Review: THE RAVEN BOYS by Maggie Stiefvater

 

the raven boysTitle: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: September 18, 2012
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Supernatural
Source: book bought
Buy Links: Amazon | B & NIndiebound

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

 add-to-goodreads-button

My review 3

Why did I want to read this book?

I’ve heard tons of lovely things about The Raven Cycle series and while I was a little afraid that this one will do a Throne of Glass number on me and turned out to be less than what I thought it would be, I still wanted to give it a try, hoping it would turn into something that I can really love.

 

What worked for me?

I love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing. There’s a lyrical quality to it. It’s also the kind of writing where you know each word, each sentence means something and it’s part of the grander scheme of things.

I really enjoyed getting to know Blue and her Raven Boys: Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah. Their relationships, and this is not necessarily romantic, which, even to the romance addict like myself, is perfectly fine with me, were just beginning; beginning to have layers, beginning to deepen. There was much to find out about each of them and even after this book ends, you know you have more to discover about them.

The touch of the fantastic, the supernatural, the fantasy, was there with the right amount to balance with the rest of the story. And while I am curious as to how the whole quest for the sleeping King Glendower will play out, I am definitely more invested on how the connections would unravel especially among the characters.

And even though I had a slightly hard time getting into the story after that amazing prologue, I adore the subsequent pacing of the plot and am now wondering what happened to me while reading the beginning. It probably is a case of ‘it’s not the book, it’s me’.

 

What did not work for me?

I didn’t find anything that didn’t work for me with this book.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was a very compelling start to a series. I now know what the fuss was all about with regard to Maggie Stiefvater’s writing as well as for her The Raven Cycle series and I’m definitely inclined to agree that it is a fuss well-deserved. There should be a band always playing praises to promote her books. On to The Dream Thieves!

 

My rating:

 4-5 stars

 

About the author

I am Maggie Stiefvater. I write books. Some are about dead Welsh kings. Some are about werewolf nookie. Some are about neither.

I have been a wedding musician, a technical editor, a portrait artist, and, for several fraught weeks, a waitress. I play several musical instruments (most infamously, the bagpipes), I still make art, and I recently acquired and unacquired a race car.

I live in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia with my husband, my two children, some cows, three dogs who fart recreationally, a criminally insane cat, an interminable number of miniature silky fainting goats, and one 1973 Camaro named Loki.

I like things that go.

Connect with Maggie Stiefvater:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Tumbler | Instagram

 

 

10 thoughts on “Review: THE RAVEN BOYS by Maggie Stiefvater”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

