Review: TOP TEN CLUES YOU’RE CLUELESS by Liz Czukas

 

top ten clues you're cluelessTitle: Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless
Author: Liz Czukas
Release Date: December 9, 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: eARC via Edelweiss
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Powell’s | Book Depository | Books-a-Million | Indiebound

Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe’s Day

5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market

4) Crashing a cart into a customer’s car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi

3) Trying to rock the “drowned rat” look after being caught in a snowstorm

2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson (see #3)

1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees—of stealing upwards of $10,000

Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail (aka the break room) with five of her coworkers . . . even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe’s list of Top Ten Best Moments.

 add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

When I first read the blurb of this book, I was drawn, first and foremost, to the list. I love lists and I love stories that somehow revolve or involve lists. Also, this seemed like the kind of book that promises good vibes all around.

 

What worked for me?

I breezed through the book in just two sittings. It was so entertaining to read that I lost track of time and by the time I was nearing the end, I couldn’t believe that I was almost finished with the book.

I love the quirky band of characters that we meet in this book. Some could call them cliches, but at some time, in one way or another, aren’t we all. I think the important thing to take from this is that each character had his or her unique qualities that it was so enjoyable watching them interact among each other. I actually really like them all, although I have partiality towards Gabe.

And I absolutely adore Chloe. I really liked being inside her head throughout the book. The lists she writes and the ones she makes in her head were so much fun. I can totally relate to her character and I guess that a major reason of why I connect to her so much. There were a lot of things that seemed like she took them right out of my mouth or right off my brain. A little surreal but so much fun!

I agree with an early review that more than a romance, this book was really about forming friendships and establishing connections with other people. There’s only so much you can glean from first impressions and appearances and it’s always great when you realize that there’s more to a person than meets the eye. If you’d only take the time to get to know them, you’ll be surprised about what you’ll learn, not just about them but about yourself as well.

 

What did not work for me?

There were these two slight plot points towards the end of the book that I thought would have been better if handled differently and although they dimmed my enjoyment a bit, I still found the book to be overall adorable.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was such a fun and light read with characters that you will definitely want to meet and get to know more of, even want spend Christmas Eve with. I really enjoyed reading it especially the parts that really made me snort and laugh out loud.

 

My rating:

4 stars

 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

liz czukasLiz Czukas is a freelance writer (on sometimes sad or boring topics), and also writes books for young adults (which are rarely sad and full of kissing).  Before that, she was a nurse and she still kind of misses starting IVs.

She lives outside Milwaukee, WI with her husband, son and the world’s loudest cat.  She types too loud (according to her husband), spends too much time on the Internet, and can’t get enough of disaster movies.  There is *always* a song stuck in her head, and she once won a hula-hoop contest.

If you are interested in honing your stalking skills (from a distance, please) Liz welcomes you to practice on Facebook,Tumblr, Instagram, or better yet, Twitter where she likes to hang out and talk about TV, writing, Harrison Ford, her kid, and all of the idiotic things she does to injure herself on a routine basis.

Liz is also the real person behind the New Adult novelist Ellie Cahill, who also writes books full of kissing (and more!).  Ellie has remarkably similar interests to Liz.

Connect with Liz Czukas:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumbler

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: TOP TEN CLUES YOU’RE CLUELESS by Liz Czukas”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

