Review: LEO MADDOX by Sarah Darlington

 

LeoMaddox_FrontCover_WebTitle: Leo Maddox
Author: Sarah Darlington
Publishing Date: November 25, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Source: eARC from author
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | Amazon UK | Kobo

The one. The only. Leo Maddox.

Leo’s cocky. He’s mean. He’s gorgeous. He’s never learned the meaning of the word no. He’s the twenty-one-year-old, billionaire grandson of a hotel mogul. He has vacation homes he’s never been to and cars he doesn’t drive. Women. Fashion. Alcohol. There’s nothing he can’t get. Well…almost nothing.

He can’t have her. The girl he loves. The girl he’s loved his entire life. She hates him. Until one morning when Leo wakes up and decides enough is enough. He’s going to get the only girl he’s ever wanted. So what if she has a new boyfriend. So what if she loathes his very existence. Clara belongs with him and he’s going to prove it to her by winning her heart.

*This New Adult Romance is told entirely from Leo Maddox’s POV. It can be read before, after, or in place of Sarah Darlington’s stand alone novel He Belongs With Me. Recommended for readers 18+ due to strong language and sexy scenes.

add-to-goodreads-button

 

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

This book is like an alternative version of He Belongs With Me by the same author, in which we get the story from Leo Maddox’s POV. Leo Maddox completely charmed me in that book so I knew I had to read this one as well and have the chance to get inside his head.

 

What worked for me?

It WAS great being inside Leo Maddox’s head. He charmed my wits out of me in He Belongs With Me but I fell in love with him even more in this book. There’s just something completely endearing about a man who has struggled with his secret and seemingly unrequited love who finally decides to go after the one person who will make him the happiest he’ll ever be.

I love how we get to see his extreme vulnerability when it comes to Clara and the magnitude of the feelings he has for her. How adorable that he calls her ‘killer’? Okay, that sounded way better in my head and if you read the whole story, you know that his sort of pet name/nickname for Clara is the opposite of creepy since he meant it like Clara is the one person who always brings him to his knees.

To be honest, Clara is my favorite twin (sorry, Maggie) and I was totally shipping her and Leo. These two have that enemies to lovers type of story down to an art made all the more poignant by their shared history and what they have meant to each other since they were kids that have made such an impact on their lives. They’re different people but they are similar in many ways too: like the facade they’re always putting up in front of people, their fear of being abandoned or rejected, doubting themselves at times, but most of all having feelings far stronger than they would ever know for each other. It was such a fulfilling read to watch them come together and be brave and throw that proverbial dice in the air and bet everything they have for their happiness.

 

What did not work for me?

Some of my misgivings about He Belongs With Me were not here since this is purely from Leo’s POV so minus all the Maggie drama (sorry again, Maggie), everything was just great. There was that little bit in the end where I felt more explanations would have been warranted so that I would have understood a character’s actions better but other than that as I’ve said, everything was just great.

 

My over-all take on it?

To be honest, I love this version a lot more than I did He Belongs With Me. I can’t get away from the comparison. But don’t get me wrong. That book was a great read as well. Color me biased. Okay, I’ll admit that I’m completely biased. But can you blame me? It’s effing Leo Maddox’s voice telling the story, of how he’s forever been in love with this girl and now he’s pulling all the stops to make a future with her happen. If that doesn’t pull you in, I don’t know what else can.

 

My rating:

 5 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

sarah darlingtonSarah Darlington lives in Virginia with her husband and amazing two-year-old son. She’s a former flight attendant, navy brat, constant day-dreamer, wannabe photographer, and an avid scrapbooker. She loves to travel and is working on visiting all 50 states.

Connect with Sarah Darlington:

Website Facebook  |  TwitterGoodreads | Instagram

 

More Sarah Darlington books on the blog:

He Belongs With Me
Kill Devil Hills

 

Have you read any of Sarah Darlington’s books? Do you think you’d want to know more about Leo Maddox with that blurb and review above?

3 thoughts on “Review: LEO MADDOX by Sarah Darlington”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

