Review: DEAREST CLEMENTINE by Lex Martin

dearest clementineTitle: Dearest Clementine (Dearest #1)
Author: Lex Martin
Release Date: May 25, 2014
Source: eBook bought
Buy Links: Amazon | B & NKobo

Twenty-year-old Clementine Avery doesn’t mind being called bitchy and closed off. It’s safe, and after being burned by her high school sweetheart and stalked by a professor her freshman year of college, safe sounds pretty damn good.

Her number one rule for survival? No dating. That is until she accidentally signs up for a romance writing class and needs material for her latest assignment. Sexy RA Gavin Murphy is more than happy to play the part of book boyfriend to help Clem find some inspiration, even if that means making out…in the name of research, of course.

As Gavin and Clem grow closer, they get entangled in the mystery surrounding a missing Boston University student, and Clem unwittingly becomes a possible target. Gavin tries to show Clem she can handle falling in love again, but she knows she has to be careful because her heart’s at stake…and maybe even her life.

DEAREST CLEMENTINE is a stand-alone novel with two companion novels. This New Adult romance is recommended for readers 18+ due to mature content.
 add-to-goodreads-button

My Review:

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I was so interested to learn what makes Clementine tick. She sounded so fierce in the blurb that it kept me wondering how on earth Gavin was going to get past through her defenses.

 

What worked for me?

Clementine is a really unique character. She’ll be the first one to admit that she’s a little bitchy and she will never let you in unless you’re her best friends and even then you might not know everything about her completely. She’s been burned by an ex-boyfriend and a stalker professor and she’s put up walls so high, it’ll take a very patient and determined to scale those walls. But that’s what makes her so easy to relate to, despite her prickly disposition. But when she slowly opens up, you see her softer and vulnerable side and realize at the same time how strong she has been, how strong she still is as a person.

Gavin, on the other hand, was such a dream. I can totally tell his tactics for getting close to Clementine and I love how he stays determined to scale those walls. I love how he seems to understand her needs and learns when to give her her space and when to push. He isn’t perfect but you can really tell how much emotions he has developed for Clementine.

I love the pacing of Lex Martin’s writing as well as her characterizations, from the main OTP to the supporting characters who I had hoped (and yay! it came true) would have their own stories.

 

What did not work for me?

Nothing really as this was a great and entertaining read from a new-to-me author.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was a wonderful debut from author Lex Martin. I loved the pacing of the story and the way the romance unfolded. Clementine’s character was the selling point for me for this book. I loved her voice and her imperfections and her prickly sometimes slightly bitchy exterior and yet soft and vulnerable inner self. Pick this one up and you just might find yourself with a keeper.

 

My rating:

4 stars

 

About the Author:

I write new adult novels, the sexy kind with lotsa angst, a whole lotta kissing, and the hot happily ever afters. When I’m not writing, I live a parallel life as an English teacher. I love printing black and white photos, listening to music on vinyl, and getting lost in a great book. Bitten by wanderlust, I’ve lived all over the country but currently reside in the City of Angels with my husband and twin daughters.

Connect with Lex Martin:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter |  Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Review: DEAREST CLEMENTINE by Lex Martin”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

