Review: MAI TAI’D UP by Alice Clayton

 

mai tai'd upTitle: Mai Tai’d Up (Cocktail #4)
Author: Alice Clayton
Release Date: December 2, 2014 (from Gallery Books)
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Source: eARC via publisher
Buy Links:  B & N | iTunes | Amazon | BAM

Looking for the perfect mix of smart, sexy, and sassy? Mai Tai’d Up continues New York Times bestselling author Alice Clayton’s Cocktail series, which began with Wallbanger and continued with Rusty Nailed and Screwdrivered.

The gossip mill in the seaside community of Monterey is churning about Chloe Patterson, the newcomer who is starting a sanctuary for rescued pit bulls. It’s rumored that she’s a former beauty queen (true) who ditched her fiancé the morning of their wedding (also true). And that while she’s not looking for a new man, the good-looking local veterinarian has his eye on her. Absolutely, positively true.

When Lucas Campbell isn’t at the family veterinary clinic, he’s paddle boarding in Monterey Bay. Recently single, he’s definitely not in the market for a new relationship, but he still can’t resist taking a second, third, and fourth look at the recent arrival of Miss Golden State.

Neither Lucas nor Chloe has any interest in being tied down. Being tied up, however—now there’s a thought. But are a few Mai Tais, a moonlit night, and the music of Frank Sinatra enough to allow them both to forget their past? Let’s hope Ol’ Blue Eyes knows what he’s doing.

Mix one part tiki, one part kinky, and a splash of old black magic matchmaking, and it’s time to be . . . Mai Tai’d Up.
 add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

Wallbanger was a hoot to read and while I haven’t read the next two books in the series yet, I found that this fourth book has really been calling out to me. I was instantly drawn to Chloe and Lucas from that book blurb above. Suffice it to say, I read this in one sitting.

 

What worked for me?

I was pleasantly surprised with how the story started. I had expected it to start with Chloe already in the small town of Monterey but it actually started way before her supposed wedding day and I’m glad it did because I got to know Chloe in that phase of her life. I instantly felt for her when she was having all these doubts and questions for herself and what she has been doing with her life. I could only imagine what she has been going through being leveled with expectations of perfections in all aspects of her life day in and day out and feeling caged and trapped in what other people would see as the perfect and easy life.

I really enjoyed watching Chloe come into her own and discover herself in the process. I pump my fist with her in victory when she learns to stand up for herself, follow what her heart tells her, and just be happy, relaxed, and content with her existence with zero need to always put on the perfect smile, the perfect expressions, the perfect actions. And I loved that she found her true calling doing what she’s so passionate about: doing therapy for mistreated bulldogs.

Lucas was a great complement to Chloe’s character. He lets her be herself without being aware of it at all. He has the charm, the wit, and the good heart that’s great to witness especially when he’s putting it all out when it comes to Chloe. I absolutely adored that first meeting. There’s a meet-cute if you ever see one. I love the tentative romance in the beginning followed by the let’s-not-define-whatever-this-thing-is-between-us phase.

 

What did not work for me?

I only have two minor issues that I felt would have been better dealt with: the first is how Chloe ended her engagement. I understood her need to not go through with something as life-altering as a wedding and her even stronger desire to run away from her current life. I just had an issue with how she did it, like she just shut down everyone and up and left with no explanations, leaving her parents to explain to everyone about her decision. It seems a bit immature-ish for me and a slightly selfish act on her part. The second this is about Chloe withholding information from Lucas that made him second guess Chloe’s true intentions. I wasn’t completely sold on it although I did learn to accept it as part of the story.

 

My over-all take on it?

Over all, this was a really fun and enjoyable read. It had its emotional moments and for me the ones that touched me the most apart from the romance was the one with Chloe’s parents and the ones where Chloe discovers something more about herself. But the trademark Alice Clayton wit is still stamped on this book and I loved it.

 

My rating:

4 stars

 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

aliceclayton_picALICE CLAYTON worked in the cosmetics industry for over a decade before picking up a pen (read laptop).

She enjoys gardening but not weeding, baking but not cleaning up, and finally convinced her long-time boyfriend to marry her.

Connect with Alice Clayton:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: MAI TAI’D UP by Alice Clayton”

  1. I adore Wallbanger so much, but I have yet to read the other books in this series. I definitely plan to! I’m a little nervous I won’t like them as much as Wallbanger, though. :/

    Lovely review. Glad this worked for you for the most part!

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

