Review & Giveaway: RAZED by Shiloh Walker

RAZED BT Banner

 

razedTitle: Razed (Barnes Brothers #2)
Author: Shiloh Walker
Release Date: December 2, 2014 (from Berkley)
Genre: Contemporary, romance
Source: eARC from publisher via InkSlinger PR
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo | IndieBound

Tattoo artist Keelie Jessup can handle that someone else has claimed the man of her dreams. She’s just not pleased with her remaining options…

Keelie doesn’t believe in the “perfect man.” But the men who are worth the trouble are usually taken—like her business partner Zach Barnes. After a string of bad luck and the lost chance with Zach, Keelie decides that maybe flying solo—and living with suppressed desires—is the key to happiness.

As a photographer, Zane Barnes has an eye for the human form, and his eyes can’t get enough of Keelie’s curves. Unfortunately, Keelie is like most women—always fawning over his little brother, Zach. Zane is about ready to give up, but then a few stolen moments at his brother’s wedding have him thinking maybe there’s a chance there after all. Now he just has to prove that the perfect man does exist…for her.
 add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I admit that what hooked me in the beginning was that book cover. I love it. I’ve only read Shiloh Walker once before and I wanted to try more of her books and this was perfect for me to try because not only am I in love with the cover, that book blurb also had me interested.

 

What worked for me?

The thing that I discovered about Shiloh Walker, reading this book, is that she’s great with characterizations. I’ll admit that there is still room for more improvement but what I can say about Zane and Keelie, and the same goes for the other secondary characters, is that they feel real to me. I love the multiple first-person POVs and I love getting inside each character’s head.

I was also in love with the tension that Shiloh Walker created between Zane and Keelie. And I love how the romance unfolded. If you’ve read my other reviews, you know I enjoy well-written slow-burn romances and Zane and Keelie’s has been a long time coming. But it was all so beautifully written that it was so satisfying when they do finally get together. Granted, it wasn’t all rainbows since both of them have something in their pasts that are holding them back from making a burden-free future, but it was still great to watch them grow into the kind of people they’ve always wanted to become.

Zane was such a sweetheart. I dare you not to swoon every time he thinks about Keelie and his feelings for her. I love his character trajectory, maybe because I can relate to him in some way. He’s been living his life like it’s on hold, not going fully forward. He’d been waiting to get his photography career and business off the ground. He’d been pining for Keelie for years. This sort of limbo he’s in is something I can completely imagine and that makes Zane’s character that much easier to relate to. And when he finally makes that leap, he goes all in. He isn’t the sort to be indecisive and it was just so attractive watching him get his life up and running, so to speak. Once he made the decision, he’s all in. Wouldn’t you find that sexy as hell too?

Now Keelie is a touch chick to crack. There were times when I understood her completely and other times when some of her actions would leave me scratching my head. But I do know that she was hiding something in her past and I admit I was a little unnerved by what went down when she was young that made her all skittish and somebody who’s trying to outrun something from the past. But all throughout, even in those times when I question if, as a reader, I was really getting to know her, or if Zane actually knew her, I still felt for her. Her emotions were palpable: her fears, her hesitancy, her being closed off sometimes. I didn’t know exactly why she was feeling that way but I could accept that she felt that way and understood, in a way, that she must have gone through a lot to warrant being able to feel those things. And in the end, I admire her for her courage.

 

What did not work for me?

My only misgiving about the whole book was the disconnect between the first 3/4 of the book and the last quarter. I’m not sure if it had to do with Keelie’s past coming into focus or if it’s just that it took a while for me to read the rest of the book that I lost the momentum of that first 3/4 of the book and that’s why I feel such a disconnect. So in the end, this may just be my personal thing.

 

My over-all take on it?

I definitely fell in love with Zane and Keelie. The sexual chemistry and tension between them were undeniable. And I loved how we got to know them better as a couple and as individuals. They both had pasts that they’ve struggled with most of their adult life and while it took a bit from the romance, it was a good vehicle for character development so I was okay with that. In the end, I was satisfied with their journey and their HEA. I can’t wait to read the stories of the rest of the Barnes brothers.

 

My rating:

4 stars 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the Author:

Shiloh WalkerShiloh Walker is an award-winning writer…yes, really! She’s also a mom, a wife, a reader and she pretends to be an amateur photographer. She published her first book in 2003. Her newest series, Secrets and Shadows, launched in April 2014. Look for the newest book Deeper than Need, to be followed by Sweeter than Sin and Darker than Desire.

She writes romantic suspense, contemporary and paranormal romance, and urban fantasy under the name J.C. Daniels.

Connect with Shiloh Walker:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter Sign-up | Pinterest

 

 Giveaway:

Amazon or Barnes & Noble Gift Card + a signed copy of WRECKED from author Shiloh Walker!

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway: RAZED by Shiloh Walker”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

