Review: SIX OF HEARTS by L.H. Cosway

six of heartsTitle: Six of Hearts
Author: L.H. Cosway
Release Date: July 26, 2014
Source: eBook bought
Genre/s: Contemporary, Romance
Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | Kobo | iTunes | Barnes & Noble

Step right up and meet Jay Fields: Illusionist. Mentalist. Trickster.

I think in triangles. You think in straight lines.

I show you a table and make you believe it’s a chair.

Smoke and mirrors, sleight of hand, misdirection. I trick and deceive.

But most of all, I put on a good show.

The world thinks I killed a man, but I didn’t. Bear with me. It’s all a part of the plan.

Revenge is what I want. I want it for me and I want it for her.
I want it for all six of us.

She doesn’t remember me, but she’s the reason for everything. She’ll be my prize at the end of all this – if I can hold onto my willpower, that is. Maybe I’ll slip up a little, have a taste, just a small one.

So go ahead and pick a card. Come inside and see the show. Look at my hands, look so closely that you can’t see what’s happening while you’re so focused on looking. I’ll be destroying your world from right here in the spotlight.

You’ll never see me coming until it’s too late.

I’ve only got one heart, and after I’ve pulled off my grand deception I’ll hand it right to her.

So, sit back, relax, and let my girl tell you our story. You’re in for one hell of a ride.
add-to-goodreads-button

My review 3

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I was intrigued with the main character being an illusionist. And that first-person book blurb just about hooked me, especially that second to the last line…

I’ve only got one heart, and after I’ve pulled off my grand deception I’ll hand it right to her.

 

What worked for me?

I love the not so mysterious but still interesting mystery. There were enough clues throughout the book that you get to solve the mystery about Jay’s past but still that need to learn the whole story and when it was revealed, your heart is just about ripped from your body, in pain for him. But at the same time, you can’t help but root for him so he can finally have his peace.

I also loved Jay and Matilda’s journey together. You have that chemistry that you feel since their first scene together. And at the same time, you can also feel that tentative sweetness of a quality in their budding friendship. I knew Jay has secrets and I liked that the book kept me guessing and speculating but amid all these, I knew that he had Matilda’s best interests at heart. Gosh, the reasons for the Six of Hearts blew me away. It’s heartbreaking and yet uplifting at the same time.

 

What did not work for me?

I wished for more backbone from Matilda. Don’t get me wrong, I love her in this book and she has her strengths but a little more would have made her an even more awesome heroine.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was a really memorable new-to-me author read. It made me curious about the other works of L.H. Cosway and I’ll definitely be checking out Painted Faces, which I’ve heard some good things about. Jay and Matilda will win your hearts in this story. Yes, they might make it bleed at times but it’s all worth it.

 

My rating:

4 stars

 

About the author

L.H. Cosway has a BA in English Literature and Greek and Roman Civilisation, and an MA in Postcolonial Literature. She lives in Dublin city. Her inspiration to write comes from music. Her favourite things in life include writing stories, vintage clothing, dark cabaret music, food, musical comedy, and of course, books.

She thinks that imperfect people are the most interesting kind. They tell the best stories.

Connect with L.H. Cosway:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter |  Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Review: SIX OF HEARTS by L.H. Cosway”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

