Review: MURDER OF CROWS by Anne Bishop

 

murder of crowsTitle: Murder of Crows (The Others #2)
Author: Anne Bishop
Release Date: March 4, 2014 (from Roc)
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Source: eBook bought
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | Book Depository | Kobo

After winning the trust of the terra indigene residing in the Lakeside Courtyard, Meg Corbyn has had trouble figuring out what it means to live among them. As a human, Meg should be barely tolerated prey, but her abilities as a cassandra sangue make her something more.

The appearance of two addictive drugs has sparked violence between the humans and the Others, resulting in the murders of both species in nearby cities. So when Meg has a dream about blood and black feathers in the snow, Simon Wolfgard—Lakeside’s shape-shifting leader—wonders whether their blood prophet dreamed of a past attack or of a future threat.

As the urge to speak prophecies strikes Meg more frequently, trouble finds its way inside the Courtyard. Now the Others and the handful of humans residing there must work together to stop the man bent on reclaiming their blood prophet—and stop the danger that threatens to destroy them all.

 add-to-goodreads-button

My review 3

Why did I want to read this book?

It took a while before I got into the groove of Book 1 but by the end of it, I was so ready to read the sequel and spend tons of reading time with Meg and the Others.

 

What worked for me?

This is the book where I really fell in love with this world and these characters that Anne Bishop created. In book 1, I was curious as to where the story will lead to next but in this book, I was so invested with what happens with Meg and Simon and the rest of the characters. They’ve wormed their way into my gut and my heart.

I love how Meg is steadily finding her feet and her place in this world that she finds herself in. There’s always that shadow of the need to cut herself for her visions but she has grown stronger and wiser throughout this book. And I also love that she now has a lot of beings that she can call her friends and who will protect her no matter what.

The running mystery and action plot in the novel with regard to the 2 drugs that are targeted against the Others was also superbly done by Anne Bishop. I love the build-up and the clues. I love the interconnected web of all those beings at Lakeside. I love the plot twists and turns, that edge-of-your-seat pacing.

And last but not the least, Meg and Simon. Meg! And Simon! MEG and SIMON! lol 🙂 I wasn’t expecting much on the romance front since I did hear about how it’s a slow-burn one but colored me surprise when I did get more than I was hoping for so yay! It wasn’t much, especially if you compare it with other books, but it’s enough and really special, because of these two. Right from chapter 1, you guys, chapter 1.

 

What did not work for me?

Nothing. I’m so excited for Book 3!

 

My over-all take on it?

This was an awesome sequel to Written in Red. If you’d only liked the characters and the world in book 1, then surely like me you’ll fall in love with them in book 2. Everything was perfect, from the character and plot development, to the pacing, to the growing and deepening relationships, and to that ever developing story arcs. Vision in Silver, here I come.

 

My rating:

5 stars 

 

About the author

Anne Bishop lives in upstate New York where she enjoys gardening, music, and writing dark, romantic stories. She is the author of seventeen novels, including the award-winning Black Jewels Trilogy. Her most recent novel is Murder of Crows, the second book in Anne’s urban fantasy series set in a re-imagined Earth. She is currently working on the third book about the Others. Since you’re reading this, there’s no point in telling you to visit her website at www.annebishop.com.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: MURDER OF CROWS by Anne Bishop”

  1. I moved this series to my “next” shelf after reading your review, but where can I find the time to read all these books ?!!! Great review 😉
    And beautiful cat on Instagram, he looks a lot like my Triskell.

    Like

  2. Great review, girl! I’m right there with you. This was the book that sold me on the series. I already loved Simon, but everything else got so much better for me. Excited to read Vision in Silver this month.

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

