Review: EMBRACE THE HEAT by Cassandra Lawson

 

embrace the heatTitle: Embrace the Heat (Moon Virus #2)
Author: Cassandra Lawson
Release Date: November 13, 2014
Source: eARC from author
Buy Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon AU | iTunes

On her seventh birthday Layla’s mother mysteriously disappeared. Raised by a wood nymph in one of the few remaining human settlements, Layla learned to fight from an early age. She also learned to distrust the vampires who rule most of the land. When a vampire saves her life, Layla finds herself more than a little drawn to him, even knowing he could never give his heart to a human.

The trauma of his childhood left Simon weary and distrustful of all humans, until the day he saved Layla’s life. After seeing the spirited human fighting like a seasoned warrior, Simon can’t help but respect and admire her. He soon learns that Layla is much more than he ever imagined, and he finds it hard to stay away from her. Despite the depths of his feelings, Simon knows there can be no future for them.

Both of their worlds are turned upside down as Layla nears her twenty-seventh birthday. Suddenly the male vampires are inexplicably drawn to her, and Simon is no exception. As they unravel the mystery of Layla’s heritage, an enemy from their past resurfaces and threatens to destroy Simon and all that he cares for.

 add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I first met Simon and Layla as secondary characters in the first Moon Virus book and when I learned that the two will get their own book, together, well, I was definitely looking forward to it. I was mostly intrigued with Simon because of his experiences with humans when he was younger so I’m curious as to what kind of story he will have.

 

What worked for me?

I liked Raven’s Blood, the first book, but didn’t really love it. But this second book was love for me. I mentioned in my review of the first book how much potential Cassandra Lawson’s writing has and I’m glad to say that she made great strides in terms of story cohesion and characterization with this second book. And that makes me really, really happy.

It was a great experience watching Simon and Layla circle around their feelings for each other. Layla always thought that what she felt for Simon was one-sided and unrequited and that she totally understood that they could never have any future because of Simon’s past, no matter how little she knows about it. On the other hand, Simon has developed strong affections for Layla ever since he saved her during a confrontation with the bad guys in book one. Now, if only he was not so blind as to the direction of those feelings, we’ll probably get somewhere. (Don’t worry, we do get somewhere.) I also appreciate that even though they were together-together, not everything’s perfect and there are some things that they still need to work out as a couple. It’s not all perfect and this element adds to the realistic feel of their relationship, which I really loved.

I really appreciate the great pacing of the story, not just in terms of the development of the romance between the two (and trust me, it was awesome. The sexual tension and build up were so intense, they could cut the air. Again, awesome.) but also in the overarching theme of the series.

 

What did not work for me?

Cassandra Lawson writes the most sick villains in the history of paranormal books. I give her props on this because the villainous things these people do are really something and I guess also adds that layer of uncertainty in this particular type of conflict. My only minor issue being that I have mixed feelings about a plot point being an overkill. It was just a little too much although it still didn’t take away my full enjoyment of the book.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was a great follow-up book in the Moon Virus series. Simon and Layla are both admirable beings and it was wonderful seeing their friendship develop into something more. This book was a lot tighter than the first one in terms of both plot, pacing, and characterization and I have to give due props to Cassandra from doing such a great job with this one.

 

My rating:

4 stars 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area with my husband and my two youngest children. When I’m not writing, I’m homeschooling my youngest children, cooking, and battling the never-ending mountain of laundry.

I am attempting to review more books and will be posting many of these reviews on this page as well as on Amazon.com and Goodreads. I mostly read romance and paranormal romance. If you are an author and you would like me to review your book, please send email at BooksByCassandraLawson@gmail.com.

Connect with Cassandra Lawson:

Website | Facebook

 

 Other books by Cassandra Lawson on the blog:

Raven’s Blood

8 thoughts on “Review: EMBRACE THE HEAT by Cassandra Lawson”

  1. I would love to know how you created that box at the top. I followed some instructions for creating the HTML like you did at the top, and it was all a jumble of nonsense when I previewed it, lol, so I’m assuming I did it very wrong!

    Like

    1. Hi April. You can try this code:

      div style=”border: dashed 2px #00cc99; border-radius: 15px; -khtml-border-radius: 15px; -moz-border-radius: 15px; -webkit-border-radius: 15px; padding: 12px; font-size: 16px; background-color: #fccfcf; line-height: 1.4;”

      TEXT here

      /div

      Just insert ” to close the codes and check out the many hex color codes and other details according to your preferences.

      Let me know how it works out and if you need any help 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

