Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: GARRETT by Sawyer Bennett

 

Garrett_BennettTitle: Garrett (Cold Fury Hockey #2)
Author: Sawyer Bennett
Publishing Date: February 17, 2015 (Loveswept)
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

USA Today bestselling author Sawyer Bennett hits the ice with the story of a playboy athlete whose winning ways lead him to a beautiful woman with a lot to lose.

Carolina Cold Fury star Garrett Samuelson never wants to miss out on a single minute of fun. Whether he’s playing hockey, hanging out with friends, or walking the red carpet with a new date on his arm, he lives every day to the fullest. When he meets Olivia Case, he sees someone who’s exactly his type—confident, sexy, smart . . . his next fling. But the more he pursues her, the more Garrett shares a side of himself that other women don’t normally get to see.

Olivia has been keeping a secret. While Garrett lives for the next thrill, Olivia’s not sure she’ll live to see the next day. She’s undergoing treatment for some serious medical issues, and she doesn’t have time for a relationship with no guarantees—especially one with a hot-as-sin womanizer who won’t take no for an answer. But as she gets to know the real Garrett, Olivia can’t help falling for him . . . hard. To reveal the truth would mean risking everything—but you can’t score without taking the tough shots.

add-to-goodreads-button
 Follow the Tour HERE.

 

Author Interview

Welcome to Girl meets Books, Saywer. Thank you so much for dropping by to spend some time with us today.

 

‪So, Garrett comes out on the 17th and it’s the second book in your Cold Fury Hockey series. Alex was awesome, by the way. But now we’re dying to know more about Garrett. Can you share some Garrett secrets with us ^_^ or if not just bits of trivia about him?

Here’s a good secret… in the book, Garrett and Alex have a pretty big falling out with each other. The question is… can their friendship survive?

 

 

I’m always curious about how writers come up with their characters. Did you know you were going to write Garrett’s story when you started this series? And how did Olivia’s character come about? Did you already know she was going to be the one for Garrett’s story or she just blew her way into your mind and practically wrote herself into your story?

Excellent question. Garrett was definitely someone I knew I’d write about. How can you not have a relationship averse playboy on the hockey team? But Olivia was a surprise to me. I had a general idea of her story, but it really took one some wings of its own when I started writing it. I realized pretty early on that Garrett’s fall for Olivia couldn’t be easy. It had to be a struggle for him, but not for the reasons you think.

 

 

I really enjoy reading sports romances. We know you enjoy writing them but do you enjoy reading them as well? Which ones are your favorites at the moment?

You know, I haven’t read many sports romances. I write about them because I love sports myself, especially football and hockey, but I do love Brenda Rothert’s Fire on Ice series.

 

 

I’m so horrible with character descriptions that even if you give me a detailed description, I still have a hard time picturing a person inside my head. In case of your characters, do you get this clear picture of them in your head before you write them down? And if this book should ever be made into a film, do you have your dream cast for Garrett and Olivia?

The first thing I ever do before starting a manuscript is to find a picture of who I believe the hero and heroine will look like. And then I base my physical description on those pictures. For Garrett, here is who I visualized as Garrett and Olivia.

garrett

olivia

 

 

Can you share with us your favorite moments writing this book? Or maybe a favorite line or passage to help tide us over until the release date? You probably know how very greedy we are when it comes to quotes and excerpts. We just want more and more. lol 🙂

Well, how about this little excerpt between Alex and Garrett, because as much as this is a love story between Garrett and Olivia, their bromance plays a big part:

 

As I step onto the concrete flooring, I glance back over my shoulder at Alex. “Seriously… why doesn’t Sutton want me to go out with Olivia? Am I not good enough for her?”

Alex pokes me hard in the back with his stick causing me to stumble forward a foot. “You know Sutton adores you. She’s just protective of her cousin, that’s all.”

“It’s not like I’m going to corrupt her innocence,” I grumble as I reach the locker room. “It’s just a date, for fuck’s sake.”

Alex snorts as he follows me in. “Seriously? A date? Is that what you’re calling it these days?”

