Review: THE SPACE BETWEEN by Kate Canterbary

 

The Space Between FOR WEB(1)Title: The Space Between (The Walshes #2)
Author: Kate Canterbary
Publishing Date: November 18, 2014
Genre: Contemporary, romance
Source: eARC from author via RockStarLit PR
Buy Link: Amazon

Some lines are meant to be crossed.

Patrick

That hair. That fucking hair. It was everywhere, always, and I wanted to tangle my fingers in those dark curls and pull. And that would be fine if she wasn’t my apprentice.

Andy Asani was nothing like I expected. She was exotic and scary-brilliant, and the slightest murmur from those lips sent hot, hungry lust swirling through my veins. Outside my siblings, she was the only person I could name who shared my obsession with preserving Boston’s crumbling buildings.

Andy

My wants were few: good eats, tall boots, hot yoga, interesting work. One incredibly hot architect with the most expressive hazel eyes I ever encountered and entirely too much talent in and out of the bedroom wasn’t part of the original plan. Apparently he was part of the package.

Wine was my rabbi and vodka was my therapist, and I needed plenty of both to survive my apprenticeship. Especially with Patrick Walsh leaving love notes in the form of bite marks all over my body.

add-to-goodreads-button

 

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I loved the first book in the series where we meet all the Walsh siblings and I was pretty excited to learn that this second book features Patrick, the eldest of the bunch, who’s superhero nickname among the siblings is Optimus. How cute is that? And does that not make you want to meet him too?

 

What worked for me?

The thing that I discovered with Kate Canterbary after reading two books is that she knows how to write sexual and emotional tension and she does this so well. All that intense longing and that circling around each other type of tension are some of the reasons I am totally loving her romance stories. You can just feel all those emotions from the pages that you read and that’s why the characters feel so alive.

I love Patrick. He has this quality about him that’s built on the strength of character. He’s brilliant but he’s not boastful about it. He recognizes and consequently admires the talent and skills that he sees Andy. And how sexy is it that Patrick and Andy are attracted to each other not just because of their bodies but because of their brains? Patrick actually reminds me of the kinds of heroes that author Laura Florand writes in her Amour et Chocolat series, my kind of heroes actually, who have so much strength in body and character and yet you get to see their soft spots, their vulnerabilities, their heart of emotions and that’s what’s bringing Kate Canterbary’s heroes closer to my reader’s heart.

As for Andy, it took a short while before I fully warmed up to her. At first, I admired her mind, her independent ways but in the beginning I was a little concerned with her reservations when it comes to Patrick. But as the story develops, I also got glimpses of her layers, including her anxieties and fears and then I start understanding where she was coming from and I totally sympathized with her as well.

When I first read through the conflict, my first reaction was that it seemed kind of shallow. But then I realized, I’m the shallow one because the conflict eventually made sense to me. It was valid, completely believable, and as understanding dawned on me, it was a really tough conflict to overcome. And this conflict was the one about their having the relationship amid their boss and intern statuses. When they talked about everything that’s put on the line should their relationship come to light, then I started to sympathize with them, especially Andy, who has done so much work and effort to establish herself in an otherwise male-dominated career.

It was also great getting to know the other Walsh siblings more and the endearing and yet powerful bonds they obviously have with each other. We’ve learned a few about them in book 1 and we learned more about them and their family history in this book. I’m really excited for the rest of the siblings to have their own stories.

 

What did not work for me?

I was just a little disappointed in one of the conflicts that arise towards the end of the story. I just felt it was a little removed from the rest of the story and didn’t feel altogether organic with the rest. I can still picture that it might happen given their circumstances and their past but I wasn’t 100% into it as a way of establishing the two are meant for each other. Nevertheless, the rest of the book was great that in the end, I do believe that they’re still both meant to be with each other.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was another great installment in the Walshes series. Patrick was an amazing and swoon-worthy hero and Andy has a spine and courage as thick as steel; my kind of heroine as well. My favorite thing about this book is just that palpable, all-consuming tension that worked really great with the rest of the story. Kate Canterbary is fast becoming an author to watch out for me. I can’t wait to read more from her. Who’s the next Walsh sibling to get his or her own book? I’m rooting for Shannon. Please?

 

My rating:

 4-5 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

Kate doesn’t have it all figured out, but this is what she knows for sure: spicy-ass salsa and tequila solve most problems, living on the ocean–Pacific or Atlantic–is the closest place to perfection, and writing smart, smutty stories is a better than any amount of chocolate. She started out reporting for an indie arts and entertainment newspaper back when people still read newspapers, and she has been writing and surreptitiously interviewing people—be careful sitting down next to her on an airplane—ever since. Kate lives on the water in Rhode Island with Mr. Canterbary and the Little Baby Canterbary, and when she isn’t writing sexy architects, she’s scheduling her days around the region’s best food trucks.

Connect with Kate Canterbary:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

Other books by Kate Canterbary on the blog:

Underneath It All (The Walshes #1)

 

3 thoughts on “Review: THE SPACE BETWEEN by Kate Canterbary”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

