matter how long or how short you’ve known them, can create. There were little beats in these stories that I really like.

 

What did not work for me?

I really enjoyed all the stories but I did encounter some problems with believability when it came to ‘Saving Grace’ and ‘Safe in His Arms’ and I think this has more to do with the length of the stories. Because the couples here are meeting for the first time, there’s that getting-to-know you period that I have to have in order to believe two people are truly falling. And while I did not disbelieve their feelings, because I was still rooting for them, it lacked that full engagement from me.

 

My over-all take on it?

These are great tidings to be had this holiday season. You guys wouldn’t want to miss reading this stories. My favorite of the lot is Kate Meader’s. It’s a great introduction to her new series. I’ve been missing her writing and I was so glad to read another of her story.

 

My rating:

Searching for You: 4 stars
It’s A Wonderful Tangled Christmas Carol: 4 stars
Saving Grace: 3 stars
Safe in His Arms: 3 stars
Rekindle the Flame: 4 1/2 stars

4 stars 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Authors:

Jennifer Probst 1Jennifer Probst’s New York Times and USA Today bestselling novels, novellas, and ebooks include the acclaimed Marriage to a Billionaire series, as well as Searching for Someday and Searching for Perfect. She lives in upstate New York. Visit her at www.jenniferprobst.com.

Connect with Jennifer Probst:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEmma Chase is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Tangles, Twisted, Tamed, and Tied. She lives in a small town in rural New Jersey with her husband and children. Follow Emma on Twitter and Facebook, or visit her at www.emmachase.net.

Connect with Emma Chase:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

ProbyKristenKristen Proby is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Loving Cara and Seducing Lauren, as well as the popular With Me in Seattle series. Kristen spends her days with her muse in the Pacific Northwest. Visit her at kristenproby.com.

Connect with Kristen Proby:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

MelodyAnneMelody Anne is the New York Times bestselling author of the indie published Billionaire Bachelors series, the Baby for the Billionaire series, and the Surrender series, and she has a new series coming soon from Pocket Books. She lives in the Pacific Northwest. Visit her at www.melodyanne.com.

Connect with Melody Anne:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

KM-1Kate Meader is the author of the sexy new series Hot in Chicago, coming soon from Pocket Books. When not writing she works in an academic library in Chicago. Visit her at www.katemeader.com.

Connect with Kate Meader:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

Giveaway!!!

Five (5) Copies of BABY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE.

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

 

 

Other books by Kate Meader on the blog:

Feel the Heat (Hot in the Kitchen #1)
All Fired Up (Hot in the Kitchen #2)
Hot & Bothered (Hot in the Kitchen #3)

 

Have you guys read this book or any book from any of these amazing authors? Are you fond of reading Holiday stories?

10 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway: BABY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE – An Anthology”

  1. I have read a bunch of books by Jennifer & read Emma’s first book in the series – Tangled. I love Christmas anthologies, so I am really looking forward to reading this!

    Like

  2. I haven’t read any of these authors but I’ve been wanting to pick up this anthology. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! The shortness of the getting to know you period is always a problem I have with romance short stories but this sounds like it may be fun enough to get past it. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I have the same problem too but I guess the Christmas spirit as well as my love of romance helped me get past it a bit so I hope you do give this anthology a try because the other stories were really great! 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