“Yes, a date, douchebag. It’s not like I haven’t ever gone on a date before.”

“Yeah, but you’re idea of the perfect date ends up with you in the sack busting a nut.”

“So what,” I mutter. “Who wouldn’t want to end a date like that? In fact, tell me you didn’t want your first date with Sutton to end that way.”

Alex’s face flushes guilty red and I smirk knowingly at him. I don’t give him a chance to deny it and hit him hard. “Besides… I’ve gone out on plenty of dates that don’t end up with the chick in my bed, and if Olivia just wants to go out for a nice time, then I’m all for that. I don’t have any expectations one way or the other.”

I have hopes, but no expectations.

 

Thank you so much for spending time here at Girl meets Books, Sawyer.

 

 

Excerpt

I take a sip of beer and then lower my cup, giving her my most devilish, charming smile. “A playboy, huh? So what exactly have you heard about me? I need to be able to set the record straight with you.”

She circles one finger over the rim of her wineglass as she drops her eyes from mine. “Oh, you know. Just that you never go out with the same woman more than once. That you’re a player.”

I snort, not because that’s untrue.

It’s so true . . . almost. “I’ll have to take exception to that. I’ve gone out with a woman more than once.”

She cocks her eyebrow at me in skepticism. “Oh, yeah? Do tell.”

“Well . . . I went out with one woman at least three times that I recall,” I tell her with my lips curved upward in a smarmy grin. No need to tell her it took me three dates to get in that woman’s pants because the first two dates were cut short since she was a doctor and got called to the hospital.

“Oh, wow.” She gasps in false amazement with both eyebrows rising high. “Three whole times. That’s incredible.”

I give her a smug look. “See . . . I have layers that you can’t even dream of.”

Olivia gives me another jovial laugh, from deep within her belly, and I’m glad that at least I’m amusing her. I’m perilously close to bombing out, but at least I got a gorgeous smile on her face for the time being.

“You’re hilarious, Garrett,” she says, as her laugh winds down into the cutest chuckles. “Seriously . . . you crack me up.”

“Which is why you should totally go out with me,” I assert quickly. “At least I’ll have you laughing.”

And in my bed before the night is out, I hope to myself, because that is my main intent right now. But hell, even if it took a few dates to get her there, I’m thinking this bright, funny, and totally hot woman would be worth the extra effort.

“Hmmm,” she says thoughtfully as she eyes me up and down. “While you are very tempting, in this rough, good-looking sort of way, I think I’m still going to say no. I’m just not much into dating.”

“Okay,” I tell her in capitulation as I raise my arms out to my sides. “You got me. No dating. How about we just have one night together of incredible, explosive passion? Something to put a satisfied smile on our faces and then we both go our own ways.”

Olivia grins at me, and I’m glad to note I haven’t offended her, because that was a fucking serious offer I was making. “You’re that good, huh?”

“Only one way to find out,” I say as I wink at her.

“Jesus, Garrett,” I hear from behind me, and I start smiling before I even turn to face the newcomer. “Can you go five minutes without hitting on a woman?”

 

 

 

About the author

SawyerUSA Today Best-Selling Author, Sawyer Bennett is a snarky southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. Her husband works for a Fortune 100 company which lets him fly all over the world while she stays at home with their daughter and three big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn’t have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.

Sawyer is the author of several contemporary romances including the popular Off Series, the Legal Affairs Series and the Last Call Series. She will be releasing her second book in the Cold Fury Hockey Series with Random House Loveswept, February 2015.

Connect with Sawyer Bennett:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Pinterest

 

 

Giveaway

$25.00 eGift Card to Choice Book Seller and Loveswept Mug

 

 

A Cold Fury Hockey Jersey

 

 

 

More Sawyer Bennett on the blog:

Alex (Cold Fury Hockey #1)
Objection (Legal Affairs Vol. 1)

 

 Have you read any of Sawyer’s books?

2 thoughts on “Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway: GARRETT by Sawyer Bennett”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

