Let’s Talk About… Discussion Posts

COFFEE(1)

 

Woohoo! Welcome to my first ever discussion post here at Girl meets Books. I’ve wanted to do a discussion feature for a long time now. And while I struggled a bit with how to go about things in the past, I’m thinking there’s no better time to start this feature than now. And so join me in my first ever and let’s talk about… Discussion Posts!

Why Discussions Posts? And why now?

For a relatively newbie blogger like me–Girl meets Books just turned 1 last September 2014–, I dream of keeping my blog fresh, up-to-date, and hopefully entertaining. I started out doing tour posts and weekly memes, gradually easing in my reviews and other features such as listing of new releases monthly. But one feature that I have been dreaming of doing on the blog is doing a Discussion Post feature, like I’ve mentioned earlier. I wanted to write about different bookish things and share these thoughts and ideas with fellow readers and bloggers and yes, ultimately, have discussions about them.

The topics…

One of the reasons it took me a while to decide on doing this feature was because I wasn’t entirely sure what I wanted to talk about, which topics would be interesting for me and you both. I racked my brain for a long time before I came up with a preliminary list of the things that I’m interested in discussing with you guys. I’m slowly building on this list and while I can’t promise how often I can post for this feature, for the meantime, I plan to do it maybe twice a month.

Do you guys already do discussion posts on your blog? Or are you planning on doing them on your blog too?  Do you plan your topics or just write your post when an issue or subject matter strikes you?

At the risk of being repetitive…

Another of my reasons for not writing discussion posts sooner was that I really enjoyed reading about the discussion posts on other people’s blogs. You might ask what is the connection and my answer would be was that I felt back then that I wanted to talk about what they did on their blogs but I didn’t want to risk being repetitive. But I realized that even though we may talk about the same thing, each person always has something unique to say about that subject matter because he or she has her or his own personal experiences. And this is one of the hurdles that I’d like to think I’m overcoming. I’m learning to stop comparing myself to other people and just find joy in what I do and in what I write.

Do you sometimes feel like all your good ideas have already been done before? Or do you ever feel like you run the risk of being perceived as only repeating what has been said many times before?

Finally…

I think that doing discussion posts is a great way of further reaching out to your readers and followers. I’d like to think of this as an opportunity to get to know you guys a little better as well.

I’ve had a great time doing my first ever discussion post. If you do decide to post your own, drop me a line or a link to yours and let’s discuss! 🙂 If you need motivation, you can join the 2015 Book Blog Discussion Challenge hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight.

Thank you guys for reading my first discussion post!! Next time, let’s talk about…authors who branch out into new genres/who write in several genres. ^_^

10 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Discussion Posts”

  1. Good post. My blog is still kind of new (started it last November) so I am still trying to figure things out. I would like to do a discussion post at least once a week. Those do seem to get readers talking more than just the reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, girl, we have the same blog birthday. 😀
    I am reeeeeally shy about doing discussion posts. I’m not sure if I can think of new topics, and then writing them out really doesn’t appeal to me. :/ But I feel like my blog is lacking in creative posts, so I’m not sure what I’m gonna do at this point.
    ANYWAY. Can’t wait to see what discussions you come up with, and good luck with your new feature! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Danielle! I also have those concerns to think about and I really created a list first before I wrote this first discussion post. In that way, I kind of have a buffer of ideas and I have more time to think about new stuff to write about. 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

