Review: KISS OF SNOW by Nalini Singh

 

kiss of snowTitle: Kiss of Snow (Psy-Changeling #10)
Author: Nalini Singh
Release Date: May 31, 2011
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Source: bought physical copy
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | BookDepo | Indigo | IndieBound | Chapters

Since the moment of her defection from the PsyNet and into the SnowDancer wolf pack, Sienna Lauren has had one weakness. Hawke. Alpha and dangerous, he compels her to madness.

Hawke is used to walking alone, having lost the woman who would’ve been his mate long ago. But Sienna fascinates the primal heart of him, even as he tells himself she is far too young to handle the wild fury of the wolf.

Then Sienna changes the rules and suddenly, there is no more distance, only the most intimate of battles between two people who were never meant to meet. Yet as they strip away each other’s secrets in a storm of raw emotion, they must also ready themselves for a far more vicious fight…

A deadly enemy is out to destroy SnowDancer, striking at everything they hold dear, but it is Sienna’s darkest secret that may yet savage the pack that is her home…and the alpha who is its heartbeat…

 add-to-goodreads-button

My review 3

Why did I want to read this book?

Because it’s Hawke and Sienna! Finally! I’ve watched these two danced around each other within the span of several books in the series and while I don’t begrudge them those time, especially with Sienna who first needed to mature a bit more, I was so excited to get to their book.

 

What worked for me?

When Nalini Singh makes you wait for a pairing, she knows how to reward you for your patience. Hawke and Sienna’s story was lovely as it was deadly: lovely in a poignant and yet raw and powerful way and deadly in a high-stakes turn of events with the series story arc.

We finally get more back story for Hawke, who has mesmerized me since his appearance in book 1, as well as for Sienna and an in-depth look and understanding to her rare sub-designation X. We get to witness first-hand their interactions, full of tension of all kinds and longing, just lots and lots of agonized longing. These poor two. As always with Nalini Singh’s books in the series, there’s no short supply of FEELS. And when they finally do get together, it’s as hot as the X fire and full of relief and anticipation still when you get to say, finally and at last. Need I still mention about the age-gap between this two? Because not once did I think it an issue for their story. Yes, Hawke may have thought about it before Sienna turned eighteen and I appreciated that about him. Some readers have faulted Sienna for being a little childish still but I think, as explained by Judd and Warner in the book, Sienna hasn’t been a child since she became useful as a weapon to Councilor LeBon. I actually think that for her age, she’s particularly mature in the way she thinks, in the way she cares, in the way she loves.

And as this is book 10 in the series, we really get to see the wheels turning in the series story arc front. More and more characters come into play and Nalini Singh just masterfully weaves everything into place, answering questions readers might have had in previous books but at the same time creating new ones that would leave readers wanting to know the answers but we all know the answers can only be found in the succeeding novels. But no worries for me. More Nalini Singh is always good in my book.

 

What did not work for me?

My only misgiving about the book was the little excess when it came to the push and pull between Hawke and Sienna. I wish there was less or at least variations to this effect so that it wasn’t as monotonous on that front as I’ve come to discover. But nevertheless, this is still a 5-star rated book for me.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was another wonderfully crafted addition to the Psy-Changeling series. Those who have been waiting for Hawke’s story will not be disappointed. I know I wasn’t. Hawke and Sienna are combustible together; as a pair they’re truly a force to be reckoned with. And their story is one I’ll be happy to re-read many times over.

 

My rating:

 5 stars

 

 

About the author

nalini bioI’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated frequently).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

Connect with Nalini Singh:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

 More Nalini Singh on the blog:

Rock Addiction (Rock Kiss #1)
Rock Courtship (Rock Kiss #1.5)
Archangel’s Kiss (Guild Hunter #2)
Hostage to Pleasure (Psy-Changeling #5)
Shield of Winter (Psy-Changeling #13)

4 thoughts on “Review: KISS OF SNOW by Nalini Singh”

  1. Loved this book as well…one of my favorites of the series. I thought the whole X-Psy thing was really intriguing. And Hawke is one sexy wolf. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

