Top Ten of 2014: Best Book Boyfriends of 2014

top ten of 2014

Top Ten of 2014: A Week of Looking Back is a year-end meme hosted by Jamie @ Two Chicks On Books, Rachel @ Fiktshun, Mindy @ Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, and Nancy @ Tales of a Ravenous Reader

It’s Day 4 and I’m counting down my top ten Best Book Boyfriends of 2014. This list includes characters from books I’ve read this year and were published this year.

There were so many to choose from that I can definitely say that 2014 has been a great year for falling in love with fictional characters. lol 🙂

 

Patrick

chocolate temptationfrom The Chocolate Temptation by Laura Florand: Passionate, sexy, and so emotionally reachable. (My review)

“I should never have recommended you for this job,” Patrick said. “But… you did deserve it. And I had only met you for the length of one workshop, when I was pretty busy helping all kinds of students besides just you. I knew I was attracted to you, but I had no idea what working in close quarters with you was going to be like.”

“What has it been like?” she asked, puzzled.

A rough laugh. “You can’t even imagine it. You can pull into yourself and shut me out, and I can’t do that, Sarah. You drive me crazy every single second of every day.”

 

Edward

the suffragate scandalfrom The Suffragette Scandal by Courtney Milan: honorable, loyal, and gosh, how he loved Free and her mind. (My review)

“Everything about you matters to me.” He leaned in. “It shouldn’t. I keep telling myself it shouldn’t, that it’s only the lust talking. But every time we talk, you turn my world upside down.”

 

 

Warner

ignite mefrom the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi: his belief and devotion to Juliette and the way his anti-hero character just unraveled throughout the series. (My review of Ignite Me)

“Everything looks so different to me now,” he says. “It feels different. It tastes different. You brought me back to life.” He’s quiet a moment. “I have never known this kind of peace. Never known this kind of comfort. And sometimes I am afraid,” he says, dropping his eyes, “that my love will terrify you.”

 

Arin

the winner's cursefrom The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski: I hurt for both him and Kestrel. Marie, please give these two a fighting chance. (My review)

“You don’t, Kestrel, even though the god of lies loves you.”

 

It took some time before Arin realized he was humming a dark tune. For once, he didn’t stop himself. The pressure of song was too strong, the need for distraction too great. Then he found that the music caged behind his closed teeth was the melody Kestrel had played for him months ago. He felt the sensation of it, low and alive, on his mouth.

For a moment, he imagined it wasn’t the melody that touched his lips, but Kestrel.

The thought stopped his breath, and the music, too.

 

Leo

leo maddoxfrom Leo Maddox by Sarah Darlington: He’s been carrying a torch for Clara since they were kids and when he finally decides to go after what he’s always wanted, gosh it was a treat reading about it unravel. (My review)

And since I’m confessing everything right now, I need you to know that I lied when I said don’t expect me to always chase after you when you pull this kind of bullshit. I’d chase you a million times and then a million more.

So, I’m coming to find you and when I do, I’m bringing you home. I knew what I wanted when I was six and that hasn’t changed…it never will either. Don’t even try to argue with me about this one because you’ll lose. I love you.

 

Brent

asking for troublefrom Asking for Trouble by Tessa Bailey: this enemy turned lover is extremely sexy and it was great watching Hayden discover every facet of his character. (My review)

She pressed her face against his strong neck. “I’m sorry. I’m sorry. I didn’t think I had a choice.”

“You did. You made the right one.” He pulled back to kiss her forehead, her cheeks. “The two of us can figure this out. I won’t let you be sorry for choosing me.”

 

David

rock courtship coverfrom Rock Courtship by Nalini Sing:  His steadfastness to Thea and to his feelings was just so sexy to witness (My review)

“Then I saw you… Baby, when we’re alone, ask me how long I’d been a monk even before the day I asked you out. No one else would do. Only you.”

 

 

Carson

cora-carmacks-all-lined-upfrom All Lined Up by Cora Carmack: An all-around good and decent, sexy man. What’s not to love? (My review)

“You’re the only thing that makes me feel better when I’m tired or frustrated. You’re the thing that quiets all my worries and doubts and fears. You’re it for me. So run if you’d like, but I’ll follow. You can try to hold me at arm’s length, but I’ll never stop trying to pull you close. Be scared if you must, but you’re not going to lose me.”

 

Connor

the duality principlefrom The Duality Principle by Rebecca Grace Allen: The prime example of a hero who can be both a good man and bad guy (in a good way). (My review)

His stare was so intense it took her breath away.”What?” she asked.

“You can be more than one thing too, you know.”

Gabriella’s chest started to constrict, all her old ghosts coming forward to haunt her mind, her worries about herself, her life, her thesis, but what he said next chased them all away.

“Those things you said in your email? About having to be one way for everyone else? That’s bullshit. You’re amazing just how you are. You can be the mathematician and the hiker, the brilliant M.I.T. student and the girl I fuck on dining room tables.”

 

Rafel

satisfactionfrom Satisfaction by Sarah Mayberry: A man who can give you all the ‘O’s you need plus his incredibly amazing heart. (My review)

“I think about your laugh about a hundred times a day. I think about the way you blush. I think about your smile. I think about the way you make me feel.””Which is?”

“Impatient. Greedy. Possessive. Proud. Protective.”

 

Honorable Mentions:

one night of scandal rites of passage razed the hook up

Cover_MADEFORYOU

Reed – One Night of Scandal by Elle Kennedy
Drill – Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
Zane – Razed by Shiloh Walker
Drew – The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan
Will – Made for You by Lauren Layne

 

 

There you go, my top 10 best book boyfriends of 2014. I think I’ve swooned a few times completing this list. Are you loving these amazing guys as much as I do? Who are your book boyfriends of the year?

 

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten of 2014: Best Book Boyfriends of 2014”

  1. The only one I have read is The Chocolate Temptation. I love all of Laura’s heroes! I have All Lined Up, Satisfaction and Razed on my TBR stack. I am particularly looking forward to Zane’s story. Loved him as a secondary character in Wrecked!

    Like

  2. Warner and Arin are the only two I know, but they are great picks! I’m really hoping things work out for Arin and Kestrel in the next book!

    Like

  3. I loved David ❤ His devotion to Thea…Jesus. Aren't we all looking for something like that? I also liked Connor and I've read Only With You so Grayson is on my list 🙂

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

